Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-10-13, 10:47 AM   #1
Pandaabear
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Help with border pictures! (Photoshop)

[SOLVED]


Hello!

Okej, I'm gettin' really frustrated so I gotta get help somewhere! I'm not sure where this should be posted, but since it's AddOn related and I need help, I find that this section of the forum fits the description of my problem!

Anyway, what I'm tryin' to do is to change my borders of a specific AddOn.
The addon I'm tryin' to change is Marking Bar (Raid markin' addon).
For some reason, everytime I try to change the border it goes all green.

This is what I tried so far:

Fail-Makin' a layer above the original border, "UI-ToolTip-Border.blp" (Which I converted to png first with BLP2PNG). I saved it to .png agian without the orginal layer visable and converted the .png back to .blp. That turned the border (well, the whole frame) all green, with exception of the icons which probably has a higher Strat(or whatever it's called).

Fail-I tried makin' a new file with the same size as UI-ToolTip-Border.blp, took guidelines from the orginal picture, draw the new border and deleted the guidelines. Saved it to .png and converted to .blp. It showed the same thing as the above.

Fail-I made a transparent file and remade the above option. Same problem.

Almost-I then tried with an .tga file I had earlier which used an Alpha channel. That worked, I saw the border and all. But the problem is that the border is all white. I want it black.

This is basicly what I have done so far, it just wont work. What am I doing wrong?
Any help would be wonderful!
I attached this post with the 3 of the files that I tried with.
The one named "tipBorder.tga" is the one I managed to succeed alittle with.

Thank you for any help you can provide!


// Pandaabear

Attached Files
File Type: zip Addon Thingys.zip (8.0 KB, 141 views)

Last edited by Pandaabear : 05-10-13 at 12:57 PM. Reason: Solved
Pandaabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-13, 12:03 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,589
I see nothing wrong with your border file. That leaves these two options:
- the file path was incorrect to the border
- you didn't completely exit the game and restart
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-13, 12:56 PM   #3
Pandaabear
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
I see nothing wrong with your border file. That leaves these two options:
- the file path was incorrect to the border
- you didn't completely exit the game and restart
Oh my, it was the second option you provided.
Most other times it's workin' after reload.

But hey, I learned something new then!
Thank you very much, Mr Seerah!

I will edit this to Solved
Pandaabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-13, 01:22 PM   #4
Clamsoda
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 242
Originally Posted by Pandaabear View Post
Oh my, it was the second option you provided.
Most other times it's workin' after reload.
The image file has to have been in the Addons directory since the start of that instance of WoW for you to point to it and be able to reload.

If it is a file you just dropped in, you must restart WoW.
Clamsoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-13, 01:30 PM   #5
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,589
Glad you got it fixed. As Clamsoda noted, all files must be present when WoW starts. WoW runs in a sandboxed environment.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-13, 01:31 PM   #6
Pandaabear
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by Clamsoda View Post
The image file has to have been in the Addons directory since the start of that instance of WoW for you to point to it and be able to reload.

If it is a file you just dropped in, you must restart WoW.
Ah, thx for clearing that up Awesome info!
And ye, the file wasn't even in the AddOn folder. It was in Interface\\Custom

Pandaabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-13, 08:19 PM   #7
Tonyleila
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 311
Thats not 100% correct, only texures that are in the "cache" need a restart of the client. Many Textures are Load-On-Demand e.g. pet battel textures can be changed while the game is running you just have to leave the battel before changing it and join again to test it
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________
Tonyleila is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-13, 08:45 PM   #8
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,589
Originally Posted by Pandaabear View Post
Ah, thx for clearing that up Awesome info!
And ye, the file wasn't even in the AddOn folder. It was in Interface\\Custom

Anywhere in the WoW directory works.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Help with border pictures! (Photoshop)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off