Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-19-12, 04:28 PM   #1
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Seals

Why don't paladin's seals show up as buffs anymore? Is there any way to make them do so again?
__________________
Kendian is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-19-12, 04:38 PM   #2
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,400
Monk stances are the same way.

They're not actually buffs, so you can't make them appear as buffs, unless you're willing to do a lot of hacking to make whatever buff display you're using support fake buffs, which is probably more effort than it's worth. It'd be way easier to just add an icon on your unitframe or something.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-19-12, 05:13 PM   #3
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
It'd be way easier to just add an icon on your unitframe or something.
I use Phanx buffs. I suppose it would be easier to just add a small indicator to UF. Anyone have an idea what script (for KGPanels), that would make a panel appear based on a buff that doesn't exist?
__________________
Kendian is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-19-12, 05:20 PM   #4
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,783
For what it's worth, Raven shows Pally seals without a hitch.
__________________
Vis is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-19-12, 10:00 PM   #5
Tim
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
Tim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 91
http://www.wowwiki.com/API_GetShapeshiftForm

All seals are stances and here's the list for you.
In your scripts just check for stance number and do stuff such as KGPanelName:Show() or KGPanelName:Hide() depending on which stance it is.
__________________
++ Cirax's Repository
++ Author of oUF_DHUD and cTools
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-19-12, 10:24 PM   #6
Dawn
A Molten Giant
 
Dawn's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 903
Just keybind and get used to them, no indication needed.

Seriously.
__________________
Rock: "We're sub-standard DPS. Nerf Paper, Scissors are fine."
Paper: "OMG, WTF, Scissors!"
Scissors: "Rock is OP and Paper are QQers. We need PvP buffs."

"neeh the game wont be remembered as the game who made blizz the most money, it will be remembered as the game who had the most QQ'ers that just couldnt quit the game for some reason..."

Dawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-12, 12:02 AM   #7
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,400
Originally Posted by Vis View Post
For what it's worth, Raven shows Pally seals without a hitch.
That's because Raven shows things that aren't actually auras... it probably shows tracking abilities, too.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-12, 07:05 AM   #8
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,783
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
That's because Raven shows things that aren't actually auras... it probably shows tracking abilities, too.
It does, but only if you want to see them.
__________________
Vis is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-12, 02:15 PM   #9
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Originally Posted by Dawn View Post
Just keybind and get used to them, no indication needed.

Seriously.
That's not the aim....the bar is fine hidden...or it WAS, but with no indication of which stance im in? Being a clicker, I need either the bar or the buff, preferably the buff. I'm trying to muddle my way thru Cirax's suggestion (call a panel based on stance). What's funny, is I'm doing all this for whats probably going to be a very small icon/indicator on my UF, because I need the visual cue.

Nibelheim wrote out a script for me to do this exact thing, with a small amount of tweaking ( I hope) I should be able to stop bothering all you fine people. My thanks, for all the help~
__________________
Kendian is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-12, 07:34 PM   #10
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,171
Or just re-add the stance bar, but that might take up too much space.

I'm also constantly struggling with auras since MoP even though I like to consider myself a pretty good paladin. I keep forgetting to switch seals after an AOE pack, or worst of all after mind control when the boss sneakily changes your aura. >_<

I've been trying to make an intelligent reminder script that tells you which seal to use depending on the fight, but it's virtually impossible to know when you need to use AOE on a boss fight unless you make a gigantic DBM-like addon.
Haleth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-12, 08:09 PM   #11
nin
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 210
Originally Posted by Haleth View Post
I'm also constantly struggling with auras since MoP even though I like to consider myself a pretty good paladin. I keep forgetting to switch seals after an AOE pack, or worst of all after mind control when the boss sneakily changes your aura. >_<

Exactly for this reason i made a tag that shows "Aoe" as text on my UF.. wich means if that text is up im having my aoe seal on.. works for me :P
nin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-12, 08:45 PM   #12
jeruku
A Cliff Giant
 
jeruku's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 74
Macro?

Have you tried a swapactionbar macro?

Code:
/swapactionbar 1 2
/cast [actionbar:1] !Seal of Command; !Seal of Truth
__________________
"I have not failed, I simply found 10,000 ways that did not work." - Thomas Edison
jeruku is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-14-12, 05:32 PM   #13
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,400
Please use [code] tags around your code. >_<

What do you expect each of those scripts to do, and what are they actually doing? Also, why are you posting for help with kgPanels scripts in a month-old thread about buff addons?
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-15-12, 04:16 AM   #14
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
I was actually trying to script a panel (KGPanels) that would show when I had a seal on. The second was just wondering why showing a panel when your in combat, and hiding it when out, no longer worked. Or, at least it doesn't work after you reload, it always shows.
__________________
Kendian is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-17-12, 01:14 AM   #15
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,400
Originally Posted by Kendian View Post
I was actually trying to script a panel (KGPanels) that would show when I had a seal on.
You deleted your original post, so I'm not entirely sure whether you cared which seal was active or not, but this will show you the icon of whichever seal is active, or a red square if you don't have a seal:

OnLoad:
Code:
self.textures = {
    [1] = "Interface\\Icons\\Spell_Holy_SealOfVengeance", -- Seal of Truth
    [2] = "Interface\\Icons\\Spell_Holy_RighteousnessAura", -- Seal of Righteousness
    [3] = "Interface\\Icons\\Spell_Holy_HealingAura", -- Seal of Insight
}

self.icon = self:CreateTexture(nil, "ARTWORK")
self.icon:SetAllPoints(true)
self.icon:SetTexCoord(0.06, 0.94, 0.06, 0.94) -- to trim the ugly icon border

self:RegisterEvent("UPDATE_SHAPESHIFT_FORM")

local seal = GetShapeshiftForm()
seal = seal and self.textures[seal]
return seal and self.icon:SetTexture(seal) or self.icon:SetTexture(1, 0, 0)
OnEvent:
Code:
local seal = GetShapeshiftForm()
seal = seal and self.textures[seal]
return seal and self.icon:SetTexture(seal) or self.icon:SetTexture(1, 0, 0)
On my level 60 prot paladin, GetShapeshiftForm() returns:
  1. Truth
  2. Righteousness
  3. Insight
I'm not sure where ret paladins' Seal of Justice fits in, so if you're ret, you should double-check what GetShapeshiftForm() returns for each of your seals, and update the textures table accordingly.

Originally Posted by Kendian View Post
The second was just wondering why showing a panel when your in combat, and hiding it when out, no longer worked. Or, at least it doesn't work after you reload, it always shows.
OnLoad:
Code:
self:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_REGEN_ENABLED")
self:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_REGEN_DISABLED")
return UnitAffectingCombat("player") and self:Show() or self:Hide()
OnEvent:
Code:
return UnitAffectingCombat("player") and self:Show() or self:Hide()
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Seals

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off