Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-04-12, 11:13 PM   #1
fourdots
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Unhappy "quest not in database"?

All of my quests have the little orange ball in front of them, and when I mouse over it it says "quest not in database". Not just one or two, but all of them. I know I have the latest version because I installed it just a few minutes ago. I've been using carbonite for years and have never had this problem.

Presumably I've done something wrong, but I can't for the life of me figure out what. Any and all help sincerely appreciated.

Thank you.
fourdots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-12, 08:45 AM   #2
Ahsoki
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Similar issue here but not all of the quests are doing this but there are many from Pandaria that are. Mostly the ones that send you to talk to a certain person. One that I have right now is "Seek out the Lorewalker" in Jade Forest.

Just to let you know or maybe I need to turn something else on..

I also want to say thank you for taking this project on and look forward to great things in the future.
Ahsoki is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-12, 12:05 PM   #3
fourdots
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
yeah, that was originally my problem. but now, NONE of my quests appear to be in the database, including some that were there just a few days ago.

So something is clearly weird with my system, or maybe I've just done something wrong. Both are viable explanations.
fourdots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-12, 01:14 PM   #4
mainframe2000
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Same

Yeah same here for me. Might be because everything up in the air now with updates and the release of the source code. Rythal said he may release a update on Monday lets hope the MOP quests are fixed with that update! If not goodthings come to those who wait....longer.....
mainframe2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-12, 01:22 PM   #5
fourdots
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
And yet many of my wow friends use it and they tell me it's working fine. So I have to assume it's a quirk in my system. Sure wish I knew what it was.

Hopefully the new release will fix this.
fourdots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-12, 01:31 PM   #6
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,084
Originally Posted by mainframe2000 View Post
Yeah same here for me. Might be because everything up in the air now with updates and the release of the source code. Rythal said he may release a update on Monday lets hope the MOP quests are fixed with that update! If not goodthings come to those who wait....longer.....
They won't be, the update is just bringing every fix / update i've done previously in the last month into the GPL code. And one option that was very confusingly written broken into 4 options so it makes more sense (hide blizzards quest tracker, watch achievement tracks, watch scenarios, watch challenge mode timers).
Rythal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-12, 01:57 PM   #7
fourdots
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Rythal View Post
They won't be, ).
So in the meantime, what, if anything, can I do to fix this problem? I love the addon, but right now it's useless to me if it has no quest data.
fourdots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-12, 02:41 PM   #8
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,084
Originally Posted by fourdots View Post
So in the meantime, what, if anything, can I do to fix this problem? I love the addon, but right now it's useless to me if it has no quest data.
I'm not sure why it's doing that to you, I haven't seen or heard of it happening to anyone else so I don't know where to begin... The only time it should say quest not in database is if you click on one of the balls and it's not one it knows how to track (pandaria mostly), any quest from 1-85 should work fine, and 90% of the ones in pandaria should work fine if your using 5.05.01.

Have you tried removing the carbonite folder completly and re-installing it?
Rythal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-12, 03:12 PM   #9
antiquada
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Quests not in database - Quest Watcher

For about two days now most (about 70%) of my quest watcher has red (mouseover - not in database) icons in front of them. I have quests from all areas of Pandaria right now and when I switch areas (jade forest to four winds or any area to any area) the Qwest watcher that normally reorganizes my quests by zone and closeness to me do nothing. I am in Jade forest now and the top quests in my quest watcher is showing four winds quests. I have 5 Jade Forest quests but Quest Watcher will not reorganize them or even show them as it's always done.

Most of the quests are showing up on the map but some aren't.

I just clicked on a four winds quest and this showed up

Date: 2012-10-05 15:27:21
ID: 1
Error occured in: Global
Count: 1
Message: ..\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua line 6879:
attempt to compare nil with number
Debug:
[C]: ?
Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:6879: MDL()
Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:12933: LiC()
Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:25912: Fun()
Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:10597:
Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:10579
Locals:
self = <table> {
FOEFG = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:15796
GCS = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:21914
OTB = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:11670
M_OSO = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:11031
TaS1 = 1
Bar = <table> {
}
M_OG = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:436
MI4 = <table> {
}
MIS4 = <table> {
}
FOTC = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:8739
FOEP = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:15396
DeF = NxQuestD {
}
FiD = "Search: [click]"
M_OS3 = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:21187
M_OWA = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:21836
MI3 = <table> {
}
M_OC3 = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:23636
M_OHRA = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:8298
MI2 = <table> {
}
MI1 = <table> {
}
M_OSF = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:2962
Ope1 = true
Win1 = <table> {
}
M_OWC = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:21983
M_OSW1 = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:25100
OSQIT = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:3227
SAZ = false
FDE = "Search: %[click%]"
FiF2 = NxQuestFilter {
}
Men = <table> {
}
Upd = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:7607
Fil = <table> {
}
M_OSAQ = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:14701
M_OSHL = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:11759
ODSS = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:12979
MDL = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:6867
SQI = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:14661
FOEFL = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:23474
M_OSP = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:2872
ToW = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:27061
OLE = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:27951
Ope = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:13249
LoU = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:20600
QOp = <table> {
}
Sel1 = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:26683
M_OSLL = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:22308
DSW = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:22818
FOEP1 = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:22824
Lis = <table> {
}
M_OSAZ = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:16231
M_OSOD = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:17572
OnW = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:20375
M_OTN = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:7200
M_OHP = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:13494
M_OSH1 = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:7194
OQU = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:18603
M_OSQI = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:27827
ChS = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:20183
M_OA = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:15900
UpM2 = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:1723
Up_ = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:6184
AtF = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:11085
}
cur = nil
id = 30569
deb = nil
qId = 30569
Que = <table> {
OPM = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:23664
IHOI = 1
BCS = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:8254
OnU = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:12021
GetQuestReward = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\Carbonite\Carbonite.lua:10636
Sor1 = <table> {
}
FrQ = <table> {
}
AddOns:
Swatter, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
NPCScan, v5.0.0.4
NPCScanOverlay, v5.0.0.1
ACP, v3.4
AraBrokerGuildFriends, vr54
AraBrokerReputations, vr11
AraBrokerSpecSwitcher, vr10
AraBrokerTradeskills, vr43
AucAdvanced, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
AucFilterBasic, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
AucFilterOutlier, v5.14.5335.5335(5.14/embedded)
AucMatchUndercut, v5.14.5335.5225(5.14/embedded)
AucScanData, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
AucStatHistogram, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
AucStatiLevel, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
AucStatPurchased, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
AucStatSales, v5.14.5335.5335(5.14/embedded)
AucStatSimple, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
AucStatStdDev, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
AucStatWOWEcon, v5.14.5335.5335(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilAHWindowControl, v5.14.5335.5133(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilAppraiser, v5.14.5335.5335(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilAskPrice, v5.14.5335.5160(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilAutoMagic, v5.14.5335.5335(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilCompactUI, v5.14.5335.5335(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilEasyBuyout, v5.14.5335.5238(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilFixAH, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
AucUtilItemSuggest, v5.14.5335.5335(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilPriceLevel, v5.14.5335.5237(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilScanButton, v5.14.5335.5335(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilScanFinish, v5.14.5335.5153(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilScanProgress, v5.14.5335.4979(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilScanStart, v5.14.5335.5153(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilSearchUI, v5.14.5335.5335(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilSimpleAuction, v5.14.5335.5208(5.14/embedded)
AucUtilVendMarkup, v5.14.5335.4828(5.14/embedded)
Babylonian, v5.1.DEV.312(/embedded)
BagBrother, v
Bagnon, v5.0.4
BagnonConfig, v
BagSync, v6.7.7
BeanCounter, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
BrokerMicroMenu, vv1.3.2
BrokerPortals, v1.8.29
Carbonite, v5.0.5.001
Comix, v1.86
Configator, v5.1.DEV.330(/embedded)
DataStore, v5.0.001
DataStoreAchievements, v5.0.001
DataStoreAgenda, v5.0.001
DataStoreAuctions, v5.0.001
DataStoreCharacters, v5.0.001
DataStoreContainers, v5.0.001
DataStoreCrafts, v5.0.001
DataStoreCurrencies, v5.0.001
DataStoreInventory, v5.0.001
DataStoreMails, v5.0.001
DataStorePets, v5.0.001
DataStoreQuests, v5.0.001
DataStoreReputations, v5.0.001
DataStoreSpells, v5.0.001
DataStoreStats, v5.0.001
DataStoreTalents, v5.0.001
DBMCore, v
DBMLDB, v
DebugLib, v5.1.DEV.312(/embedded)
Dominos, v5.0.25
DominosCast, v
DominosConfig, v
GupPet, v2.103
Informant, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
LibExtraTip, v5.12.DEV.324(/embedded)
Omen, v3.1.7
OmniCC, v5.0.4
OmniCCConfig, v
SmartBuff, v5.0f
Stubby, v5.14.5335 (KowariOnCrutches)
TipHelper, v5.12.DEV.315(/embedded)
TipTac, v12.09.29
TipTacItemRef, v12.08.30
TipTacTalents, v12.09.05
Titan, v5.1.7.50001
TitanBag, v5.1.7.50001
TitanClock, v5.1.7.50001
TitanGold, v5.1.5.50001
TitanLocation, v5.1.7.50001
TitanLootType, v5.1.7.50001
TitanMicrobuttons, v4.0.1
TitanPerformance, v5.1.7.50001
TitanRepair, v5.1.7.50001
TitanSpec, v2.0.2
TitanVolume, v5.1.7.50001
TitanXP, v5.1.7.50001
TradeSkillDW, v1.80
tullaRange, v5.0.0
tullaRangeConfig, v
BlizRuntimeLib_enUS v5.0.5.50001 <us>
(ck=ca4)

Last edited by antiquada : 10-05-12 at 03:33 PM.
antiquada is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-12, 08:25 PM   #10
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,865
Originally Posted by fourdots View Post
So in the meantime, what, if anything, can I do to fix this problem? I love the addon, but right now it's useless to me if it has no quest data.

Make backups before you do this; Delete both carbonite related lua and lua.bak files from within the WTF SavedVariables folder. Then go into each character folder into their SavedVariables folders and remove both carbonite lua and lua.bak files.

You could also do it the easy way and open the WTF folder, then up top in the search field just type in Carbonite. Delete any lua and lua.bak files you find with the Carbonite name on it.

Delete all three carbonite folders from within your addons directory. Redownload and install the addon again. Be sure to verify the MD5 checksum number.

Doing this ensures that you downloaded a clean zip file and are running a fresh clean install of the addon.
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
Petrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-09-12, 11:03 AM   #11
polgara1369
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Quests not in Database

I am having the same issue in Panderia with quests not showing in database. I have totally deleted the WTF folder and all Carbonite folders from my add ons folder and completely reinstalled the current version of Carbonite hoping this would fix the issue, unfortunately with no success. Any idea when this will be fixed? The primary reason I use Carbonite is for the quest/map functions and with the quests in Panderia not showing I am floundering.
polgara1369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-09-12, 11:36 AM   #12
eqsanctum
The Great Equalizer
 
eqsanctum's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 136
Originally Posted by polgara1369 View Post
I am having the same issue in Panderia with quests not showing in database. I have totally deleted the WTF folder and all Carbonite folders from my add ons folder and completely reinstalled the current version of Carbonite hoping this would fix the issue, unfortunately with no success. Any idea when this will be fixed? The primary reason I use Carbonite is for the quest/map functions and with the quests in Panderia not showing I am floundering.
So instead of floundering, open up the default map and look where the quest objective is.
Temp track the objective and look on the default map you can find it fine IF it is a trackable objective.

I've had to do it, it works fine. Eventually he'll get everything updated. Until then, don't flounder, overcome.
__________________

Carbonite Supporter - ZAM Network Supporter - EQInterface OG
eqsanctum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-09-12, 11:58 AM   #13
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,084
With mondays update there should be no quests saying "not in database" if your in the right zone, even breadcrumbs / trails & completed turnins work now.

If they still are, you probably have it disabled to show the objectives on the map since that's where it gets the data from.
Rythal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-09-12, 12:04 PM   #14
polgara1369
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Something to possibly be aware of...after manually tracking 1 of the "missing in database" quests the database auto updated somehow and all quest data was then available.
polgara1369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-09-12, 01:17 PM   #15
eqsanctum
The Great Equalizer
 
eqsanctum's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 136
Originally Posted by polgara1369 View Post
Something to possibly be aware of...after manually tracking 1 of the "missing in database" quests the database auto updated somehow and all quest data was then available.
Really? I'm gonna try this...
__________________

Carbonite Supporter - ZAM Network Supporter - EQInterface OG
eqsanctum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-12-12, 01:51 PM   #16
Breyy
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
I have 18 quests in my log, carbonite does not have 12 of them in the database, i have deleted and reinstalled and gone to the zones (not sure what zone to go to for 'to be a master' though) and to no avail. i love the addon but having 2/3 of my quests not showing really isnt working for me.

i update every day.

please help someone, hate the ingame quest tracker
Breyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-12-12, 06:44 PM   #17
Chmee
A Molten Giant
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 960
The MoP quests aren't in the database yet. You're just going to have to be patient. However, if you read the quest info on Wowhead for "To Be a Master" you will see that it says "The entirety of this quest happens in Valley of the Four Winds."

The six trainers you need to visit to learn the recipes you need for this question are almost certainly close by the quest giver (going from memory; I haven't been there since beta).
Chmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-12-12, 08:01 PM   #18
dhjohn
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 20
Originally Posted by Breyy View Post
I have 18 quests in my log, carbonite does not have 12 of them in the database, i have deleted and reinstalled and gone to the zones (not sure what zone to go to for 'to be a master' though) and to no avail. i love the addon but having 2/3 of my quests not showing really isnt working for me.

i update every day.

please help someone, hate the ingame quest tracker
Some things that work for me:
*Go to the zone they are in
*Open the blizzard quest log
*Complete a quest

Most of the time, by about hte middle of a game session most, if not all, of the quests are working.
dhjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-13-12, 04:41 AM   #19
booneadam
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Rythal when do you think that you will be able to add the rest of the panda quests so they will be trackable? The only ones that are not showing up for me are the daily quests.
booneadam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-13-12, 02:18 PM   #20
vixenkitsune
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
same problem

all of the quests you get on halfhill for the different cooking guys have no data hope those will be fixed soon so you know where to find the ingredients without constantly having to look them up on wowhead or thottbot
vixenkitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite: General Discussion » "quest not in database"?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off