Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-12, 12:39 PM   #1
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,307
Outer shadow is kinda hot

Just by removing the normal textures.


Combine that with a square minimap with the same outer shadow and you are ready to roll.

There we go (qMinimap hacked)


Even the tooltip stands no chance:


The setup that does this is:
Lua Code:
  1. backdrop = {
  2.         bgFile = "Interface\\Buttons\\WHITE8x8",
  3.         edgeFile = "Interface\\Tooltips\\UI-Tooltip-Border",
  4.         tile = false,
  5.         tileSize = 32,
  6.         edgeSize = 6,
  7.         insets = { left = 6, right = 6, top = 6, bottom = 6 },
  8.     },

The border texture (edgeFile) is the outer shadow found in rActionButtonStyler.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 07-09-12 at 01:38 PM.
zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-12, 09:50 PM   #2
Paopao001
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Paopao001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
People use outer shadow everywhere.
Aurora, QulightUI, oUF_NIN, oUF_Freeb...
I think one-pixel and outer shadow are the two kinds of border found widest used.
The third goes to tuk-style.(Elvui ShestakUI AllezUI...)
The forth goes to !Beautycase-style(oUF_Phanx LerbUI Caith UI)

just personal opinion..
Paopao001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-12, 01:49 AM   #3
eiszeit
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
eiszeit's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 129
Maybe 'cause the most others suck. Sadly. I've tried enough. Now I'm hanging in a Beautycase/Phanx/DafuqDoIuse border situation.

I like the outer shadow thing - without 1px border ofc.

What I tried a long time was 1px border + 2px hard drop shadow
__________________
LYN.UI • DESTRUCTION IS A FORM OF CREATION.
eiszeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-12, 08:40 AM   #4
jeffy162
Premium Member
 
jeffy162's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,784
I can't speak to the rest of the UI, but there are numerous Button Facade/Masque skins that are either one pixel or outer shadow or both.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?

jeffy162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-12, 01:36 AM   #5
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,307
Those are texture which do not keep the same box-shadow on all elements independent on size like SetBackdrop does.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-12, 01:56 AM   #6
Freebaser
A Molten Kobold Bandit
 
Freebaser's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 125
I'll have to add that hotness to my tooltip.
Freebaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-12, 04:01 AM   #7
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,307
Well...That is your Tooltip!
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-12, 05:47 AM   #8
eiszeit
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
eiszeit's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 129
I wish I could do something like !Beautycase with various border types. So I could just change a variable and get other borders everywhere I implemented it. But I guess I am too lazy or something like that to do so :X

I know exactly which border types I would put in that script, haha.
__________________
LYN.UI • DESTRUCTION IS A FORM OF CREATION.
eiszeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-12, 06:20 AM   #9
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,307
Originally Posted by eiszeit View Post
I wish I could do something like !Beautycase with various border types. So I could just change a variable and get other borders everywhere I implemented it. But I guess I am too lazy or something like that to do so :X

I know exactly which border types I would put in that script, haha.
There you go
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...tBackdrop.html
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-12, 08:47 AM   #10
zohar101
A Cyclonian
 
zohar101's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
I love the shadow. But I use icon skins (so it's consistent over all mods) and I wonder if I take the (default) icon blp files, convert to tga and in the first layer take out the default border, if the default icons have the same shadow? I should know this, I've done it for few odd icons before like consolidate buffs where I'd make my own border but it never occurred to me to try just removing it...
zohar101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-12, 11:18 AM   #11
jeffy162
Premium Member
 
jeffy162's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,784
Originally Posted by zork View Post
Those are texture which do not keep the same box-shadow on all elements independent on size like SetBackdrop does.
Ahh. I see. Thank you. Still trying to learn the different things that make up the WoW UI as a whole, but, unfortunately, it's not working very well.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?

jeffy162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-12, 10:06 AM   #12
Bloodier
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
I'm new at writing LUA. I've tried to use the struct you provide putting it in a new addon and calling the SetBackdrop() method. It works fine the first time I hover the mouse, but if I do it again the shadow will show painted in white. How can I make it not to change?
Bloodier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-12, 03:51 PM   #13
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,964
Remove whatever code you have that's changing the backdrop color? If you need help finding it, post your whole code.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addon • Turn any code into an addon • More addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-12, 12:12 PM   #14
Bloodier
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Commenting SetBackdropColor line won't fix it:
Code:
local backdrop = {
            bgFile = "Interface\\Buttons\\WHITE8x8",
            edgeFile = "Interface\\AddOns\\zAddOn\\media\\outer_shadow",
            tile = false,
            tileSize = 32,
            edgeSize = 6,
            insets = { left = 6, right = 6, top = 6, bottom = 6 },
        }
	GameTooltip:SetBackdrop(backdrop)
	GameTooltip:SetBackdropColor(20, 20, 20, 1)
	GameTooltip:SetBackdropBorderColor(0, 0, 0, 1)
Visually:
Bloodier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-12, 12:41 PM   #15
nailertn
An Aku'mai Servant
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 33
Originally Posted by Bloodier View Post
Commenting SetBackdropColor line won't fix it:
Code:
local backdrop = {
            bgFile = "Interface\\Buttons\\WHITE8x8",
            edgeFile = "Interface\\AddOns\\zAddOn\\media\\outer_shadow",
            tile = false,
            tileSize = 32,
            edgeSize = 6,
            insets = { left = 6, right = 6, top = 6, bottom = 6 },
        }
	GameTooltip:SetBackdrop(backdrop)
	GameTooltip:SetBackdropColor(20, 20, 20, 1)
	GameTooltip:SetBackdropBorderColor(0, 0, 0, 1)
Visually:
The default color is white that's why commenting does not work. And color values should be between 0-1, use 20/255 instead of 20.
nailertn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-12, 12:48 PM   #16
Bloodier
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Ok, but the main problem it's unfixed. Only shows good the first time, after it shows like in the second image with the whith shadow and strange bg.
Bloodier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-12, 02:08 PM   #17
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,307
Well sure. That is because it is changed everytime Gametooltip:Show() is called.

What you can do is sth like this:
Lua Code:
  1. local backdropColor = {0,0,0}
  2. local backdropBorderColor = {0,0,0}
  3. local tooltipList = {GameTooltip, ItemRefTooltip, ShoppingTooltip1, ShoppingTooltip2, ShoppingTooltip3}
  4. for index, frame in ipairs(tooltipList) do
  5.   frame:SetScript("OnShow", function(self)
  6.     self:SetBackdropColor(unpack(backdropColor))
  7.     self:SetBackdropBorderColor(unpack(backdropBorderColor))
  8.   end)
  9. end
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-12, 05:21 AM   #18
Bloodier
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Ok, thanks, now it works Edit: For tooltips of buildings and so (Auction House, for example) it keeps showing bad. What's the name of that tooltip?

Last edited by Bloodier : 09-17-12 at 07:40 AM. Reason: Not ok
Bloodier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » UI Screenshots, Feedback and Design Discussion » Outer shadow is kinda hot

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off