Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-10, 01:11 AM   #1
Shammah
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15
Error when using Chatter and Nui

I only have Nui and Chatter enabled. I have Nui+ 5.06.29 and Chatter 1.2.9.


I get this error when I log in.

I do not get the error if I enable only Nui or only Chatter.

When I had all my other addons enabled, I would get the error again when a RealID friend logged in or out.

Code:
Message: Interface\FrameXML\BNet.lua:226: attempt to perform arithmetic on a nil value
Time: 07/17/10 02:02:00
Count: 1
Stack: Interface\FrameXML\BNet.lua:226: in function `BNToastFrame_UpdateAnchor'
Interface\AddOns\Chatter\Modules\BNet.lua:89: in function `UpdateToastOffsets'
Interface\AddOns\Chatter\Modules\BNet.lua:115: in function <Interface\AddOns\Chatter\Modules\BNet.lua:107>
(tail call): ?
[C]: ?
[string "safecall Dispatcher[1]"]:9: in function <[string "safecall Dispatcher[1]"]:5>
(tail call): ?
...ce\AddOns\Chatter\Libs\AceAddon-3.0\AceAddon-3.0.lua:539: in function <...ce\AddOns\Chatter\Libs\AceAddon-3.0\AceAddon-3.0.lua:532>
(tail call): ?
Interface\AddOns\Chatter\Chatter.lua:249: in function <Interface\AddOns\Chatter\Chatter.lua:242>
(tail call): ?
[C]: ?
[string "safecall Dispatcher[1]"]:9: in function <[string "safecall Dispatcher[1]"]:5>
(tail call): ?
...ce\AddOns\Chatter\Libs\AceAddon-3.0\AceAddon-3.0.lua:539: in function `EnableAddon'
...ce\AddOns\Chatter\Libs\AceAddon-3.0\AceAddon-3.0.lua:629: in function <...ce\AddOns\Chatter\Libs\AceAddon-3.0\AceAddon-3.0.lua:615>
[C]: in function `LoadAddOn'
Interface\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:235: in function `UIParentLoadAddOn'
Interface\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:258: in function `CombatLog_LoadUI'
Interface\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:482: in function <Interface\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:454>

Locals: forceAnchor = true
chatFrame = ChatFrame1 {
 0 = <userdata>
 flashTimer = 0
 isInitialized = 1
 is_chat_frame = true
 resizeTopRight = ChatFrame1ResizeTopRight {
 }
 resizeBottom = ChatFrame1ResizeBottom {
 }
 resizeLeft = ChatFrame1ResizeLeft {
 }
 tellTimer = 30693.485
 resizeBottomLeft = ChatFrame1ResizeBottomLeft {
 }
 resizeRight = ChatFrame1ResizeRight {
 }
 showButtons = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:242
 resizeButton = ChatFrame1ResizeButton {
 }
 buttonFrame = ChatFrame1ButtonFrame {
 }
 resizeBottomRight = ChatFrame1ResizeBottomRight {
 }
 resizeTopLeft = ChatFrame1ResizeTopLeft {
 }
 oldAlpha = 0
 channelList = <table> {
 }
 background = ChatFrame1Background {
 }
 clickAnywhereButton = ChatFrame1ClickAnywhereButton {
 }
 isDocked = 1
 resizeTop = ChatFrame1ResizeTop {
 }
 editBox = ChatFrame1EditBox {
 }
 buttonSide = "RIGHT"
 isLocked = 1
 name = "General"
 downButton = <unnamed> {
 }
 isStaticDocked = true
 zoneChannelList = <table> {
 }
 AddMessage = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Chatter\Libs\AceHook-3.0\AceHook-3.0.lua:100
 messageTypeList = <table> {
 }
}
toastFrame = BNToastFrame {
 0 = <userdata>
 animIn = BNToastFrameAnimIn {
 }
 duration = "4"
 waitAndAnimOut = BNToastFrameWaitAndAnimOut {
 }
}
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = 49.999997329032
(*temporary) = BNToastFrame {
 0 = <userdata>
 animIn = BNToastFrameAnimIn {
 }
 duration = "4"
 waitAndAnimOut = BNToastFrameWaitAndAnimOut {
 }
}
(*temporary) = 49.999997329032
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = "attempt to perform arithmetic on a nil value"
Shammah is offline  
Old 07-17-10, 05:33 AM   #2
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,026
Well the line that error occurs on is thus:
Code:
local offscreen = chatFrame.buttonFrame:GetTop() + BNToastFrame:GetHeight() + BN_TOAST_TOP_OFFSET + BN_TOAST_TOP_BUFFER > GetScreenHeight();
Any of those functions or values could be what they are talking about but being a blizz function it will be hard for us to test it out.

First port of call should be chatter as they are the calling addon. Whether nUI is changing a value chatter is using to tell blizz about battlenet stuff I don't know but hopefully they will be able to check the code back to see where the problem could be coming from.

So, basically it sounds like a compatibility issue between nUI and chatter in one of their last patches.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 07-17-10, 05:44 AM   #3
Bashum
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
hmmm I run both of those and donīt have any problems
Bashum is offline  
Old 07-17-10, 08:32 AM   #4
Seer
A Molten Giant
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 649
Originally Posted by Bashum View Post
hmmm I run both of those and donīt have any problems
Same versions as well ? Chatter 1.2.9 was, afaik, released last night, Chatter 1.2.8 they day orso before.

Changelog
tag v1.2.9
aa4b0c1492b889546041475bb47bd551a01937ce
root <root@cfrepos1.curseforge.net>
2010-07-16 18:00:20 +0000
Tagging as v1.2.9
--------------------
Sal Scotto:
- Make sure the all resizing, calls the FCF_SavePositionAndDimensions function so we save the position prperly
- Walk all chat frames when updating positions instead of just CHAT_FRAMES


tag v1.2.8
7da2886abbb5f5700cebeba721d98fe5113b9b20
root <root@cfrepos1.curseforge.net>
2010-07-15 02:40:49 +0000
Tagging as v1.2.8
--------------------
Sal Scotto:
- fix for ticket #155
- Remove call to function that was moved during profile switching ticket #156
- Removed ChatLink module from loading, seems its no longer needed as you can link items in custom channels by default now"
- Added Bnet data to Channel Colors
- Removed extra call that did nothing.
- ChatTab flashing, now an option
- Fixes for a few tickets.
- Fix for ticket 150
__________________
Take it as you want or leave it as it is.

Last edited by Seer : 07-17-10 at 08:34 AM.
Seer is offline  
Old 07-17-10, 02:25 PM   #5
Vis
Premium Member
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,782
I have this error as well, but only when I turn on a particular feature within Chatter to do with one of the "Polish" settings. I'll log in shortly and make sure of which setting it is, my mind is throwing a blank right this second though

*EDIT*

Here's a screenshot of the two items you want to have unchecked and you won't see anymore errors.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_071710_162911.jpg
Views:	562
Size:	311.9 KB
ID:	4616  
__________________

Last edited by Vis : 07-17-10 at 02:30 PM.
Vis is offline  
Old 07-17-10, 03:04 PM   #6
Shammah
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15
That solved the problem. Thanks for finding that setting, Vis.
Shammah is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Bug Reports » Error when using Chatter and Nui

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off