WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   Minion (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=124)
-   -   Cant run on OS X (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49467)

ravagernl 07-14-14 05:50 PM

Cant run on OS X
 
I can't seem to run Minion on OS X. It bounces on the dock and then just shuts down. After reviewing the console, I found this:
Code:

15-07-14 01:46:05,850 Minion[948]: [JRSAppKitAWT markAppIsDaemon]: Process manager already initialized: can't fully enable headless mode.
15-07-14 01:46:07,061 com.apple.launchd.peruser.501[304]: (com.zam.minion.minion.110560[948]) Exited with code: 1

I'm running 10.9.4.

EDIT: checking to see if it works after installing java 7: nope.
EDIT2: checking to see if it works with java 6(apple dist): nope.
EDIT3: checking with java 8: nope.

What version of java is minion running at?

Dolby 07-14-14 06:34 PM

Thanks for the console log. The first line is normal, the 2nd line is strange? Is minion writing anything to ~/.minion/minion0.log? Try deleting from the app folder and re-installing?

Minion runs inside a JVM (does not require java installed on your machine, thats why the download is kinda large) it runs on a version of Java7.

Did you get the prompt about Minion was download from an unidentified developer? If you open your application folder, right click on Minion and choose "Open" do you get a prompt allow Minion to run even though its from an unidentified developer?


I'm running 10.9.4 my self on both my desktop and laptop and my laptop is stock 10.9.4 with out any developer tools installed.

Dolby 07-14-14 06:42 PM

Have you tried making sure Minion isnt running and launching again? Talking with our java programmer he said one of the errors was due to Minion restarting too fast after an Update? Was Minion working and then you ran the update and now its not?

Dolby 07-14-14 06:42 PM

If its still not working can you run this via Terminal?

java -jar /Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java/Minion-jfx.jar

Does Minion load? If not what is the output from the Terminal?

ravagernl 07-14-14 07:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dolby (Post 293862)
If its still not working can you run this via Terminal?

java -jar /Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java/Minion-jfx.jar

Does Minion load? If not what is the output from the Terminal?

Funny, I was just about to try that :) JavaFX Launcher is rambling about having an outdated java version, even tho I now have version 7.

EDIT: installed JDK 7u60

Code:

objc[6288]: Class JavaLaunchHelper is implemented in both /Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/jdk1.7.0_60.jdk/Contents/Home/bin/java and /Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/jdk1.7.0_60.jdk/Contents/Home/jre/lib/jli/./libjli.dylib. One of the two will be used. Which one is undefined.
Exception in Preloader start method
java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:57)
        at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
        at java.lang.reflec*****thod.invoke(Method.java:606)
        at com.javafx.main.Main.launchApp(Main.java:698)
        at com.javafx.main.Main.main(Main.java:871)
Caused by: java.lang.RuntimeException: Exception in Preloader start method
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.launchApplication1(LauncherImpl.java:385)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.access$000(LauncherImpl.java:47)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl$1.run(LauncherImpl.java:115)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)
Caused by: java.lang.RuntimeException: Unexpected IOException while starting JUnique/Server for id "com.zam.minion.MinionPreloader"
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.Server.start(Unknown Source)
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.JUnique.acquireLock(Unknown Source)
        at com.zam.minion.MinionPreloader.start(MinionPreloader.java:38)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl$4.run(LauncherImpl.java:243)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl$5.run(PlatformImpl.java:219)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl$4$1.run(PlatformImpl.java:182)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl$4$1.run(PlatformImpl.java:179)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl$4.run(PlatformImpl.java:179)
        at com.sun.glass.ui.InvokeLaterDispatcher$Future.run(InvokeLaterDispatcher.java:76)
Caused by: java.net.BindException: Can't assign requested address
        at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketBind(Native Method)
        at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.bind(AbstractPlainSocketImpl.java:376)
        at java.net.ServerSocket.bind(ServerSocket.java:376)
        at java.net.ServerSocket.bind(ServerSocket.java:330)
        ... 10 more
2014-07-15 03:05:56.279 java[6288:260b] [JRSAppKitAWT markAppIsDaemon]: Process manager already initialized: can't fully enable headless mode.
java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:57)
        at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
        at java.lang.reflec*****thod.invoke(Method.java:606)
        at com.javafx.main.Main$2.run(Main.java:948)
        at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:302)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:733)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.access$200(EventQueue.java:103)
        at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:694)
        at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:692)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:76)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:703)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:242)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:161)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:150)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:146)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:138)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:91)
Caused by: java.awt.HeadlessException
        at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.checkHeadless(GraphicsEnvironment.java:207)
        at java.awt.Window.<init>(Window.java:535)
        at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:420)
        at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:385)
        at javax.swing.SwingUtilities$SharedOwnerFrame.<init>(SwingUtilities.java:1757)
        at javax.swing.SwingUtilities.getSharedOwnerFrame(SwingUtilities.java:1832)
        at javax.swing.JOptionPane.getRootFrame(JOptionPane.java:1697)
        at javax.swing.JOptionPane.showOptionDialog(JOptionPane.java:863)
        at javax.swing.JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(JOptionPane.java:667)
        at javax.swing.JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(JOptionPane.java:638)
        ... 19 more
Exception in thread "Thread-6" java.lang.NullPointerException
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.Server.stop(Unknown Source)
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.JUnique.releaseLock(Unknown Source)
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.JUnique.access$300(Unknown Source)
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.JUnique$ShutdownHook.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)


Dolby 07-14-14 07:51 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Talking with our java programmer, he was wondering if there was some network or other setting overrides in java on your system for that account? Could you login to a new account on your OSX machine and try to launch Minion? If it works do you have any .java .jmeter, etc folders with settings in your home directory on your main account?

What do your network settings look like under the system preferences? (see picture) Although different settings here shouldn't cause Minion to crash.

ravagernl 07-14-14 07:56 PM

I just tried rolling back to 1.7.0_21, no go. The funky bug from update 45 doesn't exist here tho.
Code:

  % /usr/libexec/java_home -v 1.7.0_21 --exec java -jar /Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java/Minion-jfx.jar                                                                              !2260
Exception in Preloader start method
java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:57)
        at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
        at java.lang.reflec*****thod.invoke(Method.java:601)
        at com.javafx.main.Main.launchApp(Main.java:698)
        at com.javafx.main.Main.main(Main.java:871)
Caused by: java.lang.RuntimeException: Exception in Preloader start method
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.launchApplication1(LauncherImpl.java:385)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.access$000(LauncherImpl.java:47)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl$1.run(LauncherImpl.java:115)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:722)
Caused by: java.lang.RuntimeException: Unexpected IOException while starting JUnique/Server for id "com.zam.minion.MinionPreloader"
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.Server.start(Unknown Source)
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.JUnique.acquireLock(Unknown Source)
        at com.zam.minion.MinionPreloader.start(MinionPreloader.java:38)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl$4.run(LauncherImpl.java:243)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl$5.run(PlatformImpl.java:215)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl$4$1.run(PlatformImpl.java:179)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl$4$1.run(PlatformImpl.java:176)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl$4.run(PlatformImpl.java:176)
        at com.sun.glass.ui.InvokeLaterDispatcher$Future.run(InvokeLaterDispatcher.java:76)
Caused by: java.net.BindException: Can't assign requested address
        at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketBind(Native Method)
        at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.bind(AbstractPlainSocketImpl.java:376)
        at java.net.ServerSocket.bind(ServerSocket.java:376)
        at java.net.ServerSocket.bind(ServerSocket.java:330)
        ... 10 more
2014-07-15 03:53:54.222 java[9218:260b] [JRSAppKitAWT markAppIsDaemon]: Process manager already initialized: can't fully enable headless mode.
java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:57)
        at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
        at java.lang.reflec*****thod.invoke(Method.java:601)
        at com.javafx.main.Main$2.run(Main.java:948)
        at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:241)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:727)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.access$200(EventQueue.java:103)
        at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:688)
        at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:686)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:76)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:697)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:242)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:161)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:150)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:146)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:138)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:91)
Caused by: java.awt.HeadlessException
        at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.checkHeadless(GraphicsEnvironment.java:207)
        at java.awt.Window.<init>(Window.java:535)
        at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:420)
        at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:385)
        at javax.swing.SwingUtilities$SharedOwnerFrame.<init>(SwingUtilities.java:1759)
        at javax.swing.SwingUtilities.getSharedOwnerFrame(SwingUtilities.java:1834)
        at javax.swing.JOptionPane.getRootFrame(JOptionPane.java:1697)
        at javax.swing.JOptionPane.showOptionDialog(JOptionPane.java:863)
        at javax.swing.JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(JOptionPane.java:667)
        at javax.swing.JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(JOptionPane.java:638)
        ... 19 more
Exception in thread "Thread-6" java.lang.NullPointerException
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.Server.stop(Unknown Source)
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.JUnique.releaseLock(Unknown Source)
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.JUnique.access$300(Unknown Source)
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.JUnique$ShutdownHook.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:722)

Seems to me like jUnique is being the culprit, it tries to connect to localhost at port 0 and catches an IOException... The funny thing is that I can see the lock files under ~/.junique:
Code:

Caused by: java.lang.RuntimeException: Unexpected IOException while starting JUnique/Server for id "com.zam.minion.MinionPreloader"
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.Server.start(Unknown Source)
        at it.sauronsoftware.junique.JUnique.acquireLock(Unknown Source)
        at com.zam.minion.MinionPreloader.start(MinionPreloader.java:38)

Some ports:
Code:

% netstat -a -n -f inet |grep 127.0.0.1
tcp4      0      0  127.0.0.1.52637        *.*                    LISTEN   
tcp4      0      0  127.0.0.1.631          *.*                    LISTEN   
udp4      0      0  127.0.0.1.4500        *.*                             
udp4      0      0  127.0.0.1.500          *.*                             
udp4      0      0  127.0.0.1.123          *.*


ravagernl 07-14-14 07:59 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dolby (Post 293864)
Talking with our java programmer, he was wondering if there was some network or other setting overrides in java on your system for that account? Could you login to a new account on your OSX machine and try to launch Minion? If it works do you have any .java .jmeter, etc folders with settings in your home directory on your main account?

Will try that now :)

EDIT: Nope, just created a dummy account and gives the same backtrace :)

Quote:

What do your network settings look like under the system preferences? (see picture) Although different settings here shouldn't cause Minion to crash.
Network settings are the same, I'm not behind a proxy or config script :)

Dolby 07-15-14 02:01 PM

Thanks for the additional netstat information.

Talking with our java programmer he pointed out it is "Caused by: java.net.BindException: Can't assign requested address". He is wondering if you are able to ping localhost?

The call to the OS socket.bind is failing, the error indicates that it can't open the socket locally

ravagernl 07-16-14 12:24 AM

Yup, I can ping localhost, getting back responses from 127.0.0.1 (as expected)

ravagernl 07-21-14 11:30 AM

Any solution on what I can do? I also tried to connect to port 0 on localhost via PHP(as jUnique uses this as well), if that helps. I'm getting back that the hostname could not be parsed:
Code:

% php -r "var_dump(fsockopen('localhost', 0));"
Warning: fsockopen(): unable to connect to localhost:0 (Failed to parse address "localhost") in Command line code on line 1

Call Stack:
    0.0001    222840  1. {main}() Command line code:0
    0.0001    222984  2. fsockopen() Command line code:1

If the programmer is working on solving the issue then I hope this may help:) Fro what I can see it looks like a fine product and it would be a shame if it doesn't work due to a ridiculous bug like this.

Dolby 07-21-14 12:31 PM

Thanks ravagernl,

That is certainly interesting. It prompts me to ask what is in your /etc/hosts file? Can you post it here or if you have some private info PM it to me or x.x.x.x it out?

Also in your home directory could you do a ls -la so it lists all the .hidden folders? So we can see if there is some override set for your network or java?

ravagernl 07-21-14 01:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dolby (Post 294156)
It prompts me to ask what is in your /etc/hosts file?

Code:

% cat /etc/hosts
##
# Host Database
#
# localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
# when the system is booting.  Do not change this entry.
##
127.0.0.1        localhost
255.255.255.255        broadcasthost
::1            localhost
fe80::1%lo0        localhost

Quote:

Also in your home directory could you do a ls -la so it lists all the .hidden folders?
Code:

% ls -la | grep .*
grep: .MacOSX: Is a directory
grep: .Trash: Is a directory
grep: .composer: Is a directory
grep: .config: Is a directory
grep: .dbeaver: Is a directory
grep: .eclipse: Is a directory
grep: .idea: Is a directory
grep: .junique: Is a directory
grep: .oh-my-zsh: Is a directory
grep: .rvm: Is a directory
grep: .ssh: Is a directory
grep: .subversion: Is a directory


Dolby 07-30-14 09:19 PM

Hi ravagernl,

We have released an update to Minion that should address this issue. Please uninstall Minion and download 2.0.11-beta from http://minion.mmoui.com

I was finally able to reproduce the issue and find the offending change.

Nimhfree 07-31-14 01:59 AM

Dolby, can you tell us what the problem was?

Dolby 07-31-14 10:17 AM

I'm not 100% sure as to the root cause but it was a bug in the version of JUnique we were using. Simply updating the JUnique version fixed the issue.

I was able to reproduce it because I stumbled upon an old OSX machine that was using my routers DNS (no name servers specified) and I had an entry for our old data center under "Search Domains: service.softlayer.com". It took me a little bit to find that the combination of using your router DNS and an entry for "Search Domain" was the issue. If you were using lets say google DNS and still had a Search Domain specified it would work fine.

There may be many other situations that could cause this issue as well.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:56 PM.

vBulletin © 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2022 MMOUI