Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-08-12, 07:18 PM   #1
Tonyleila
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 412
Nameplate fix with textures

Since MoP there is a Problem with Nameplates, no matter what Nameplate Addon or without Addon:
First time you see a nameplate of an enemy it has many ugly texture overlapping for like 1 second:

With TidyPlatesThreatPlates and Aurora: Missing Textures


Without any mod:


This textures appear before any addon can handle to hide them so I tryed to replace blizzards textures with empty files:

\Tooltips
Nameplate-Border.blp
Nameplate-CastBar.blp
Nameplate-CastBar-Shield.blp
Nameplate-Glow.blp

Now It looks like this:


Can anyone tell me whats that pink texture and the glow around the nameplate? Where can I finde it
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________

Last edited by Tonyleila : 10-08-12 at 08:17 PM.
Tonyleila is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-08-12, 07:21 PM   #2
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,576
I play with nameplates on, and I've never seen anything like that. Are you sure it happens when all addons are disabled at the character screen? Both of your screenshots appear to have at least one addon modifying the nameplates.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-08-12, 07:45 PM   #3
Tonyleila
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 412
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
I play with nameplates on, and I've never seen anything like that. Are you sure it happens when all addons are disabled at the character screen? Both of your screenshots appear to have at least one addon modifying the nameplates.
If you want to see it:
go to any training dummys
logout so you can't see the nameplates
login and fly to the nameplates

Added screenshot without any mod:


I found the files its inside the TARGETINGFRAME folder UI-TARGETINGFRAME-FLASH.blp
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________
Tonyleila is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-08-12, 08:12 PM   #4
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,192
Is that with a 'clean' World of Warcraft folder as well?

No replacement files?
Supposedly you can't make some file substitutions for a time now but maybe there's a regression in 5.0.5?

Backup any custom files and remove them, then test again, I've never seen nameplates looking like that either.
Dridzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-08-12, 08:38 PM   #5
Tonyleila
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 412
Originally Posted by Dridzt View Post
Is that with a 'clean' World of Warcraft folder as well?

No replacement files?
Supposedly you can't make some file substitutions for a time now but maybe there's a regression in 5.0.5?

Backup any custom files and remove them, then test again, I've never seen nameplates looking like that either.
Yes this last screenshot was without replacement files. I also tested on my macbook where i dont use file substitutions or addons.
Because I was not the only one with this problem I uploaded my empty file here now http://www.wowinterface.com/download...tesFixMoP.html
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________
Tonyleila is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-09-12, 12:00 AM   #6
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,066
I've started seeing this as well, since MoP. I just chalked it up to something funky in Blizzard's code and forgot about it - the issue doesn't persist and is only a momentary annoyance.
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of Revelation, Spamalyzer, TravelAgent, Volumizer, and many other AddOns.
Torhal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-12, 04:43 PM   #7
ape47
A Murloc Raider
 
ape47's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
wtf.png
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wtf.png
Views:	886
Size:	223.6 KB
ID:	7425  
__________________
ape47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-12, 05:22 PM   #8
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 765
Good to see that my nameplates aren't at fault here, mine are purple when the mob is tagged, tough it should be gray! :P
__________________
Profile: Curse | Wowhead
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-12, 05:36 PM   #9
Tonyleila
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 412
I find this new purpel nameplates usefull - it shows if the mob is flagged for loot by someone else. Anyway its bugged since its showing up on not lootable mob nameplates too...

BTW Blizzard faild in fixing the issue with this "many ugly texture overlapping" my NameplatesFixMoP is still usefull if you have a working nameplate addon ...
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________
Tonyleila is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-30-12, 05:45 AM   #10
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,391
Yeah. I like that tagged color aswell. But it is pretty close to warlock color. I really hope that it does not match warlock color. Otherwise any tagged mob would be a warlock. (Maybe that is intended because Warlocks are evil)

Btw there is another bug. On an active nameplate (alpha = 1 on the nameplate object) it is possible to have the healthbar object with alpha 0.5. This results in the healthbar being much less visible as intended.

Can only be fixed by adding a new healthbar object to the frame that is not bugged and keeping the default healthbar as value reference.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 11-30-12 at 05:50 AM.
zork is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-30-12, 06:07 AM   #11
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 765
Actually it is WAY too close to Warlock color, that's why I reacted first, thinking my code was bugged, but it's not. I don't see the problem with the old color, the old one was gray... not sure how making it Warlock like helps at all lol...
__________________
Profile: Curse | Wowhead
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-30-12, 06:43 AM   #12
ape47
A Murloc Raider
 
ape47's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
is that tagged nameplate's name text region always gray?

finally i create new hpBar for 'every' nameplates ,too.
__________________
ape47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Graphics Help » Nameplate fix with textures

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off