WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   UI Screenshots, Feedback and Design Discussion (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=144)
-   -   SyncUI - Feedback (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49544)

syncrow 07-29-14 12:45 AM

SyncUI
 
Screenshots:
Gallery

some video stuff:
http://youtu.be/pnFzPOQUFvQ
http://youtu.be/1rAC_7oLB7Y
http://youtu.be/FQzRCuItHWI
http://youtu.be/QFT12nRoPhU

semlar 07-29-14 01:00 AM

Neat.

I would replace the elite border from the nameplate though, it kind of clashes with the style.

syncrow 07-29-14 01:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by semlar (Post 294490)
Neat.

I would replace the elite border from the nameplate though, it kind of clashes with the style.

Thanks for feed! :rolleyes:

The elite border is tentative and will be replaced later.

Phanx 07-29-14 01:57 AM

The default game font doesn't really fit the style. Have you tried using the font from Recount everywhere?

The buttons on your action bars should have the same border as the rest of the icons.

Tooltip could use a more opaque background, and more padding so the text isn't right up against the border like that.

semlar 07-29-14 02:06 AM

You might also steal the infinity gears font from infinity plates, as it matches the angular space theme.

ravagernl 07-29-14 02:15 AM

I'm using this little snippet in my UI that you may find useful:

Code:

local nfns, font, size = NumberFontNormalSmall
font, size = NumberFontNormalSmall:GetFont()
nfns:SetFont(font, size, 'OUTLINE')
nfns:SetShadowColor(0, 0, 0, 0)

local gsub = string.gsub

hooksecurefunc('ActionButton_UpdateHotkeys', function(self)
    local hotkey = _G[self:GetName()..'HotKey']
    local text = hotkey:GetText()

    text = gsub(text, '(s%-)', '|cFFFFDF00s|r')
    text = gsub(text, '(a%-)', '|cFFFFDF00a|r')
    text = gsub(text, '(c%-)', '|cFFFFDF00c|r')
    text = gsub(text, '(st%-)', '|cFFFFDF00c|r') -- german control 'Steuerung'

    for i = 1, 30 do
        text = gsub(text, _G['KEY_BUTTON'..i], '|cFFFFDF00m|r'..i)
    end

    for i = 1, 9 do
        text = gsub(text, _G['KEY_NUMPAD'..i], '|cFFFFDF00n|r'..i)
    end

    text = gsub(text, KEY_NUMPADDECIMAL, '|cFFFFDF00n|r.')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_NUMPADDIVIDE, '|cFFFFDF00n|r/')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_NUMPADMINUS, '|cFFFFDF00n|r-')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_NUMPADMULTIPLY, '|cFFFFDF00n|r*')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_NUMPADPLUS, '|cFFFFDF00n|r+')

    text = gsub(text, KEY_MOUSEWHEELUP, '|cFFFFDF00m|rU')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_MOUSEWHEELDOWN, '|cFFFFDF00m|rD')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_NUMLOCK, 'NL')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_PAGEUP, 'PU')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_PAGEDOWN, 'PD')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_SPACE, '_')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_INSERT, 'Ins')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_HOME, 'Hm')
    text = gsub(text, KEY_DELETE, 'Del')

    hotkey:SetText(text)
end)


syncrow 07-29-14 02:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phanx (Post 294499)
The default game font doesn't really fit the style. Have you tried using the font from Recount everywhere?

The buttons on your action bars should have the same border as the rest of the icons.

Tooltip could use a more opaque background, and more padding so the text isn't right up against the border like that.

I havnt had any thoughts about the font style until now, but you might be right. that doesn't seems to fit with the whole style.

The border texture (action button) is the same but not blurred. I gonna fix that x)

The tooltip is tentative. I wanna rewrite the whole GameTooltip but had'nt enough time so far.


Quote:

Originally Posted by ravagernl (Post 294503)
I'm using this little snippet in my UI that you may find useful

Thanks, i've tested your code!

I have to decide the font style first and then (maybe) tune the way hotkeys are displayed

ravagernl 07-29-14 04:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by syncrow (Post 294505)
I havnt had any thoughts about the font style until now, but you might be right. that doesn't seems to fit with the whole style.

Doesn't seem to be too complicated :)

http://www.dafont.com/theme.php?cat=...]=10&l[]=1
http://www.dafont.com/theme.php?cat=...]=10&l[]=1

I kind of like fonts that are sans-serif, but with just a tad of sci-fi.

If I can make a suggestion: Zeroes seems awesome.

Seerah 07-29-14 07:09 PM

There are a few good fonts in SharedMedia, as well.

syncrow 08-02-14 07:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ravagernl (Post 294511)
Doesn't seem to be too complicated :)
If I can make a suggestion: Zeroes seems awesome.

I've tested around 50 diffrent fonts, and Zeroes seems to be the best by far. The numbers are pretty nice x).

10leej 08-02-14 03:28 PM

Looks pretty cool 9/10

Talyrius 08-03-14 03:33 AM

There is no reason to display an experience bar at max level. You could center and widen the reputation bar upon hitting max level. You'll also have to replace the background texture that currently separates the two bars.

syncrow 08-03-14 07:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Talyrius (Post 294657)
There is no reason to display an experience bar at max level. You could center and widen the reputation bar upon hitting max level. You'll also have to replace the background texture that currently separates the two bars.

For WoD, I plan to use the exp-bar otherwise at maxlvl.

Talyrius 08-03-14 09:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by syncrow (Post 294661)
For WoD, I plan to use the exp-bar otherwise at maxlvl.

Lua Code:
  1. --[[
  2. For finding the maximum attainable player level:
  3.     0: WoW Classic. Level 60
  4.     1: The Burning Cruade. Level 70
  5.     2: Wrath of the Lich King. Level 80
  6.     3: Cataclysm. Level 85
  7.     4: Mists of Pandaria. Level 90
  8.     5: Warlords of Draenor. Level 100
  9. --]]
  10. local maxPlayerLevel = MAX_PLAYER_LEVEL_TABLE[GetExpansionLevel()]
  11.  
  12. -- Check if player is already max level
  13. local displayXP = true
  14. if UnitLevel("player") == maxPlayerLevel then
  15.     displayXP = false
  16. end
  17.  
  18. -- Disable XP bar upon hitting max level
  19. local frame = CreateFrame("Frame")
  20. frame:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_LEVEL_UP")
  21. frame:SetScript("OnEvent", function(self, event, level)
  22.     if level == maxPlayerLevel then
  23.         displayXP = false
  24.     end
  25. end)

If I've misunderstood, please clarify.

syncrow 08-03-14 02:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Talyrius (Post 294665)
If I've misunderstood, please clarify.

thx, i know the code!

I meant, instead of hiding the exp bar, i want to use it in other way -> to display another kind of information at max-lvl instead of experience. therefore it isn't really necessary to hide the bar. It would only be a temporary cosmetic fix till WoD is released.

I plan to use it for garrison progress or something like that.

syncrow 08-04-14 08:01 AM

I want to implement animated healthbars!

What i got so far:

you can update frame textures with:

- AnimateTexCoords

- rotating between texture files

i've tested it for xml StatusBars:

- AnimateTexCoords doesn't work, cause every few seconds the frame reset the TexCoords (works fine with "Frame" types but not with "StatusBars")

- rotating does work, however it starts flashing... (pretty ugly)

semlar 08-04-14 08:21 AM

You can try something like this, drycoded so I'm not sure about the texture coordinates
Lua Code:
  1. local fill = bar:GetStatusBarTexture()
  2. local animatedTexture = bar:CreateTexture(nil, 'ARTWORK', nil, 2)
  3. animatedTexture:SetAllPoints(fill)
  4. animatedTexture:SetTexture('texturepath')
  5.  
  6. local timeSince, textureOffset = 0, 0
  7. bar:SetScript('OnUpdate', function(self, elapsed)
  8.   timeSince = timeSince + elapsed
  9.   if timeSince >= 0.03 then -- speed at which it updates
  10.     local value = self:GetValue()
  11.     local minValue, maxValue = self:GetMinMaxValues()
  12.     local diff = maxValue - minValue
  13.     if diff > 0 then -- cut off horizontally to match the bar fill value, and rotate vertically however you want
  14.       animatedTexture:SetTexCoord(0, (value - minValue) / diff, textureOffset, textureOffset + 1)
  15.     end
  16.     textureOffset = textureOffset + 0.02 -- how far to animate the texture each update
  17.     if textureOffset > 1 then textureOffset = textureOffset - 1 end
  18.     timeSince = 0
  19.   end
  20. end)

syncrow 08-04-14 09:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by semlar (Post 294694)
You can try something like this, drycoded so I'm not sure about the texture coordinates

if i understand it right, you want me to create a fake statusbar (texture type) and rotate it (cause frames or textures itself doesn't flash like StatusBar) and calculate the texCoords with the statusbar value

I had this idea too, just thought there would be a more elegant method.

Edit: I must change the size of the texture each time I set coords, since the texture would be cropping too much otherwise?!

Or i can simply use a scrollframe for this..maybe

semlar 08-04-14 10:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by syncrow (Post 294698)
if i understand it right, you want me to create a fake statusbar (texture type) and rotate it (cause frames or textures itself doesn't flash like StatusBar) and calculate the texCoords with the statusbar value

I just created a texture on top of the existing status bar texture for you to animate, which is not even close to the overhead of creating a second status bar.

The texture is automatically sized to match the status bar fill because you call :SetAllPoints() on it, you don't need to do anything else with that.

There's no reason to create a scrollframe for this because you're already using SetTexCoord to animate the texture and it's trivial to add the horizontal offset to that to avoid skewing the texture as it shrinks.

AlleyKat 08-04-14 10:20 AM

use ScrollFrame frame type to create "view ports"
like here:


Bmw309894 08-04-14 01:22 PM

Looking good so far
 
So far as I can tell, you have a nice piece of work going here. I'm sure you get asked a lot about an ETA (my guess is when WoD comes out) but if you need help testing I am available. I feel like I change my UI far too often but with that comes the knowledge to know what I need to see in order for it to be a keeper. let me know. Thanks. :)

morpheusxeno 08-11-14 09:50 AM

Could you upload the texture from your UI, I would love to have them.

Lockley 08-15-14 08:52 PM

Awesome ui!
 
Would love to use this as well, very nice! Release date?

syncrow 08-16-14 07:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lockley (Post 295386)
Would love to use this as well, very nice! Release date?

dunno! Maybe prepatch 6.0 or WoD release...can't say it yet

morpheusxeno 08-16-14 07:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by syncrow (Post 295409)
dunno! Maybe prepatch 6.0 or WoD release...can't say it yet

Damn you Blizzard...

I mean Syncrow!

syncrow 08-16-14 09:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by morpheusxeno (Post 295410)
Damn you Blizzard...

I mean Syncrow!

sry, but there's a lot of work to do before final release..i have no kind of customization/options yet..

morpheusxeno 08-16-14 07:08 PM

I just want the textures!

syncrow 08-16-14 08:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by morpheusxeno (Post 295464)
I just want the textures!

for what purpose?

Llyndis 08-17-14 02:03 AM

Raid Setup
 
Is there going to be a setup for raid healing on this ui? It looks great. Would be nice if you could incorporate on the raid frames debuffs and things that need to be dispelled and other things such as hots. Just some ideas but cant wait for this to come out.

morpheusxeno 08-17-14 08:34 AM

The bottom texture you have is amazing, I would like it to use it. :)

syncrow 08-17-14 05:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Llyndis (Post 295509)
Is there going to be a setup for raid healing on this ui? It looks great. Would be nice if you could incorporate on the raid frames debuffs and things that need to be dispelled and other things such as hots. Just some ideas but cant wait for this to come out.

the plan is to use completly new raidframes for the heal layout. (not yet finished)

syncrow 08-21-14 12:24 AM

/update

to the start

semlar 09-11-14 04:17 PM

I would limit it to pending and declined ready checks if you're going that route, or at least sort it so those are first.

If I start a ready check, I'm generally only interested in who isn't ready or isn't there.

Maybe show tally counts of each somewhere, and time remaining.

syncrow 09-11-14 05:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by semlar (Post 296549)
I would limit it to pending and declined ready checks

I thought the same way, but there's a bug with the table.remove i have to fix first. So it's a temporary version that works while raiding for now (garrosh hc progress, not much time for fixing it these days^^)

Edit: It's working now. It only display players that are:

- offline
- havn't yet accepted or declined (waiting status)
- declined

the readycheck.

Duration timer was added as well.

Tonyleila 09-12-14 04:59 PM

Not my style but looks decent.
I woud prefere having the bossframes closer as dps and the raidframes more compact as heal. Don't like the nameplates, but woud use one with dot timers anyway. The castbar is missing a lag/tick timer also dot timers are very important as shadow priest don't see any on your spell icons

In your video the Bosstimers are missing the font and stlye of the UI and the Questdisplay is missing (maybe http://www.wowinterface.com/download...hFrameAdv.html) - guess you know that already :)

meljen 09-12-14 05:07 PM

I really love the look of it so far, super unique and very slick!

I agree with the fonts all needing to match. Nothing bugs me more than fonts that don't match a UI.

Also, is there going to be limits on screen resolutions? And are ALL UI frames going to be skinned, or is it just the main up-front UI elements?

Keep up the good work. :-)

syncrow 09-13-14 08:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tonyleila (Post 296593)
Not my style but looks decent.
I woud prefere having the bossframes closer as dps and the raidframes more compact as heal. Don't like the nameplates, but woud use one with dot timers anyway. The castbar is missing a lag/tick timer also dot timers are very important as shadow priest don't see any on your spell icons

In your video the Bosstimers are missing the font and stlye of the UI and the Questdisplay is missing (maybe http://www.wowinterface.com/download...hFrameAdv.html) - guess you know that already :)

- Raidframes will be replaced with a complete new styled frame for healers (dps + tank / heal mods)
- the nameplates fit with the style, but actually thats all they do
- castbar lag/tick timer weren't yet in mind (good objection)
- i have no special dottimers, you can use omniCC or wait until WoD (why do work for nothing)

Quote:

Originally Posted by meljen (Post 296595)
I really love the look of it so far, super unique and very slick!
Also, is there going to be limits on screen resolutions? And are ALL UI frames going to be skinned, or is it just the main up-front UI elements?

Keep up the good work. :-)

- the intension is to re-skin all blizzard frames (lot work to do, cause i have to draft them first)
- It works actually only for 1920x1080


Edit: QuestHub & BigWigs are re-skinned!

Phanx 09-15-14 01:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by syncrow (Post 296613)
- i have no special dottimers, you can use omniCC or wait until WoD (why do work for nothing)

OmniCC and the new feature coming on WoD only work for cooldowns. They don't show you debuff timers on your action buttons (eg. Shadow Word: Pain action button shows the time remaining on the active SW:P debuff on your current target), which is what I think Tonyleila was asking about. But, you can probably just keep using Inline Aura or something similar, assuming the UI is using a compatible actionbar addon.

syncrow 09-15-14 06:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phanx (Post 296681)
OmniCC and the new feature coming on WoD only work for cooldowns. They don't show you debuff timers on your action buttons (eg. Shadow Word: Pain action button shows the time remaining on the active SW:P debuff on your current target), which is what I think Tonyleila was asking about. But, you can probably just keep using Inline Aura or something similar, assuming the UI is using a compatible actionbar addon.

Oh ok, then i failed to interpret his message, sry x).
The ActionBar uses the default blizz actionbars (only reskinned and reanchored) therefore inline auras should work!

Phanx 09-26-14 08:34 PM

Why only show 3 items at a time in the loot frame? It's a very temporary popup, so no reason to worry about it taking up too much space.

syncrow 09-27-14 04:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phanx (Post 297236)
Why only show 3 items at a time in the loot frame? It's a very temporary popup, so no reason to worry about it taking up too much space.

Its only reskinned, the LootFrame offers only the 4 buttons. And there's is no reason (for a temporary popup) to rewrite it's functions if i only want to skin it, right?

Most people probably use the auto loot function, therefore the lootframe is not important enough to give it more than necessary observance. (I'm pretty lazy these days)

Jansus 10-02-14 10:06 PM

Love the look of this, looking forward to it being released, nice work!

Tonyleila 10-03-14 01:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by syncrow (Post 297243)
Its only reskinned, the LootFrame offers only the 4 buttons. And there's is no reason (for a temporary popup) to rewrite it's functions if i only want to skin it, right?

Most people probably use the auto loot function, therefore the lootframe is not important enough to give it more than necessary observance. (I'm pretty lazy these days)

reskinn xloot instead else you'll need to reskin the Roll Frame and Bonusroll is missing too :)

syncrow 10-03-14 04:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tonyleila (Post 297388)
reskinn xloot instead else you'll need to reskin the Roll Frame and Bonusroll is missing too :)



I want to make it stand alone ;) therefore i'll skin it seperately.
(step by step)

morpheusxeno 10-15-14 01:08 PM

Will this interface have support for its users running 9600x1080 ? I run 5 screens. Only UI I have seen that supports the movment of elements is Elvui ( that works really nice )

Will there be options to turn off your theme on some elements?

Can we move the UI elements around as we see fit?

How much Memory will it use?

MalachiDraven 10-15-14 01:16 PM

Wow that looks incredible. Did you modify the artwork from Wildstar's default UI? Do you have a Raid UI yet?

syncrow 10-16-14 07:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by morpheusxeno (Post 297882)
Will this interface have support for its users running 9600x1080 ? I run 5 screens. Only UI I have seen that supports the movment of elements is Elvui ( that works really nice )

Will there be options to turn off your theme on some elements?

Can we move the UI elements around as we see fit?

How much Memory will it use?

- Currently there is no option for changing the layout its fix @ 1920x1080
- I have to look if it will insult the artwork
- 400 kb outfight, 600-800 kb in combat after 8 mins ~ (There is a ingame memory gain, 'cause of mass update for buffs and debuffs.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MalachiDraven (Post 297885)
Wow that looks incredible. Did you modify the artwork from Wildstar's default UI? Do you have a Raid UI yet?

ty :cool:

Only the bottem bar is from wildstar. all other elements ie.: unitframes are selfdrawn.

There is a minimalistic raid ui for dd's and tanks. a new layout for healers is under constructions!

morpheusxeno 10-20-14 06:15 PM

Could you post the link to this wildstar UI ?

Irelia 10-20-14 11:11 PM

-jawdrop-
 
This UI ...
Lemme just say ...
DO WANT.

It's very clean looking. Can't wait to see how you make the healer frames. (: You'll get my download for sure once it's all finished and stuff.

Irelia 10-21-14 10:18 AM

raid frames
 
Any luck with the raid frames yet? I'm really looking forward to seeing them! C:

Rozzick109 11-12-14 07:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by syncrow (Post 295409)
dunno! Maybe prepatch 6.0 or WoD release...can't say it yet

:D:D:D wheeeen is it coming out since its wod tomorrow/today!! :P :)

syncrow 11-15-14 12:45 PM

The UI is freakin' bugged right now!

Telaq 11-26-14 11:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by syncrow (Post 300474)
The UI is freakin' bugged right now!

^ ah, to bad. hope it can be fixed,, I'd really like to have a shot at this ;)

Snowy42 11-28-14 02:53 AM

updates?
 
Hey Syncrow. Been a while with no updates. We can all understand that you're probably all tied up with playing the new xpac, but we're all so keen on this interface!

syncrow 11-28-14 06:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snowy42 (Post 301218)
Hey Syncrow. Been a while with no updates. We can all understand that you're probably all tied up with playing the new xpac, but we're all so keen on this interface!

Take a look at this Gallery for now.

Aftermathhqt 11-30-14 08:20 AM

Did you make the buff frame addon you're self or? :)

syncrow 11-30-14 08:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Game92 (Post 301395)
Did you make the buff frame addon you're self or? :)

the whole UI is written by myself!

Aftermathhqt 11-30-14 08:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by syncrow (Post 301396)
the whole UI is written by myself!

Oh okay! Maybe you would be able to share how you did for the spiral countdown on the buffs? :3

syncrow 11-30-14 09:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Game92 (Post 301397)
Oh okay! Maybe you would be able to share how you did for the spiral countdown on the buffs? :3

exactly the same way blizzard does

Aftermathhqt 11-30-14 09:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by syncrow (Post 301398)
exactly the same way blizzard does

How is that? :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 AM.

vBulletin © 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2022 MMOUI