Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-12, 03:11 PM   #141
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,177
Originally Posted by Maul View Post
I am not too concerned about Dominate Mind type of actions, as they seem to now be considered [pet] and the pet action ID's 1-10 properly reflect abilities using Dominate Mind. I can live with that as a solution.

My primary concern is the "non-vehicle" vehicle bars (I used to call them "possess" states because that is how they seem to behave, that a character would "possess" an NPC or object rather than mount a vehicle). This bar would be better called the "Alt Player Action Bar" based on the fact that their textures are in the "PLAYERACTIONBARALT" art folder. Which reminds me, this state is the same used by the darkmoon faire. Since [bonusbar:5] no longer seems valid, the darkmoon alt action bars most likely also do not have any macro conditional that an addon can react to. I will have to remember to test that the next time the DMF is up.

So the new macro conditional I am seeking would probably be better called [actionbaralt] or something along those lines, though I think [possess] or [possessui] works just as well, as the character is possessing something for the time being (like a DMF tonk)

And, from my tests, these alternate action bars on the beta so far use the higher action ID range I indicated previously (157-162).
It might be that spells like Dominate Mind work in a different way, and that has been the case before.
I don't know of an easy way to test this except for DMF, which is for one week once a month, and I really cba doing the whole Hyjal chain again, let alone level up a character to that level then do it.
p3lim is offline  
Old 07-22-12, 03:22 PM   #142
Maul
Ion Engines, Engage!
 
Maul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 401
Originally Posted by p3lim View Post
It might be that spells like Dominate Mind work in a different way, and that has been the case before.
I don't know of an easy way to test this except for DMF, which is for one week once a month, and I really cba doing the whole Hyjal chain again, let alone level up a character to that level then do it.
It is not an easy condition to test like vehicles. Which is why after running a few characters through Hyjal and recognizing the one quest I linked was a perfect test case, I purposely stopped one of my characters on that quest, just so I can test things like this
__________________

Twitter: @IonMaul | Windows Live: trinityui@live.com | Google Talk: trinityui@gmail.com
Maul is offline  
Old 07-23-12, 01:39 AM   #143
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,314
In case you want to test the possessbar. The second DK quest available is using it. So easily accessible.

http://imgur.com/a/7PMpD#0
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
zork is offline  
Old 07-23-12, 03:02 AM   #144
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,155
Easiest way to test vehicles is the jousting at the Argent Colisseum. You can stay on a vehicle as long as you like and you can dismount/remount all the time.
Haleth is offline  
Old 07-23-12, 05:44 AM   #145
Maul
Ion Engines, Engage!
 
Maul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 401
Originally Posted by Haleth View Post
Easiest way to test vehicles is the jousting at the Argent Colisseum. You can stay on a vehicle as long as you like and you can dismount/remount all the time.
Which is what I do all the time, but it does not help for the case I mentioned above. The bars for the mentioned quest and the DMF are not part of the vehicle system even though they visually seem the same. Under the hood, the mechanisms are different
__________________

Twitter: @IonMaul | Windows Live: trinityui@live.com | Google Talk: trinityui@gmail.com
Maul is offline  
Old 07-23-12, 07:25 AM   #146
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,177
Originally Posted by zork View Post
In case you want to test the possessbar. The second DK quest available is using it. So easily accessible.

http://imgur.com/a/7PMpD#0
That quest works like mind control, it does not modify anything, it just places the pet bar onto the player's action bar.
Testing out that quest now, it gave me the exact same IDs and everything that Dominate Mind gave me.

What we're after is when you the bar replaces the complete MainMenuBar cluster, but still isnt considered a vehicle.
p3lim is offline  
Old 07-23-12, 08:50 AM   #147
Maul
Ion Engines, Engage!
 
Maul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 401
In order to bring even a bit more clarity -

First, a "vehicle" bar with action ID's 133-138, [vehicleui] works fine with this -





Next, the bars I am concerned with that so far in my testing DO NOT react to any macro conditional AND have action ID's 157-162 -



As it stands now, as far as I can determine, ANY action bar addon will fail to reflect these bars in their own setup, because there is no way to detect them in the beta (right now on live [bonusbar:5] works fine for them, as well as on live they use action ID's 121+)

So, unless someone discovers a macro conditional that works on the beta, any action bar addon and their users will be left with nothing to see when faced with these bars. And I suspect that the DMF bars will be affected by this, but it will need testing when the DMF next shows up.
__________________

Twitter: @IonMaul | Windows Live: trinityui@live.com | Google Talk: trinityui@gmail.com
Maul is offline  
Old 07-23-12, 10:16 AM   #148
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,177
Lastly, what zork was talking about, the "possess bars":


These are just the pet bar replacing the normal action bar, with the action ID's 133-138, and [pet] works with it.
The bad thing however is that normal pets also use the [pet] state, and will interfere.
Also, if there is no spells given from the bar (example: Dominate Mind on a enemy player) will result in the actionbar not changing.
This means we also need a proper state for this.


Also, while we are discussing states, I found that there is no way to detect wether a druid in cat form is really in stealth (Prowl).
Both Prowl and Shadowmeld (night elf racial) makes [stealth] returns true.
Even if we use [form:3,stealth], Shadowmeld still works in cat form, and it will make the condition return true.
Conclusion, we have no way to detect if the Prowl-only abilies such as Pounce is really usable.
p3lim is offline  
Old 07-23-12, 07:06 PM   #149
TSquared
Big Daddy!
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 505
new macro conditionals have been added:

http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/to...71818?page=1#9
TSquared is offline  
Old 07-23-12, 07:19 PM   #150
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,177
Awesome, here the cross-post:
In a future beta build, we're adding the following macro conditionals:
"possessbar", "overridebar", "extrabar".
p3lim is offline  
Old 07-23-12, 08:12 PM   #151
endx7
An Aku'mai Servant
 
endx7's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 35
Oh, very nice!
endx7 is offline  
Old 07-23-12, 10:15 PM   #152
Maul
Ion Engines, Engage!
 
Maul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 401
Originally Posted by TSquared View Post
new macro conditionals have been added:

http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/to...71818?page=1#9
And action bar addons everywhere, rejoice! Thanks!
__________________

Twitter: @IonMaul | Windows Live: trinityui@live.com | Google Talk: trinityui@gmail.com
Maul is offline  
Old 07-24-12, 03:06 AM   #153
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,314
Wow...that is quite impressive. They listen to us. That is worth at least 3 bananas!

On that topic...remember that the overridebar can be loaded with or without a vehicle ui. Thus you still need to check for vehicleui aswell. (Only if you care about skinning of course)

Check the ActionBarController.lua code for more information on skinned/unskinned actionbars:
https://github.com/Ketho/wow-ui-sour...roller.lua#L94

Maybe a macro condition list is quite helpful here.

true
Lua Code:
  1. [petbattle], [vehicleui], [@vehicle,exists], [pet], [combat], [possessbar], [overridebar], [extrabar]

false
Lua Code:
  1. [nopetbattle], [novehicleui], [@vehicle,noexists], [nopet], [nocombat], [nopossessbar], [nooverridebar], [noextrabar]

Anyone got some other good conditions regarding UI or actionbar states?
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 07-24-12 at 03:24 AM.
zork is offline  
Old 07-24-12, 04:57 AM   #154
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,177
No need to complicate it that much, as the only two states that have the chance to fire together is [overridebar] and [vehicleui].
If your concern is skinning then you don't need to watch states, but can do all of it unsecurely.
p3lim is offline  
Old 07-24-12, 01:31 PM   #155
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 753
Not related to the action bar conversation, though it's good to see they plan to add macro conditionals to help sort this mess out.

Using math.exp or exp will crash the game, is it only me or does it crash yours too? :P Using enGB MoP beta client and 64-bit tough the crash happens on 32-bit too for me. Just would like this confirmed.
Vlad is offline  
Old 07-24-12, 03:20 PM   #156
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,986
Originally Posted by Vladinator View Post
... Using enGB MoP beta client ...
Just FYI, there is no such thing as an enGB client anymore... if you /dump GetLocale() in-game it prints "enUS".
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline  
Old 07-24-12, 09:03 PM   #157
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,177
The Beta client is enUS just because they havent done a specific client for EU, and this is how it has been done on all the beta clients previously.
p3lim is offline  
Old 07-24-12, 10:46 PM   #158
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,986
Log into your non-beta EU client in English, type "/dump GetLocale()", and see what happens. I bet it will show you something like the attached image, screenshotted while logged into a EU server with an EU client.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	getlocale-enus.png
Views:	329
Size:	55.5 KB
ID:	7038  
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!

Last edited by Phanx : 07-25-12 at 04:20 PM.
Phanx is offline  
Old 07-25-12, 03:34 AM   #159
AcidWeb
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
AcidWeb's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 56
After preliminary check of "new" talent/specialization API I see there is still no way to get friendly player specialization without inspecting him.

Somebody can confirm that?
__________________
Livarax - Karazhan
Vox Rootis, Vox Dei!
AcidWeb is offline  
Old 07-25-12, 04:19 AM   #160
SDPhantom
A Molten Giant
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Originally Posted by AcidWeb View Post
After preliminary check of "new" talent/specialization API I see there is still no way to get friendly player specialization without inspecting him.

Somebody can confirm that?
This seems to be true. Even though GetInspectSpecialization() accepts a UnitID, it seems to only return usable values after INSPECT_READY fires with that unit's GUID and stops doing so when another player is inspected or when ClearInspectPlayer() is called. This means the game client only stores inspect data for one player at a time and clears it when it's no longer needed.
__________________
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
SDPhantom is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » WoD Beta » MoP archived threads » Beta API discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off