Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-09-05, 12:40 AM   #1
Legorol
A Cliff Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Post EquipCompare

You can find EquipCompare here:
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...fo.php?id=4392

Leave feedback in this thread. I will drop in on occasion and read it.

Last edited by Legorol : 12-09-05 at 12:48 AM.
Legorol is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-09-05, 12:53 AM   #2
Beladona
A Molten Giant
 
Beladona's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 539
probably the only addon that has stayed in my collection from day 1, and I haven't actually ripped apart and rewritten

good work Legorol, and thanks for finally bringing it over to wowi!
Beladona is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-13-05, 03:10 PM   #3
scmswstl
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Smile This is the Localization of Simplified Chinese ...


I've translated it into Simplified Chinese .
Attached Files
File Type: zip localizationzhCN.zip (1.6 KB, 1036 views)
scmswstl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-13-05, 06:04 PM   #4
Legorol
A Cliff Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Thank you very much for the Simplified Chinese localization, it's absolutely awesome! I can't check if it makes sense or not , but I've added it to EquipCompare.

There is one line in the .toc file that is missing localization, it's this text:
"Compare items easily with ones you have equipped (2.9.5)"
would you be able to translate this as well? Thanks!

Last edited by Legorol : 12-13-05 at 06:06 PM.
Legorol is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-19-08, 04:41 AM   #5
Busko
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Hi im wondering if there is any option to make the window that showing your current equiped item a little bigger. Problem is that with my current ui settings etc the text gets a little bit to small... and its very hard to see.

Thanks for a great addon
Busko is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-25-08, 05:42 AM   #6
Narune
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Narune's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
EquipCompare seems to be mixing up MH, and OH weapond in 3.02

I'm having trouble with the comparisons in WoW3.02 when dual wielding. It seems to be mixing up the hand that I am carrying the weapons in. It compares my MH weapon to OH weapons that I mouse over, and vice versa. For example, if I had a MH weapon equipped, and moused over another MH weapon in my bag it shows the comparison tip to the one I am carrying in my off hand. It seems to recognize that those specific types of weapons are only usable in one hand, but is mixing them up somewhere along the line. I've never noticed this behavior before.


Last edited by Narune : 10-25-08 at 06:14 AM.
Narune is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-25-08, 07:59 PM   #7
bbcupid
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Originally Posted by Narune View Post
I'm having trouble with the comparisons in WoW3.02 when dual wielding. It seems to be mixing up the hand that I am carrying the weapons in. It compares my MH weapon to OH weapons that I mouse over, and vice versa. For example, if I had a MH weapon equipped, and moused over another MH weapon in my bag it shows the comparison tip to the one I am carrying in my off hand. It seems to recognize that those specific types of weapons are only usable in one hand, but is mixing them up somewhere along the line. I've never noticed this behavior before.


im having the same issue. when i move my mouse over a weap in my bag it compares it to my off-hand item.

i.e. compares a main-hand mace in my bag to my shield i have equip and not my main-hand weap.
bbcupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-08-08, 04:55 AM   #8
Thrashfinger
A Murloc Raider
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Off-hand "as intended" behavior (not bug) fix for EquipCompare v2.13

Works with WoW v3.0.3:

The following code modification will resolve the "as intended" behavior which
currently (when items are equipped in both weapon slots) shows only the
equipped "off-hand" item for comparison if you hover over a "main hand" or
"two-hand" item.

Open the EquipCompare.lua file.

Change line 1237:
if ( itype == INVTYPE_WEAPON ) then

To:
if ( itype == INVTYPE_WEAPON ) or ( itype == INVTYPE_WEAPONMAINHAND ) then

This behavior (not bug) fix works, but with one noted side effect. After this
change is applied, "main hand" only items will be compared to equipped items
in both weapon slots, including "off-hand" only items and "one hand" items
equipped in the "off-hand" slot. However, "off-hand" only items will only be
compared to (if equipped) an "off-hand" slotted item. Although this may not be
perfect or ideal, I believe this quick and dirty fix (showing both items in
both weapon slots) is more user-friendly than the "as intended" behavior which
currently looks and feels more like a "bug" (based on user feedback here).

NOTE:
I do not know if this adversely affects other addons that have hooks for
EquipCompare. I use a small selection of addons and have not noticed any
conflicts.

Last edited by Thrashfinger : 11-08-08 at 05:38 AM.
Thrashfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-08-08, 11:17 AM   #9
Thrashfinger
A Murloc Raider
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Tooltip rendered (partially/completely) off screen fix for EquipCompare v2.13

Works with WoW v3.0.3:

The following code modifications should resolve most (if not all) issues with
wide comparative tooltip frames being displayed (partially or completely) off
screen. This change repositions dual comparative tooltip frames when there are
two slots that an item can be equipped in (ie, rings, trinkets, weapons). The
comparative tooltip frames will appear above/below one another instead of to
their left/right, but will still be rendered left/right of the main tootlip.

(1) line is moved
(2) lines are modified
(1) line is added

I recommend you copy/paste the "To" code below (without line numbers) over the
existing code in the EquipCompare.lua file.

Open the EquipCompare.lua file.

Change lines 1259-1267:

From:
----
Code:
1259:	-- Now place it in its rightful place
1260:	ComparisonTooltip2:ClearAllPoints();
1261:	if ( leftAlign ) then
1262:		ComparisonTooltip1:ClearAllPoints();
1263:		ComparisonTooltip2:SetPoint("TOPRIGHT", tooltip:GetName(), "TOPLEFT", 0, -10);
1264:		ComparisonTooltip1:SetPoint("TOPRIGHT", "ComparisonTooltip2", "TOPLEFT", 0, 0);
1265:	else
1266:		ComparisonTooltip2:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", "ComparisonTooltip1", "TOPRIGHT", 0, 0);
1267:	end
To:
----
Code:
		-- Now place it in its rightful place
		ComparisonTooltip1:ClearAllPoints();
		ComparisonTooltip2:ClearAllPoints();
		if ( leftAlign ) then
			ComparisonTooltip2:SetPoint("TOPRIGHT", tooltip:GetName(), "TOPLEFT", 0, -10);
			ComparisonTooltip1:SetPoint("TOPRIGHT", "ComparisonTooltip2", "BOTTOMRIGHT", 0, 0);
		else
			ComparisonTooltip2:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", tooltip:GetName(), "TOPRIGHT", 0, -10);
			ComparisonTooltip1:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", "ComparisonTooltip2", "BOTTOMLEFT", 0, 0);
		end
I am sure there are much more complicated, or maybe even some cleaner ways,
to accomplish similar changes to the relative frame layout that would yield
similar results. This just happens to be one of the quick and dirty methods.

NOTE:
One side effect I observed was that this change does not appear to
"work and play well" with the ALT button functionality.

Last edited by Thrashfinger : 11-08-08 at 11:38 AM.
Thrashfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-15-08, 03:17 AM   #10
zoktar
A Cliff Giant
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
Hi great addon, i have a feature request, while hovering over an item add with modifier, to also compare item with same type of items in bank and bags. what im looking for is a easy way to determine gear that i find or roll on. for druids and palas for example have to keep track of 3-4+ sets of gear. this way hovering over say a head slot item that is gonna be rolled for and holding say shift, i would be able to see currently equiped, in bags and in bank just adding more tooltips. that way i could determine weather i need the item or not, and quickly (example=pug rolling can go very fast) would be most awsome. cheers.
zoktar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-15-08, 05:46 AM   #11
blackpandemic
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
blackpandemic's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by zoktar View Post
Hi great addon, i have a feature request, while hovering over an item add with modifier, to also compare item with same type of items in bank and bags. what im looking for is a easy way to determine gear that i find or roll on. for druids and palas for example have to keep track of 3-4+ sets of gear. this way hovering over say a head slot item that is gonna be rolled for and holding say shift, i would be able to see currently equiped, in bags and in bank just adding more tooltips. that way i could determine weather i need the item or not, and quickly (example=pug rolling can go very fast) would be most awsome. cheers.
Not sure this is entirely possible and if it is, it would be a tremendous memory hog.
__________________
"It is forbidden to kill; therefore all murderers are punished unless they kill in large numbers and to the sound of trumpets." -Voltaire
blackpandemic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-15-08, 10:46 AM   #12
zoktar
A Cliff Giant
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
Originally Posted by blackpandemic View Post
Not sure this is entirely possible and if it is, it would be a tremendous memory hog.
Well i dont relly know why that would be, theres plenty of addons that alreday remember ur bank inv, and ur bags, if u knew what to look for u could look up any bank/bag/wearing item with say sanity2 addon(without beeing at bank ofc), but it would take alot longer time to compare items that are beeing rolled on to what u have in bank/bags and wearing. why would it be such a memory hog?, (im no expert coder, but sanity2 wich saves your bank items, bag items, wearing item even on alts. since is has all the info stored all that would be needed i to make a addon to compare items by slot on modifer with tooltips. im sure theres a lightweight approch to this.
zoktar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-15-08, 08:35 PM   #13
Narune
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Narune's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
"as intended"! I certainly hope that's a joke.
__________________
Thank you for your time

Narune is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-15-08, 09:00 PM   #14
Psoewish
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Psoewish's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 447
A better "as intended" function would be to show both the main and offhand as currently equipped tooltips next to each other? :P
Psoewish is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-02-08, 02:31 AM   #15
Narune
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Narune's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Wink As Intended

I think a good "as intended" behavior would be to show your main hand compared to your boots, or possibly all items compared to your boots. lol
__________________
Thank you for your time

Narune is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-02-08, 12:59 PM   #16
Egnaz
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
If added the code above but in some cases I got another error:

Using German Client:

Error:
[2008/12/02 19:59:11-204-x1]: EquipCompare-2.14\EquipCompare.lua:1277: attempt to compare number with nil
EquipCompare-2.14\EquipCompare.lua:1123: in function `EquipCompare_CheckCompare'
EquipCompare-2.14\EquipCompare.lua:765: in function `EquipCompare_OnUpdate'
<string>:"*:OnUpdate":1: in function <[string "*:OnUpdate"]:1>


Any ideas ?
Egnaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-08, 12:13 PM   #17
Egnaz
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Has nobody a solution?
Egnaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-07-08, 08:41 PM   #18
redneck7433
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
error message

I had to turn off this mod because everytime I tried to compare something from the chat window I get a error message then everything I mouse over puts a gold value in the item window over the item in multiple places. any ideas? using wotlk
redneck7433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-09-08, 11:46 AM   #19
Psoewish
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Psoewish's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 447
Originally Posted by redneck7433 View Post
I had to turn off this mod because everytime I tried to compare something from the chat window I get a error message then everything I mouse over puts a gold value in the item window over the item in multiple places. any ideas? using wotlk
What error message do you get?
Psoewish is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-09-08, 05:40 PM   #20
Gibble
A Kobold Labourer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
I get a similar error when mousing over the buff icon for spellstone/firestone also using wotlk at work right now so not sure what the error message is (~_~)
Gibble is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » Released AddOns » EquipCompare

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off