Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-14-12, 04:18 PM   #1
myrroddin
Premium Member
 
myrroddin's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 411
[Suggestion] versions in ToC

Like the title says, would you be willing to put the version line into the ToC files of the various RDX addons, theme addons, etc please? I am usually pretty good at remembering, but sometimes I need to exit the game, compare, update, etc, especially with the alpha builds. This would be very useful for debugging.
Lua Code:
  1. ## Version: version_number
I have another suggestion, but I'm not sure if you will go for it. I was wondering if you would be willing to have RDX on Curse as well as WoWI. If you like, on Curse's development sites of Curseforge.com and WoWAce.com (RDX probably would go to Curseforge, as there are no Ace3 or library files) you can specify an external repository and point it to your Git here on WoWInterface.

One trick you could do, should you choose to also host on Curse is use the repository keywords to automate a lot of entries. Using the Version example above, it would look like this
Lua Code:
  1. ## Version: @project-version@
And any time you commit or tag to your WoWI Git, it should automatically retrieve and replace.

If you did this, it would make many people very happy. And if you wanted to go this route, I can do my best to help you as a Curse Moderator.
myrroddin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-14-12, 04:24 PM   #2
unlimit
Lookin' Good
 
unlimit's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 484
Just for future reference, RDX is using GitHub. Would it still be possible?
__________________


kúdan: im playing pantheon
JRCapablanca: no youre not
** Pantheon has been Banned. **
unlimit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-14-12, 04:31 PM   #3
myrroddin
Premium Member
 
myrroddin's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 411
Originally Posted by unlimit View Post
Just for future reference, RDX is using GitHub. Would it still be possible?
Do you mean Curseforge == GitHub? Yes, Curseforge supports SVN, Git, Mg, no matter where they are located, whether internally at CF, or Google's, GitHubs, etc.
myrroddin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-14-12, 04:33 PM   #4
myrroddin
Premium Member
 
myrroddin's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 411
Yes, I know I have two suggestions in this thread. I am more interested in the first one, putting the version line into the tocs, but it would be cool beans to get both.
myrroddin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-17-12, 04:36 AM   #5
sigg
Featured Artist
 
sigg's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,230
I am only using the version tag in the RDX main addon
I will update all others folsers, VFL and all

About Curse, I will put the GA version on it

Cheers
__________________
RDX manager
Sigg
sigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » OpenRDX » OpenRDX Support » OpenRDX: Feature Requests » [Suggestion] versions in ToC

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off