WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   AddOn Help/Support (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   How do you use townlong yak and similar resources? (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57328)

oddnecessity 08-01-19 02:35 AM

How do you use townlong yak and similar resources?
 
Hello, I've been lurking the addon development forums and I always see people mentioning these websites:

https://www.townlong-yak.com/globe/
and Github links to FrameXML like this one
https://github.com/Gethe/wow-ui-source/tree/classic

but I can't figure out how to use this stuff. Let's tackle this with an example:

I've been playing with frame:RegisterAllEvents() lately and I've noticed the event
PLAYER_STARTED_MOVING
How can I see if this event existed in the Classic Beta? What parameters go with it? Copy-pasting the event name into townlong-yak does not find anything. I've found websites like gamepedia and fandom to be outdated and unreliable.

give a man a fish and you feed him for a day; teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime

Ketho 08-01-19 04:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by oddnecessity (Post 333033)
I've been playing with frame:RegisterAllEvents() lately and I've noticed the event
PLAYER_STARTED_MOVING
How can I see if this event existed in the Classic Beta? What parameters go with it? Copy-pasting the event name into townlong-yak does not find anything.

PLAYER_STARTED_MOVING is an event without a payload https://www.townlong-yak.com/framexm...STARTED_MOVING

It exists on classic beta, see

Kanegasi 08-01-19 07:42 PM

Townlong-Yak is great for sharing lines of code from nearly every build of WoW, but not great for raw searches of code.

The classic client is now able to be installed again, if you didn't before, in preparation for next week's test. However you won't be able to start the client from bnet since the play button is currently disabled. You can, however, start the client itself, which is all you need to extract the interface files.
  1. Make sure the bnet client is not running
  2. In the install folder for classic, right click on Wow.exe and create a shortcut
  3. Right click this shortcut and select "Properties"
  4. In the "Target" box, you'll see the full path of Wow.exe in quotes, after those quotes add -console, like these examples:
    • "P:\World of Warcraft\_classic_\Wow.exe" -console
    • "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\_classic_\Wow.exe" -console
    • "C:\Users\Foobar\AppData\Roaming\Games\World of Warcraft\_classic_\Wow.exe" -console
  5. Click OK, then double click the shortcut
  6. When the login screen loads in, do not login, just press the Grave/Tilde key (`~), usually top left of your keyboard
  7. In the console box that drops down from the top, type or paste: ExportInterfaceFiles code
  8. Hit enter, the client will freeze for a few seconds, once it runs again, exit the client

In the classic install folder, there is now a new folder named "BlizzardInterfaceCode" which contains all the Lua and XML files that run the UI. Using any program that can search inside files, including Windows itself if you have indexing enabled, you can search the entire UI for anything you want in order to figure out what Blizzard does with it. I personally use, and highly suggest, installing Notepad++ for this and any other code-related tasks.

If you're curious, this feature has been part of every WoW build since patch 4.0.6 (February 2011). Prior to that patch, Blizzard manually offered a downloadable toolkit, which is still available here, but hasn't been updated since October 2010. Also, using "art" instead of "code" in that console command will give you all the UI textures and art assets, such as loading screens. The client will freeze for a much longer time while this happens, long enough to log you out if you used this command while at the character selection screen.

Dridzt 08-02-19 09:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kanegasi (Post 333041)
  1. In the console box that drops down from the top, type or paste: ExportInterfaceFiles code

When did this stop extracting GlobalStrings.lua, is that known?

Edit: Bit of searching later, looks like Legion.
Do you need to use something like CASCExplorer to get those now?

Ketho 08-02-19 10:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dridzt (Post 333047)
Do you need to use something like CASCExplorer to get those now?


They are in the DBCs now, that's where foxlit generates them from I think

https://wow.tools/dbc/?dbc=globalstrings
https://www.townlong-yak.com/framexm...balStrings.lua


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:02 AM.

vBulletin © 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2022 MMOUI