WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   Lua/XML Help (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Should I be concerned about a short freeze? (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37028)

Sojik 11-25-10 05:22 AM

Should I be concerned about a short freeze?
 
I'm working on an addon that swaps keybind loadouts when I swap dual specs. It works alright but it does all it's magic on one event (namely ACTIVE_TALENT_GROUP_CHANGED). It has to go through every key on a keyboard and all the modifiers for each key and build a table and read from another table. My concern is that it freezes my game momentarily when I switch specs. Is this something I should be concerned about? Will this crash others likely?

Grimsin 11-25-10 02:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sojik (Post 219675)
I'm working on an addon that swaps keybind loadouts when I swap dual specs. It works alright but it does all it's magic on one event (namely ACTIVE_TALENT_GROUP_CHANGED). It has to go through every key on a keyboard and all the modifiers for each key and build a table and read from another table. My concern is that it freezes my game momentarily when I switch specs. Is this something I should be concerned about? Will this crash others likely?

How momentarily? I get a fairly decent pause when i switch talents with or without addons...

Nobgul 11-25-10 02:26 PM

I would deff be interested in the time. You could put a execution timer in and print the results to your chat frame, this way you know exactly how long it is taking.

Sojik 11-25-10 06:59 PM

Hm. I'll feel pretty embarrassed if this pause is normal and has nothing to do with my addon since it is only a second at the most. Maybe I just haven't noticed it till now. I swapped spec probably 40 times yesterday testing this thing.

I'll report back.

EDIT: No it's definitely the addon because it doesn't happen after the first respec when I delete my saved variables.

EDIT2: I put time prints at the beginning and end of the function and with all my addons enabled and with just my addon enabled I at most get one second differences. half of the time it doesn't even register a difference. I guess that means it's nothing to worry about. :)

Duugu 11-26-10 12:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sojik (Post 219675)
I'm working on an addon that swaps keybind loadouts when I swap dual specs. It works alright but it does all it's magic on one event (namely ACTIVE_TALENT_GROUP_CHANGED). It has to go through every key on a keyboard and all the modifiers for each key and build a table and read from another table. My concern is that it freezes my game momentarily when I switch specs. Is this something I should be concerned about? Will this crash others likely?

Just ignore that. It really doesn't matter.

In case you are concerned about breaking other addons ... that can't happen. The wow client processes addon code sequential and can't "miss" code due to "freezes".

Grimsin 11-26-10 10:43 AM

I think his concern was more about crashing the game for people with lesser systems. Not likely, although not out of the question. My experience thus far has been that it wont crash because of excess processing, however certain code mistakes will cause a crash :) or to much taint seems to crash it to.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 AM.

vBulletin © 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2020 MMOUI