Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-29-12, 12:12 PM   #1
Larayas1451
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Unable to set focus

This is something that I have had a problem with since first using Nui. In the beginning I was able to get around it by opening the Blizz raid frames and doing it from there but now I can't even do that. I try to set focus on someone and get an error telling me that I am trying to do something that is only available to Blizzard UI and that I have to shut off my NuI to do this. I would appreciate any help in this I can have because if I can't get this fixed I will have to ditch my beloved NuI and that is not going to make me happy at all.
Larayas1451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-12, 12:31 PM   #2
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,192
The alternative is to use a /focus macro (or the command typed in chat)

Or (what I prefer) to set a keybind from Game Options -> Keybinds.
You're looking for "Focus Target" (and optionally "Target Focus").

The first keybind will allow you to "Set Focus" your current target and the second allows you to target that focused unit.

To clear the focus just hit the "Set Focus" keybind again with no target selected.
Dridzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-12, 01:32 PM   #3
Larayas1451
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
I should have mentioned in the original post that my focus macros are unusable and have been since I first loaded NuI which is what led me to click on portraits and get the error message in the first place so I then was using the Blizz raid frames which are now unusable as well. Interestingly though, I just tried the blizz keybinds and they DO work so thank you very much

Last edited by Larayas1451 : 11-29-12 at 01:35 PM.
Larayas1451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-12, 02:09 PM   #4
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
This is a known bug in the Blizzard unit frame templates that affects all addons that create custom unit frames.

The easy solution is to create a macro '/focus' and put it on your action bars somewhere. Target the person/mob you want to focus and click the button, done.

The other option is to use the slash command '/focus target' and/or '/clearfocus'

Hopefully there will be a workaround to this some day.... /sigh
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » General » nUI: Community Chat » Unable to set focus

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off