Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-29-14, 12:45 AM   #1
syncrow
An Aku'mai Servant
 
syncrow's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 39
SyncUI

Screenshots:
Gallery

some video stuff:
http://youtu.be/pnFzPOQUFvQ
http://youtu.be/1rAC_7oLB7Y
http://youtu.be/FQzRCuItHWI
http://youtu.be/QFT12nRoPhU

Last edited by syncrow : 01-18-15 at 11:48 PM.
syncrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-14, 01:00 AM   #2
semlar
A Molten Giant
 
semlar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 664
Neat.

I would replace the elite border from the nameplate though, it kind of clashes with the style.
semlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-14, 01:24 AM   #3
syncrow
An Aku'mai Servant
 
syncrow's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 39
Originally Posted by semlar View Post
Neat.

I would replace the elite border from the nameplate though, it kind of clashes with the style.
Thanks for feed!

The elite border is tentative and will be replaced later.
syncrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-14, 01:57 AM   #4
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,929
The default game font doesn't really fit the style. Have you tried using the font from Recount everywhere?

The buttons on your action bars should have the same border as the rest of the icons.

Tooltip could use a more opaque background, and more padding so the text isn't right up against the border like that.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-14, 02:06 AM   #5
semlar
A Molten Giant
 
semlar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 664
You might also steal the infinity gears font from infinity plates, as it matches the angular space theme.
semlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-14, 02:15 AM   #6
ravagernl
Proceritate Corporis
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,171
I'm using this little snippet in my UI that you may find useful:

Code:
local nfns, font, size = NumberFontNormalSmall
font, size = NumberFontNormalSmall:GetFont()
nfns:SetFont(font, size, 'OUTLINE')
nfns:SetShadowColor(0, 0, 0, 0)

local gsub = string.gsub

hooksecurefunc('ActionButton_UpdateHotkeys', function(self)
    local hotkey = _G[self:GetName()..'HotKey']
    local text = hotkey:GetText()

    text = gsub(text, '(s%-)', '|cFFFFDF00s|r')
    text = gsub(text, '(a%-)', '|cFFFFDF00a|r')
    text = gsub(text, '(c%-)', '|cFFFFDF00c|r')
    text = gsub(text, '(st%-)', '|cFFFFDF00c|r') -- german control 'Steuerung'

    for i = 1, 30 do
        text = gsub(text, _G['KEY_BUTTON'..i], '|cFFFFDF00m|r'..i)
    end

    for i = 1, 9 do
        text = gsub(text, _G['KEY_NUMPAD'..i], '|cFFFFDF00n|r'..i)
    end

    text = gsub(text, KEY_NUMPADDECIMAL, '|cFFFFDF00n|r.')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_NUMPADDIVIDE, '|cFFFFDF00n|r/')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_NUMPADMINUS, '|cFFFFDF00n|r-')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_NUMPADMULTIPLY, '|cFFFFDF00n|r*')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_NUMPADPLUS, '|cFFFFDF00n|r+')

    text = gsub(text, KEY_MOUSEWHEELUP, '|cFFFFDF00m|rU')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_MOUSEWHEELDOWN, '|cFFFFDF00m|rD')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_NUMLOCK, 'NL')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_PAGEUP, 'PU')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_PAGEDOWN, 'PD')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_SPACE, '_')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_INSERT, 'Ins')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_HOME, 'Hm')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_DELETE, 'Del')

    hotkey:SetText(text)
end)
ravagernl is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-14, 02:44 AM   #7
syncrow
An Aku'mai Servant
 
syncrow's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 39
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
The default game font doesn't really fit the style. Have you tried using the font from Recount everywhere?

The buttons on your action bars should have the same border as the rest of the icons.

Tooltip could use a more opaque background, and more padding so the text isn't right up against the border like that.
I havnt had any thoughts about the font style until now, but you might be right. that doesn't seems to fit with the whole style.

The border texture (action button) is the same but not blurred. I gonna fix that x)

The tooltip is tentative. I wanna rewrite the whole GameTooltip but had'nt enough time so far.


Originally Posted by ravagernl View Post
I'm using this little snippet in my UI that you may find useful
Thanks, i've tested your code!

I have to decide the font style first and then (maybe) tune the way hotkeys are displayed

Last edited by syncrow : 07-29-14 at 03:10 AM.
syncrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-14, 04:00 AM   #8
ravagernl
Proceritate Corporis
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,171
Originally Posted by syncrow View Post
I havnt had any thoughts about the font style until now, but you might be right. that doesn't seems to fit with the whole style.
Doesn't seem to be too complicated

http://www.dafont.com/theme.php?cat=...]=10&l[]=1
http://www.dafont.com/theme.php?cat=...]=10&l[]=1

I kind of like fonts that are sans-serif, but with just a tad of sci-fi.

If I can make a suggestion: Zeroes seems awesome.

Last edited by ravagernl : 07-29-14 at 04:07 AM.
ravagernl is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-14, 07:09 PM   #9
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,760
There are a few good fonts in SharedMedia, as well.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-02-14, 07:11 AM   #10
syncrow
An Aku'mai Servant
 
syncrow's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 39
Originally Posted by ravagernl View Post
Doesn't seem to be too complicated
If I can make a suggestion: Zeroes seems awesome.
I've tested around 50 diffrent fonts, and Zeroes seems to be the best by far. The numbers are pretty nice x).

Last edited by syncrow : 08-21-14 at 09:30 AM.
syncrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-02-14, 03:28 PM   #11
10leej
A Molten Giant
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 505
Looks pretty cool 9/10
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-03-14, 03:33 AM   #12
Talyrius
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 330
There is no reason to display an experience bar at max level. You could center and widen the reputation bar upon hitting max level. You'll also have to replace the background texture that currently separates the two bars.
Talyrius is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-03-14, 07:02 AM   #13
syncrow
An Aku'mai Servant
 
syncrow's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 39
Originally Posted by Talyrius View Post
There is no reason to display an experience bar at max level. You could center and widen the reputation bar upon hitting max level. You'll also have to replace the background texture that currently separates the two bars.
For WoD, I plan to use the exp-bar otherwise at maxlvl.

Last edited by syncrow : 08-03-14 at 07:06 AM.
syncrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-03-14, 09:52 AM   #14
Talyrius
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 330
Originally Posted by syncrow View Post
For WoD, I plan to use the exp-bar otherwise at maxlvl.
Lua Code:
  1. --[[
  2. For finding the maximum attainable player level:
  3.     0: WoW Classic. Level 60
  4.     1: The Burning Cruade. Level 70
  5.     2: Wrath of the Lich King. Level 80
  6.     3: Cataclysm. Level 85
  7.     4: Mists of Pandaria. Level 90
  8.     5: Warlords of Draenor. Level 100
  9. --]]
  10. local maxPlayerLevel = MAX_PLAYER_LEVEL_TABLE[GetExpansionLevel()]
  11.  
  12. -- Check if player is already max level
  13. local displayXP = true
  14. if UnitLevel("player") == maxPlayerLevel then
  15.     displayXP = false
  16. end
  17.  
  18. -- Disable XP bar upon hitting max level
  19. local frame = CreateFrame("Frame")
  20. frame:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_LEVEL_UP")
  21. frame:SetScript("OnEvent", function(self, event, level)
  22.     if level == maxPlayerLevel then
  23.         displayXP = false
  24.     end
  25. end)

If I've misunderstood, please clarify.
Talyrius is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-03-14, 02:51 PM   #15
syncrow
An Aku'mai Servant
 
syncrow's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 39
Originally Posted by Talyrius View Post
If I've misunderstood, please clarify.
thx, i know the code!

I meant, instead of hiding the exp bar, i want to use it in other way -> to display another kind of information at max-lvl instead of experience. therefore it isn't really necessary to hide the bar. It would only be a temporary cosmetic fix till WoD is released.

I plan to use it for garrison progress or something like that.

Last edited by syncrow : 08-03-14 at 02:59 PM.
syncrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-14, 08:01 AM   #16
syncrow
An Aku'mai Servant
 
syncrow's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 39
I want to implement animated healthbars!

What i got so far:

you can update frame textures with:

- AnimateTexCoords

- rotating between texture files

i've tested it for xml StatusBars:

- AnimateTexCoords doesn't work, cause every few seconds the frame reset the TexCoords (works fine with "Frame" types but not with "StatusBars")

- rotating does work, however it starts flashing... (pretty ugly)

Last edited by syncrow : 08-04-14 at 03:08 PM.
syncrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-14, 08:21 AM   #17
semlar
A Molten Giant
 
semlar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 664
You can try something like this, drycoded so I'm not sure about the texture coordinates
Lua Code:
  1. local fill = bar:GetStatusBarTexture()
  2. local animatedTexture = bar:CreateTexture(nil, 'ARTWORK', nil, 2)
  3. animatedTexture:SetAllPoints(fill)
  4. animatedTexture:SetTexture('texturepath')
  5.  
  6. local timeSince, textureOffset = 0, 0
  7. bar:SetScript('OnUpdate', function(self, elapsed)
  8.   timeSince = timeSince + elapsed
  9.   if timeSince >= 0.03 then -- speed at which it updates
  10.     local value = self:GetValue()
  11.     local minValue, maxValue = self:GetMinMaxValues()
  12.     local diff = maxValue - minValue
  13.     if diff > 0 then -- cut off horizontally to match the bar fill value, and rotate vertically however you want
  14.       animatedTexture:SetTexCoord(0, (value - minValue) / diff, textureOffset, textureOffset + 1)
  15.     end
  16.     textureOffset = textureOffset + 0.02 -- how far to animate the texture each update
  17.     if textureOffset > 1 then textureOffset = textureOffset - 1 end
  18.     timeSince = 0
  19.   end
  20. end)

Last edited by semlar : 08-23-14 at 12:44 AM.
semlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-14, 09:37 AM   #18
syncrow
An Aku'mai Servant
 
syncrow's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 39
Originally Posted by semlar View Post
You can try something like this, drycoded so I'm not sure about the texture coordinates
if i understand it right, you want me to create a fake statusbar (texture type) and rotate it (cause frames or textures itself doesn't flash like StatusBar) and calculate the texCoords with the statusbar value

I had this idea too, just thought there would be a more elegant method.

Edit: I must change the size of the texture each time I set coords, since the texture would be cropping too much otherwise?!

Or i can simply use a scrollframe for this..maybe

Last edited by syncrow : 08-04-14 at 09:51 AM.
syncrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-14, 10:11 AM   #19
semlar
A Molten Giant
 
semlar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 664
Originally Posted by syncrow View Post
if i understand it right, you want me to create a fake statusbar (texture type) and rotate it (cause frames or textures itself doesn't flash like StatusBar) and calculate the texCoords with the statusbar value
I just created a texture on top of the existing status bar texture for you to animate, which is not even close to the overhead of creating a second status bar.

The texture is automatically sized to match the status bar fill because you call :SetAllPoints() on it, you don't need to do anything else with that.

There's no reason to create a scrollframe for this because you're already using SetTexCoord to animate the texture and it's trivial to add the horizontal offset to that to avoid skewing the texture as it shrinks.
semlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-14, 10:20 AM   #20
AlleyKat
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
AlleyKat's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 93
use ScrollFrame frame type to create "view ports"
like here:


Last edited by AlleyKat : 08-04-14 at 02:41 PM.
AlleyKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » UI Screenshots, Feedback and Design Discussion » SyncUI - Feedback

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off