WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   AddOn Help/Support (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   New to Addons : Issue with SetTexture (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59761)

TJones1467 01-14-24 01:08 PM

New to Addons : Issue with SetTexture

I am new to LUA and creating addons, but I am not new to programming in general. I am working on an extremely simple addon to begin to figure things out. All I am trying to do at the moment is create a big red box in the middle of the game screen. Here is the code I have.

Code:

SLASH_RELOADUI1 = "/rl"
SlashCmdList.RELOADUI = ReloadUI

SLASH_FRAMESTK1 = "/fs"
SlashCmdList.FRAMESTK = function()
    LoadAddOn("Blizzard_DebugTools")
    FrameStackTooltip_Toggle()
end

local testFrame = CreateFrame("Frame", testFrame, UIParent)
testFrame:SetPoint("CENTER")
testFrame:SetSize(300,300)

local testFrame.texture = testFrame:CreateTexture()
testFrame.texture:SetAllPoints(testFrame)
testFrame.texture:SetTexture(255,0,0,0.5)

The first two slash commands are (probably obviously) just to help reload the UI and open the frame stack.

As far as I can tell, this should work. When I take a look at the frame stack, the frame is there but it isn't showing anything. I've included a link below to a screenshot of what I see with frame stack activated. I have bug grabber installed and it shows no errors.

https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/v9q5h...f5k11dnwa&dl=0

If anyone could point out what I am doing wrong here, I would greatly appreciate it.

Fizzlemizz 01-14-24 02:34 PM

Install BugGrabber and BugSack to help with debugging. They work together.

You should be getting an error
Code:

is fine

Code:

is not fine. This second local is trying to create a new testFrame variable and .texture is trying to assume it is already a table (which it isn't).

Use:
Code:

testFrame.texture = testFrame:CreateTexture()