Quantcast Hmm... - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
01-20-15, 06:06 AM   #1
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,440
Hmm...

Lets see.

New PC - check
New PC decruded - check
Gametime card - check
WoW - client - downloading
AddOns (Minion) - downloaded

Yes, I am almost back. Likely in the next or so as I have break the downloads into smaller chunks (the WoW client is so much bigger than I remember!).

Soon...
__________________
LiveJournal | Twitter

  Reply With Quote
01-20-15, 11:46 AM   #2
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,193
Welcome back Zyonin
  Reply With Quote
01-20-15, 04:48 PM   #3
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,435
Yay!
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
01-20-15, 08:15 PM   #4
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,059
Woot! Welcome home!
  Reply With Quote
01-21-15, 02:28 AM   #5
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,440
Thanks guys! I am watching the progress bar on the Battle.net app. 28+ gigs is a bit large so I have to hit several public WiFi hotspots to avoid being a data hot. Luckily I have a shiny new 1 TB drive on this new machine so I am not lack in the disc real estate dept.
__________________
LiveJournal | Twitter

  Reply With Quote
01-21-15, 08:19 PM   #6
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,580
I take it you live in Australia or some other country where data caps on home connections are the norm?
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
01-21-15, 08:32 PM   #7
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 857
And where even in the nations capitol some suburbs have been pair gained into ADSL1 only max. speeds, woohoo.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
01-23-15, 02:43 AM   #8
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,440
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
I take it you live in Australia or some other country where data caps on home connections are the norm?
In in Italy, it depends on your provider or connection. However my data cap is 0. In other words, I don't have a home connection as the main bread winner (the wife) is a bit of a miser. We had to dump our last provider as they kept gouging us and trying to terminate made getting rid of AOL (any Americas remember them?) seem like a cake walk. Italian services providers do not like letting you go and tend to be rather Mafia like. However there are plenty of free and decent WiFi hotspots including ones run by the city. The only issue with the city one is you are limited to 500 MB per day. Still, I have waited four years so another week won't hurt. I could play now, however I suspect that I will be spending the first day setting up my UI and those old-timers know, I love a totally customized UI. Then I have four expansions worth of content to enjoy before I even think about Warlords (I have not upgraded yet) and a couple of new classes to have fun with too. WiFi hotspots will do for leveling and five man dungeons and I may find a good one for raiding/PvP laters.
__________________
LiveJournal | Twitter

  Reply With Quote
01-23-15, 07:13 AM   #9
Talyrius
An Onyxian Warder
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 354


500 megabytes per day?!? How are you supposed to do anything on that connection? I don't even have that great of a connection (100 Mbps) and I would hit the limit after just 40 seconds of downloading...

You can probably get around the data cap by changing your MAC address whenever you hit the limit.

Last edited by Talyrius : 01-23-15 at 07:41 AM.
  Reply With Quote
01-24-15, 04:00 AM   #10
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,440
Originally Posted by Talyrius View Post


500 megabytes per day?!? How are you supposed to do anything on that connection? I don't even have that great of a connection (100 Mbps) and I would hit the limit after just 40 seconds of downloading...

You can probably get around the data cap by changing your MAC address whenever you hit the limit.
Not sure about changing the MAC address as the city network uses a web-based sign-in that is tied to your cell phone number. IF you are streaming video, music, or hitting Bit-Torrent quite hard you will hit the limit quickly. But for normal browsing and even game playing (unless your game is downloading more content in the background) it works well. If I am going to watch video, I will usually just download it and watch off-line and I don't bother streaming video as my old machine does not have much RAM (Firefox or Chrome eats what little RAM the machine has as an appetizer). My new machine does not have that problem but why bother streaming when I have a tasty music library on my hard drive?
__________________
LiveJournal | Twitter

  Reply With Quote
01-24-15, 04:13 AM   #11
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,580
Originally Posted by Zyonin View Post
IF you are streaming video, music, or hitting Bit-Torrent quite hard you will hit the limit quickly.
Originally Posted by Zyonin View Post
hitting Bit-Torrent quite hard
Originally Posted by Zyonin View Post
quite hard
500 MB isn't even half an episode of TV at good quality.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
01-24-15, 04:52 AM   #12
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,440
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
500 MB isn't even half an episode of TV at good quality.
Good thing that I am not much of a TV watcher then

I have always been a media (and advertising) executive's nightmare/source of indigestion.
__________________
LiveJournal | Twitter

  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » General Discussion » Chit-Chat » Hmm...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off