Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-13, 12:07 AM   #1
10leej
An Onyxian Warder
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 361
Looking for an artist not called me

As I've discovered I'm pretty terrible at drawing with a mouse so I'm hoping someone can make me some border for my unitframes.



That's the general look I'm looking for (it's the !Beautycase border, and yes I know I have to work on the petframe a little to make it a bit more professional looking)

Pretty with the last 4 updates to whoaUnitframes I've determined I hate applying my modifications (which is really just a border and some slight adjustments to the bar sizes/position) and I'm looking for a way to streamline the process a little. Wouldn't mind if it's PNG or BLP
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 12:10 AM   #2
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,677
I'm not really sure what you're asking for. Even if someone does something (?) with some (?) texture, you're still going to have to use Lua code to apply the texture(s) to something (?) in-game. If you're modifying an existing addon, you're still going to have to reapply your modifications every time you update it, or use an external addon to hook into it and apply your modifications. Can you be more specific about what kind of textures you want, and how they will solve your problem?
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 12:19 AM   #3
10leej
An Onyxian Warder
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 361
Pretty just asking someone to make a blp for me so I can replace the unitframe textures. That way I pretty much don't have to do anything at all when whoaUnitframes gets an update other than just copy paste the .lua file and not go dig through it to apply my changes.

Or they can leave it as PNG and I can convert it (I have had bad luck converting tga's for some reason or another)

Last edited by 10leej : 03-21-13 at 12:23 AM.
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 03:33 AM   #4
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,677
Oh I see. Can you post the addon's original texture file + your border file?
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 09:23 AM   #5
10leej
An Onyxian Warder
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 361
Well I use a blank texture atm and the border file is created using !Beautycase

then in the .lua file I put borders around the different frames using !Beautycase's CreateBorder command and adjusting the border size with another command generated by !Beautycase

player frame for example, and I have to check for events for the other frames (just for the portrait border due to me using adapt for 3d portraits)

Lua Code:
  1. PlayerPortraitModelModel:CreateBorder(12,1,1,1)
  2. PlayerPortraitModelModel:SetBorderPadding(3)
  3. PlayerFrameHealthBar:CreateBorder(12,1,1,1)
  4. PlayerFrameHealthBar:SetBorderPadding(3)
  5. PlayerFrameManaBar:CreateBorder(12,1,1,1)
  6. PlayerFrameManaBar:SetBorderPadding(3)

Events are shown here (mostly because I don't feel like digging that stuff out)
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 11:41 AM   #6
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Something like this? Bear in mind this is rough, I just woke up, and am on first cup of coffee~
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bob Player UF.png
Views:	231
Size:	2.0 KB
ID:	7637  
__________________
Kendian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 12:18 PM   #7
10leej
An Onyxian Warder
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 361
Originally Posted by Kendian View Post
Something like this? Bear in mind this is rough, I just woke up, and am on first cup of coffee~
Exactly

Plus that's already better than what I spent half the night trying.
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 12:39 PM   #8
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Here's the blp file, play around with it and tell me where/how you'd like it changed.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Bob Player UF.zip (1.6 KB, 195 views)
__________________
Kendian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 01:38 PM   #9
10leej
An Onyxian Warder
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 361
Well it seems a little backwards, unless I replaced the wrong textures (entirely possible). So I converted it and flipped it around in gimp, looks a little off center, but the sizes look about right. I'll spend some more time fiddling with it when i get a chance, but I gots to work now
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	224
Size:	130.5 KB
ID:	7640  

Last edited by 10leej : 03-21-13 at 01:47 PM.
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 04:15 PM   #10
SDPhantom
A Molten Giant
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 933
Originally Posted by 10leej View Post
I have had bad luck converting tga's for some reason or another
I've noticed a lot of image editors save TGAs as 24-bit instead of the 32-bit version WoW needs to use. GIMP is one such editor that is capable of saving 32-bit TGAs and I use that constantly to convert my PNG images.
__________________
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
SDPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 05:33 PM   #11
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Not really sure, but I THINK the default player frame is the targeting frame reversed...if so, this one is a tad cleaner, and is positioned as correct as I could.
Attached Files
File Type: zip UI-TargetingFrame.zip (1.7 KB, 201 views)
__________________
Kendian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 06:38 PM   #12
10leej
An Onyxian Warder
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 361
Originally Posted by Kendian View Post
Not really sure, but I THINK the default player frame is the targeting frame reversed...if so, this one is a tad cleaner, and is positioned as correct as I could.
Yeah it is. You also look top be one pixel too low and a little too far right.


EDIT:
Cleaned up the pet frame a little, (not sure exactly how you taking these images)


I've noticed a lot of image editors save TGAs as 24-bit instead of the 32-bit version WoW needs to use. GIMP is one such editor that is capable of saving 32-bit TGAs and I use that constantly to convert my PNG images.
Yeah I try to use gimp but I'm terrible at drawing with a mouse >.> it's when i convert tga to blp is when I have problems. nothing seems wrong with the alpha layer, but all I ever get out of it is a green image.

Last edited by 10leej : 03-21-13 at 06:52 PM.
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 09:42 PM   #13
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,677
Make sure the image dimensions are powers of 2 -- 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, etc. -- otherwise WoW can't read it.

Also, WoW can read TGA files just fine, so there's not really any reason to convert to BLP, especially since BLP files are generally larger files than their TGA counterparts.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 10:20 PM   #14
10leej
An Onyxian Warder
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 361
Replacing textures requires blp I thought.
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-13, 10:31 PM   #15
semlar
An Onyxian Warder
 
semlar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 378
Originally Posted by 10leej View Post
Replacing textures requires blp I thought.
Nope, I've always used targas, mostly since photoshop can save directly to that format.

There's no reason to convert from a tga to a blp.

Last edited by semlar : 03-21-13 at 10:33 PM.
semlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-13, 03:36 PM   #16
10leej
An Onyxian Warder
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 361
Originally Posted by semlar View Post
Nope, I've always used targas, mostly since photoshop can save directly to that format.

There's no reason to convert from a tga to a blp.
Hmm never realized that.
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-13, 09:58 PM   #17
10leej
An Onyxian Warder
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 361
Anyone know which one the petframe is? Haven't been able to find it yet. I'm think it's UI-Player-Portrait but I haven't found it yet.
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-13, 10:01 AM   #18
SDPhantom
A Molten Giant
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 933
If you're leaving all the code to the default UI, it's using Interface\TargetingFrame\UI-SmallTargetingFrame for the petframe.
__________________
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
SDPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-13, 08:27 PM   #19
10leej
An Onyxian Warder
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 361
And now it appears that my petframe won't convert to blp or tga correctly. Keeping getting the cursed green rectangle.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	UI-SmallTargetingFrame.png
Views:	197
Size:	10.8 KB
ID:	7649  
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-13, 08:38 PM   #20
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,677
177x66 are not valid dimensions for images in WoW. Both dimensions must be powers of 2.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Graphics Help » Looking for an artist not called me

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off