Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-06-13, 10:06 AM   #1
Gildah
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Post for Xrystal on nUI 5 bug im having

Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_010513_195348.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	702.6 KB
ID:	7478

I think this worked
Gildah is offline  
Unread 01-06-13, 10:12 AM   #2
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,057
I'm pretty sure it is what I expected and explained before in game. Try the aura button plugin and see if that stops the error messages. I suspect you are accidentally hovering over the aura lists which then tries to show the tooltip which it doesn't like doing during combat.
__________________
Xrystal is online now  
Unread 01-11-13, 08:16 PM   #3
Gildah
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
New error

here is the new one
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_010713_133721.jpg
Views:	320
Size:	651.6 KB
ID:	7493  
Gildah is offline  
Unread 01-11-13, 11:27 PM   #4
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Technically, that's a warning, not an error... it's a taint bug resulting from trying to show/hide/modify aura buttons while in combat and is a side effect of enabling the clickable option for the auras.

For the most part, it's an entirely benign error and likely has no impact on you in combat other than annoying the crap out of you when the error window is displayed. There's an option to turn off warning messages somewhere either in the bug tool or the Blizz interface, I forget which.

While it doesn't make the problem go away entirely, it will at least prevent it from annoying you in the middle of encounters.

That all said, the second most important priority I have in nUI6, other than performance fixes, it to fix all of the taint problems nUI5 had. Blizz is making some changes to how taint is reported in the 5.2 PTR and I'm anxiously waiting for that to all get working so I can nail down the last couple of taints I have to deal with in nUI6. I don't see them getting fixed in nUI5 since it's long been end of life and being kept on life support by Xrystal while I work on nUI6... it would be way too much work for far too little return to try and do it in nUI5.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 01-12-13, 01:57 PM   #5
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,057
I tried replicating it with a fight against test dummies but can't seem to get the error message to appear using the built in error report tool. I get the message while mousing over the aura lists but I thought that side of things was fixed in a roundabout way by using the aura button plugin but that didn't resolve his problem.

Looking at the message it looks like the problem is with the unit frames auras but they don't seem to show tooltips on the auras themselves .. unless that is something that can be toggled manually. will have to see if it is possible.
__________________
Xrystal is online now  
Unread 01-12-13, 02:36 PM   #6
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,057
Okay, managed to replicate the problem.

It is as you say scott to do with making the auras clickable.


After I turned on ALL auras and tooltip display settings from the blizzard menu and then adjusted nUI_UnitAura.lua so that line 324 changes from:

if owner.aura and owner.active then
self:SetID( owner.aura.id );

to

if owner.aura and owner.active and not InCombatLockdown() then -- added IncombatLockdown
self:SetID( owner.aura.id );


This simply checks if you are in combat and decides not to show the tooltip when in combat but will when not regardless of combattips setting.

The file attached has this change in if anyone is having the same error message appear. Bear in mind this was fixed and tested while fighting the test dummy so it may not have fixed all similar problems.
Attached Files
File Type: lua nUI_UnitAura.lua (63.7 KB, 289 views)
__________________
Xrystal is online now  
Unread 01-13-13, 12:52 PM   #7
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,057
Just in case it wasn't clear or you didn't know. The nUI_UnitAura.lua file is located in the nUI/Units folder and the changed file will need to go in there accordingly. Let me know if it resolves the problem.
__________________
Xrystal is online now  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Technical Support » Post for Xrystal on nUI 5 bug im having

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off