Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-19-07, 04:06 AM   #1
Xanithon
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Xanithon's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 203
Simple Macro

I was just wondering about the 3 minute mage's best friend:

/cast Presence of Mind
/stopcasting
/cast Pyroblast
Does this still work?

As a warlock, I made a macro:

/cast Amplify Curse
/stopcasting
/cast Curse of Agony
And it works.

Just wondering about the Mage one.
__________________



Last edited by Xanithon : 04-19-07 at 04:09 AM.
Xanithon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-19-07, 08:42 AM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,583
I believe so. PoM doesn't trigger the global cooldown.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 02:33 AM   #3
KevinAkomsoontor
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
KevinAkomsoontor's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Talking Mage Macro

I was thinking would this macro work???

/cast Pyroblast
/stopcasting
/cast Fireball
/stopcasting
/cast Fireblast


Would it?
KevinAkomsoontor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 02:48 AM   #4
Tweeker
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Tweeker's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 209
Originally Posted by KevinAkomsoontor
I was thinking would this macro work???

/cast Pyroblast
/stopcasting
/cast Fireball
/stopcasting
/cast Fireblast


Would it?
You would have to change it to
/castsequence pyroblast;fireball;fireblast

You dont need capitols or spaces.
__________________



Tweeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 03:06 AM   #5
ravagernl
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,145
Originally Posted by Tweeker
You would have to change it to
/castsequence pyroblast;fireball;fireblast

You dont need capitols or spaces.
That would actually be /castsequence pyroblast, fireball, fireblast

Using stopcasting does not work with the "global cooldown", the 1.5 second wait time between spells. Because Presence of Mind has its own cooldown, and does not trigger the global cooldown, you can use stopcasting to do another spell, be it one that has it's own cooldown or the global cooldown.
ravagernl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 03:07 AM   #6
KevinAkomsoontor
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
KevinAkomsoontor's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Well the
/castsequence pyroblast;fireball;fire blast
does not work. it casts the pyroblast but then stops right there and doesnt cast the fireball and the fire blast... HELP!!!
KevinAkomsoontor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 04:31 AM   #7
Tweeker
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Tweeker's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 209
Originally Posted by mrruben5
That would actually be /castsequence pyroblast, fireball, fireblast

Using stopcasting does not work with the "global cooldown", the 1.5 second wait time between spells. Because Presence of Mind has its own cooldown, and does not trigger the global cooldown, you can use stopcasting to do another spell, be it one that has it's own cooldown or the global cooldown.
more so like this:/castsequence pyroblast,fireball,fireblast
(no spaces needed)

And you have to hit it again for next spell, not just once.
__________________



Tweeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 09:23 AM   #8
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,583
Blizzard requires a button press for each spell. You can also put a reset timer on there (or have it reset when you hit another button or right click it). Otherwise, if your mob dies before you case fireblast, the next time you click the macro, it will cast fireblast. If you tell it to reset, then it will reset to pyroblast.

See the two stickies by Neuron and Cogwheel for more macro info.
http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/bo...Id=11114&sid=1
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 01:38 PM   #9
TheKillerCRO
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Fireball

How can i cast 3 fireballs in only one click ??? pls help
TheKillerCRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 01:40 PM   #10
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,583
You can't.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 01:45 PM   #11
TheKillerCRO
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
what about frost armor and arcane intellect in one click ? these are all instant cast spells
TheKillerCRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 01:48 PM   #12
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,583
Earlier in this thread it was said that you cannot cast two spells in one click if they trigger the global cooldown and/or have a cast time.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 02:00 PM   #13
TheKillerCRO
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
if i make macro like this:
/castsequence fireball, fireball, frostbolt, fireball
will it show me am i going to have enough mana to cast all these 4 spells ?
TheKillerCRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 02:58 PM   #14
TheKillerCRO
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
I did this macro:
/castsequence fireball, fireball, frostbolt, fire blast

but how can i reset this macro but i dont want this:
/castsequence reset=6 fireball, fireball, frostbolt, fire blast
beacuse then when i start casting fireball then i 6 sec starts to count !
i dont want this !
i want to start count when i cast last spell !!
pls help
TheKillerCRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-07, 03:11 PM   #15
Fugainai
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Fugainai's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 37
The 6 second cool down will only reset AFTER 6 seconds of not clicking on the macro key. Thus, after a 3 second cast of a spell, there are still 3 seconds left to hit the macro before the reset occurs.

At least, that's my understanding of the timer reset. New to writing macros.

If you don't want to have the macro reset until you're out of combat, use "/castsequence [reset=nocombat]...". This will reset the macro everytime you leave combat.
Fugainai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » General Discussion » Class Discussions » Simple Macro

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off