Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-18-10, 08:15 AM   #1
Boedicia
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Boedicia's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24
Mmoui can't find java, won't run

Hi i'm having this problem to run the minion. It was already installed on my PC Windows 7 ultimate 64bit. I tried reinstalling it, it comes up with the installer but then shuts down and when i go to click on the shortcut it can't find java. Never had this problem before. What do you think it could be?
__________________
Boedicia is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-14-10, 12:48 PM   #2
fred
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 208
Same identical issue,.....
fred is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-14-10, 01:14 PM   #3
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,993
If you visit this webpage... http://minion.mmoui.com/

at the very bottom below the terms of service link in red text it should tell you what version of java you have installed. What is it saying?
Dolby is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-14-10, 03:37 PM   #4
fred
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 208
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
If you visit this webpage... http://minion.mmoui.com/

at the very bottom below the terms of service link in red text it should tell you what version of java you have installed. What is it saying?

Your Java Version: 1,6,0,22
fred is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-15-10, 11:39 AM   #5
fred
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 208
Do you have any ideas Dolby?
fred is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-10, 08:32 AM   #6
Maziel
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Maziel's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Had the same exact problem.

"Your Java Version: 1,6,0,22"

Most up to date Java version, java website verifies it is all fine.
Minion just wouldn't load up at all.
Double click and nothing.

Java is the only thing associated with .jar files on my pc.

Windows Vista 64bit.

-

What I had to do was install minion again after uninstalling java. So my steps were:

1. Install minion
2. Uninstall Java
3. Re-install Java
4. Re-install minion

And she worked.

Odd... but working now.
Maziel is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-15-10, 06:17 PM   #7
Ozzi
Premium Member
 
Ozzi's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Of have you tried allowing the Java file through your firewall or security suite?
__________________

Last edited by Ozzi : 11-15-10 at 06:21 PM.
Ozzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-01-10, 04:47 PM   #8
ryan odets
Premium Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
having same issue.
says I have 1.6 java.
when I click on it to run it it says the file is not a win32 process and fails.
ryan odets is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-30-10, 10:43 AM   #9
4AD
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
On Windows 7 64-bit the MMOUI Minion-installer automatically selects the 64-bit Java (C:\Program Files\Java\jre6).
In the drop down menu you can change this to the 32-bit version (C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6).
Then continue the installation.

This did the trick here

<<There is a theory which states that if ever anybody discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable. There is another theory which states that this has already happened.>>

Last edited by 4AD : 12-30-10 at 10:46 AM.
4AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-31-11, 10:00 PM   #10
t2teddy
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
t2teddy's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by ryan odets View Post
having same issue.
says I have 1.6 java.
when I click on it to run it it says the file is not a win32 process and fails.
As soon as I try to instal MMOUI minion I get a popup that says:
Java (TM) Web Start 1.6.0_23
Splash: Recv failed

i want my minion back
t2teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-25-11, 02:30 PM   #11
t2teddy
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
t2teddy's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
STILL will not install...after what.... a month of trying.
t2teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-08-12, 01:43 AM   #12
lolzorz
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Edit: Finally got it working again. Apparently, Minion doesn't work with Java version 7. If you're like me and can't do without Minion, be sure to install Java version 6 (google it, easy to find) and make sure you open the minion.jar file using that version.

Last edited by lolzorz : 08-08-12 at 02:35 AM.
lolzorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-08-12, 08:37 AM   #13
lerb
Shadow Priest
 
lerb's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 258
A lot of software (I have these issues with Minecraft) doesn't like Java 7. I don't know if it's because of Java 7 or the fact that it's still pretty new, so software developers haven't caught up with it yet. Like when Windows Vista (yes, I used it for a very brief window of time) and there was no drivers for anything, or atleast it seemed so to me

Good thing you got it working though! Also be sure to install the correct version of Java for your OS, there's both 32 and 64bit versions. 32bit works on 64bit systems but you'd be missing out, at least a little.
__________________
lerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-08-12, 01:12 PM   #14
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 766
Java 6 software can't run on Java 7, not the advanced stuff at least. Most will break, and I am angry that Java made version 7 standard, it makes a lot of older Java software break, that would work but needs to be recompiled... Anyway, rant over.

You can have several Java versions, Control Panel lets you swap between what you want to be default. Although I can honestly say I think they need to update it and give you more power, I can't swap the system version usually, gotta regedit.

Also about the bits, I wish they'd make a smart java installer so that you can specify in the argument if it's 32 or 64 bit, if you run 32 on 64 it may not work, or vice versa, it's a problem when you have DLL libraries for 3D or other purposes. It doesn't either help that locating "all Java versions installed" is not so easy either. Like me I have several but what is set to default is what all Java apps try to use, jeez.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Archive » Mmoui can't find java, won't run

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off