Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-11, 06:32 AM   #21
Drazo
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Still bugged for me

Reinstalled Carbonite if I load the game with Carbonite enabled it freezes in less than a minute. Game is fine with Carbonite disabled. Worked great until yesterday after the "patch". Of course seems a lot of things were changed that should have been left alone. If it "ain't broke . . . then don't fix it".
Drazo is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 06:52 AM   #22
Verttex
Super Monkey
 
Verttex's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 297
Is the freezeing happening with the 4.1 verison of carbonite or are you using the fix said here or the downloaded verison. (See sig)

--
Verttex
__________________
Verttex is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 07:32 AM   #23
CyberZombie
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
CyberZombie's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
Originally Posted by Palladia View Post
I have 4.11 and I made the changes you posted (copied and pasted) but not only do I still get errors, but the Carbonite map doesn't load at all.
Carbonite resides at interface\addons\Carbonite, not interface\addons\Carbonite-4.11. Is it possible you're running 2 copies of Carbonite?

In any case, I checked out your errors. The 1st given pre-reinstall in the Carbonite file I have looks like an initialization error of the map. No way am I going to try to delve into this nearly 400-line function beyond that diagnosis.

Subsequent would be meaningless to diagnose due to a failed initialization. Another possibility is that there is interference with another misbehaving mod causing the problem?

Your post-install errors also look confusing. It's as if map - though initialized as an empty array - has no elements added to it. Another case of incorrect initialization?

In any case, I'd suggest you ensure you're only running with one copy of Carbonite (interface/addons/Carbonite vs. interface/addons/Carbonite-4.11). Failing that, I'm going to punt the issue to the Carbonite folks until they get an update out.

Sorry I can't help more!
CyberZombie is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 07:42 AM   #24
ChefHearne
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Thumbs up Alternative Fix -> Hides NXOnEvent and Stops Crashing

A friend of mine was having addon issues. He had far fewer addons than I had, in fact I had every addon he was running. Yet his Carbonite 4.11 was not working and was indeed appearing to be the culprit of his crashes, while my carbonite ran fine (a few captured errors) but Carbonite seems to not fatally error when BugSack is running. I had 2 other friends try it and it continues to work for each of them. Note: you can change the error sound effect to none to mute the errors.

Note: None of these friends applied the fix. Only installed BugSack. also note the errors are still occurring but it appears BugSack somehow handles the error-handling better.
ChefHearne is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 08:00 AM   #25
Drazo
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Freeze

I removed the files, rebooted installed the update, rebooted started the game checked load out of date and still froze. Don't know what else to do, seems to work for everyone else. WoW does not have a map compared to Carbonite
Drazo is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 08:28 AM   #26
S@thi
A Theradrim Guardian
 
S@thi's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 67
Ever since replacing my carbonite folder with your fix.
My carbonite has been bugging alot.
Caster delays / frame drops. Currently I play without the addon untill a official version is released.

Thanks
S@thi is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 09:08 AM   #27
Verttex
Super Monkey
 
Verttex's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 297
Can you post the LUA errors it is getting please?
__________________
Verttex is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 09:18 AM   #28
Drazo
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
3rd time is a charm

removed and reinstalled 4.2 WITH Bugsack and it works as advertised.

Tnx
Drazo is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 09:33 AM   #29
Verttex
Super Monkey
 
Verttex's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 297
Awesome, thanks.
__________________
Verttex is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 10:56 AM   #30
CyberZombie
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
CyberZombie's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
Given some of the confusion with line numbers, I'm reworking the original post to just have Original: and Patched: code sections.
CyberZombie is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 12:55 PM   #31
bessiq
A Murloc Raider
 
bessiq's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Used fix posted here and while all errors went away, my chat box gets spammed with "You can only be in 10 channels at one time." It never stops! Well, it didn't stop until I disabled Carbonite again.

Might try to wipe and do fresh reinstall, but man I hate setting it up the way I want again!
bessiq is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 12:58 PM   #32
Palladia
A Cyclonian
 
Palladia's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Originally Posted by CyberZombie View Post
Carbonite resides at interface\addons\Carbonite, not interface\addons\Carbonite-4.11. Is it possible you're running 2 copies of Carbonite?

In any case, I checked out your errors. The 1st given pre-reinstall in the Carbonite file I have looks like an initialization error of the map. No way am I going to try to delve into this nearly 400-line function beyond that diagnosis.
I'm definitely only running one copy, and it's in interface\addons\Carbonite. It is possible that problem is some other addon interfering, since I run a lot of them. I'm only getting errors from Carbonite at this point though. In any case, I'll try to test tonight without other addons, but it will be several hours from now.

Thank you very much, though, for taking the time to try to diagnose my problem and researching the errors. I'll follow up with more info tonight.

Update: Made the changes again and loaded WoW with only Carbonite running. Same outcome. Five errors on startup. Here's the first:

Message: Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:19532: attempt to perform arithmetic on local 'na2' (a nil value)
Time: 06/29/11 15:43:25
Count: 1
Stack: Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:19532: in function `InT1'
Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:22951: in function `Ini'
Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:19656: in function `h'
Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:352: in function `NXOnEvent'
[string "*:OnEvent"]:1: in function <[string "*:OnEvent"]:1>

Last edited by Palladia : 06-29-11 at 04:53 PM.
Palladia is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 01:08 PM   #33
bessiq
A Murloc Raider
 
bessiq's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by bessiq View Post
Used fix posted here and while all errors went away, my chat box gets spammed with "You can only be in 10 channels at one time." It never stops! Well, it didn't stop until I disabled Carbonite again.

Might try to wipe and do fresh reinstall, but man I hate setting it up the way I want again!
Just noticed there was a fix to the fix (4.2 -> 4.2.11) when I re-downloaded, so trying it now!

So far, so good!

Thanks a million!
bessiq is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 08:29 PM   #34
_cat_
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
thanks guys. you're the best!!!!!
_cat_ is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 10:28 PM   #35
Karquile
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
The other thing that people need to be careful of when editing Carbonite.lua is that their chosen text editor can actually handle those superlong lines. Some editors may truncate or wrap them without warning you.

The copy of Carbonite.lua in the ZIP file is 1,916,590 bytes. CyberZombie's elegant patch does not change the byte count, so when you have finished editing your file and save it, it should still be 1,916,590 bytes. If it is larger or smaller, you probably have a corrupt file. Try a free Notepad replacement like Notepad++ or Win32Pad and see if you can get a clean edit.
Karquile is offline  
Old 06-29-11, 11:03 PM   #36
CyberZombie
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
CyberZombie's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
Originally Posted by Karquile View Post
The other thing that people need to be careful of when editing Carbonite.lua is that their chosen text editor can actually handle those superlong lines. Some editors may truncate or wrap them without warning you.

The copy of Carbonite.lua in the ZIP file is 1,916,590 bytes. CyberZombie's elegant patch does not change the byte count, so when you have finished editing your file and save it, it should still be 1,916,590 bytes. If it is larger or smaller, you probably have a corrupt file. Try a free Notepad replacement like Notepad++ or Win32Pad and see if you can get a clean edit.
Not quite . The two single-line patches each add two variables - for a total of 20 bytes. Which makes the final Carbonite.lua size 1,916,610 bytes.

Last edited by CyberZombie : 06-29-11 at 11:07 PM.
CyberZombie is offline  
Old 06-30-11, 12:09 AM   #37
ChefHearne
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Clarification please

Originally Posted by Drazo View Post
removed and reinstalled 4.2 WITH Bugsack and it works as advertised.

Tnx
Drazo, did you use ONLY the reinstalled Carbonite 4.11 and BugSack or was it Carbonite 4.11, CyberZombie's Carbonite 4.2.11 Fix, and BugSack?
ChefHearne is offline  
Old 06-30-11, 05:43 PM   #38
Palladia
A Cyclonian
 
Palladia's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Yay! The new version works! I was so afraid I'd get the same error messages, but I didn't! So happy!
Palladia is offline  
Old 06-30-11, 05:48 PM   #39
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
Carbonite 4.2 is released.

http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=40677
__________________
faatal
carboniteaddon is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite Archive » Patch for COMBAT_LOG_EVENT_UNFILTERED error messages

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off