Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 09-25-10, 07:58 AM   #1
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,168
Replacing Blizz textures with empty ones

Hello.

For a while I've been trying to replace the default Blizzard textures in the Interface folder with 'empty' textures - textures with the same size, but simply completely transparent, so the end result appears without any visible textures at all. Then, I'd simply add a custom frame in lua with a background and boom, restyled the Blizz frames.

Thing is though, I'm not good with Photoshop and Gimp. No matter what I do, when I make the textures fully transparent, they always appear in solid green ingame. I think I'm doing something wrong with the format, but I've no clue.

Can anyone help me out here?
Haleth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 08:36 AM   #2
Ailae
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Ailae's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 317
Originally Posted by Wowwiki
Images that have non-power of two dimensions will show up as solid green textures.
Have you checked the sizes?

http://www.wowwiki.com/XML/Texture
__________________
Oh, the simulated horror!
Ailae is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 08:48 AM   #3
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,168
I have. No luck.
Haleth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 09:03 AM   #4
grom
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17
something to do with the alpha channel of the texture file?

don't know much about it, but remember something alike for transparent gifs
grom is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 09:32 AM   #5
Xinhuan
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Xinhuan's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 171
The texture must be saved in 32-bit format (i.e must have a alpha channel, full RGBA). The minimum width and height is 16 and the maximum is 1024 and both must be powers of 2, they don't have to be equal. The TGA texture can be saved with or without RLE (run-length encoding).
__________________
Author of Postal, Omen3, GemHelper, BankItems, WoWEquip, GatherMate, GatherMate2, Routes and Cartographer_Routes
Xinhuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 10:37 AM   #6
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,168
Alright - I'll pay attention to that. Thanks
Haleth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 11:48 AM   #7
sacrife
An Onyxian Warder
 
sacrife's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 384
If your going to to do what I think you're doing, I am more than willing to help. I know my way around photoshop, and as the others said the alpha channels or bit is the problem.
__________________

sacrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 01:09 PM   #8
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,168
That'd be great. Currently the way it looks it's going to take a very long time - the only tool I have to convert blp files often crashes and is horribly outdated, then GIMP is incredibly slow on my Mac as well.

If a set of fully transparent textures could be maintained, it'd benefit a lot of people, as it would make skinning default windows very easy.
Haleth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 01:18 PM   #9
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,597
Originally Posted by Xinhuan View Post
The minimum width and height is 16
Nah, the minimum is 8. Maybe even 4. I've never tried 2, though.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 01:56 PM   #10
Xinhuan
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Xinhuan's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 171
Originally Posted by Haleth View Post
That'd be great. Currently the way it looks it's going to take a very long time - the only tool I have to convert blp files often crashes and is horribly outdated, then GIMP is incredibly slow on my Mac as well.

If a set of fully transparent textures could be maintained, it'd benefit a lot of people, as it would make skinning default windows very easy.
Wait - why do you need to convert BLP files? WoW can use TGA files directly, no need to convert.
__________________
Author of Postal, Omen3, GemHelper, BankItems, WoWEquip, GatherMate, GatherMate2, Routes and Cartographer_Routes
Xinhuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 02:05 PM   #11
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,168
...

Really?

That makes things so much easier. I always thought the Interface folders needed blp files.
Haleth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 03:48 PM   #12
grom
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17
this is a transparent 8*8 .blp zipped. just copy and rename it to the textures you want to hide

e: initial wording was misleading
Attached Files
File Type: zip blank.zip (165 Bytes, 1056 views)

Last edited by grom : 09-26-10 at 02:25 AM.
grom is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 07:30 PM   #13
sacrife
An Onyxian Warder
 
sacrife's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 384
WoW can use .tga but if you want to replace the default textures from Interface/x you need to use .blp.

I have proper .blp converters which work fine if needed.
__________________

sacrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 08:55 PM   #14
Xinhuan
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Xinhuan's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 171
Originally Posted by sacrife View Post
WoW can use .tga but if you want to replace the default textures from Interface/x you need to use .blp.
That's true, I forgot the replacing part (lol)
__________________
Author of Postal, Omen3, GemHelper, BankItems, WoWEquip, GatherMate, GatherMate2, Routes and Cartographer_Routes
Xinhuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 10:58 PM   #15
d87
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 98
Why don't just use :SetVertexColor(1,1,1,0) ?
d87 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-26-10, 12:15 AM   #16
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,597
That takes up memory (and time).
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-26-10, 06:13 AM   #17
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,168
Originally Posted by grom View Post
this is a transparent 8*8 .blp zipped. just copy and rename it to the textures you want to hide

e: initial wording was misleading
I love you.



Hurray!

WIP of course, it will take a while to replace all the right textures. But, it works!
Haleth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Graphics Help » Replacing Blizz textures with empty ones

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off