Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-07-11, 04:08 AM   #1
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,164
WoW code/artwork exporter built-in?

From the PTR 4.0.6 updated patch notes:

- Console commands have been added to the login screens: ExportInterfaceFiles art, ExportInterfaceFiles code.

Seems like there'll finally be a proper tool to export code and art again. How would we go about entering this though?
Haleth is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-07-11, 06:17 AM   #2
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,233
Run wow with -console suffixed, like this:
"C:\Games\WoW\wow.exe -console"
Open the console during login screen using '`' key.

Then write in the following value(s) and hit enter:
ExportInterfaceFiles art
ExportInterfaceFiles code
Atleast this is what I imagine is intended.
I might be wrong on the console key part, as the default is '`'.

Last edited by p3lim : 01-07-11 at 08:51 AM. Reason: wrong console key
p3lim is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-07-11, 08:15 AM   #3
Nobgul
A Molten Giant
 
Nobgul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
This is 100% working in the current live version of wow. I was able to get all the art and code using the above mentioned -console command and accessed it by using `

It took about 6 minutes for it to put all the artwork and code into my Interface folder.

Now I need recommendations on what to use to play with these blp files. As well if i wanted to change one. Do i leave it in the same place as it it just modify the file and play the game or is there a path they need to go into.

If you want to play around in the console the first thing i suggest you do is.
consolelines 40
this will make the console box much larger to see some of the bigger help menu's
__________________

Last edited by Nobgul : 01-07-11 at 08:29 AM.
Nobgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-07-11, 10:43 AM   #4
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,564
Note: these export directly to your Interface folder. This means that if you're going to extract the art, back up any sort of manual overrides you have there presently first.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-08-11, 09:12 AM   #5
zaphon
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Is this working for anyone on 4.0.6? It works for me on 4.0.3a, but on 4.0.6 it just pauses for a half a second or so like it's going to do something, and than just returns, and doesn't update any files.
zaphon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-08-11, 12:00 PM   #6
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,564
I think they're looking into it.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-08-11, 03:43 PM   #7
ricks322
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 154
The patch notes say it is an option on the 'login' screen, it also says
"For opening cinematics there is now a streaming option interface in the login screen for play-on-demand".

But these are not showing up, at least on my PTR.
ricks322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-10-11, 03:20 PM   #8
zaphon
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by ricks322 View Post
The patch notes say it is an option on the 'login' screen, it also says
"For opening cinematics there is now a streaming option interface in the login screen for play-on-demand".

But these are not showing up, at least on my PTR.
You have to enable the console to use the ExportInterfaceFiles commands (which as has been said, work fine on 4.0.3a, however don't currently work on 4.0.6). I have no idea about the streaming option, playing the game before it's completely downloaded is pretty crummy anyway, I've just waited for it to download.
zaphon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-10-11, 03:34 PM   #9
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,233
I belive the play-on-demand is the "cloud" version of wow, which simply lets you play anywhere without installing the game first.
p3lim is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-10-11, 08:50 PM   #10
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Mine is installed in program files (x86) ((new computer sill learning it ; and have no clue how to run wow in console mode...any pointers, lol?
Kendian is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-10-11, 08:58 PM   #11
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,564
Originally Posted by p3lim View Post
Run wow with -console suffixed, like this:
"C:\Games\WoW\wow.exe -console"
Open the console during login screen using '`' key.
Still this ^^. Right-click the shortcut you use to open WoW and go to Properties. Change the path to look like the above (except with your actual path first, of course).


PS- WoW should not be installed in Program Files - that isn't the default location.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-11-11, 12:46 AM   #12
ricks322
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 154
You don't need to use the wow.exe file to get console up and running. You can just make a copy of your shortcut, rename it something, and add the "-console" after the launcher.exe statement.

In windows make this change to the target line:
"D:\Programs\World of Warcraft\Launcher.exe" -console

you can add any number of options that the game uses, such as -dxd11, just put them at the end one at a time.
ricks322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-11-11, 11:10 AM   #13
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,564
Right. Whatever shortcut you use to launch WoW (be it a shortcut to wow.exe or a shortcut to launcher.exe).
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-15-11, 08:48 AM   #14
Osamar
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by Nobgul View Post
...
Now I need recommendations on what to use to play with these blp files. As well if i wanted to change one. Do i leave it in the same place as it it just modify the file and play the game or is there a path they need to go into.
...
I recommend you
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...lity.html#info

and this
http://www.getpaint.net/download.html#download

I have not found any editor with native BLP support.
Osamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-15-11, 09:34 AM   #15
Osamar
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
typing "ExportInterfaceFiles art" does nothing,
but "ExportInterfaceFiles ART" works.
It creates \BlizzardInterfaceCode\Interface in World of Warcraft Public Test
with 310 folder anf 19.122 files, keeping Interface folder safe.
Osamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-08-12, 12:17 PM   #16
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Hate to necro like this, but anyone know if console command works on current version, or a place to export all the art?
__________________
Kendian is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-08-12, 12:21 PM   #17
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,046
Instead of asking in the forum...try it? Just launch WoW with "-console" and hit the tilde (~) key on the login screen.
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of Revelation, Spamalyzer, TravelAgent, Volumizer, and many other AddOns.
Torhal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-08-12, 12:55 PM   #18
SDPhantom
A Molten Giant
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 999
In short, yes, it still works and has worked ever since they removed the external extractor Blizzard had provided for download previously.
__________________
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
SDPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-08-12, 07:01 PM   #19
Tonyleila
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 289
Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
Note: these export directly to your Interface folder. This means that if you're going to extract the art, back up any sort of manual overrides you have there presently first.
This has been changed its now export into a folder called "BlizzardInterfaceArt" with a "Interface" folder inside.
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________
Tonyleila is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-08-12, 09:20 PM   #20
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Originally Posted by Torhal View Post
Instead of asking in the forum...try it? Just launch WoW with "-console" and hit the tilde (~) key on the login screen.
Lol, I would no have asked had I NOT tried it~

Yep, I'm an idiot, I was trying to append the launcher, not the path to WoW itself~
__________________

Last edited by Kendian : 10-08-12 at 09:49 PM.
Kendian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » WoW code/artwork exporter built-in?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off