Thread Tools Display Modes
05-19-10, 11:51 AM   #1
Grimsin
A Molten Giant
 
Grimsin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 990
How to nuke bliz function

How would one go about stopping a bliz function? The function i need to stop is
PetActionBar_UpdatePositionValues()

is it as simple as PetActionBar_UpdatePositionValues() = nil? or return end)?
__________________
"Are we there yet?"

GrimUI
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 12:39 PM   #2
Grimsin
A Molten Giant
 
Grimsin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 990
i guess a better question is how would one go about stopping the animation updating and repositioning of the bliz bars.
__________________
"Are we there yet?"

GrimUI
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 01:52 PM   #3
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
If you want to disable them, tried UnregisterAllEvents()?
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 01:56 PM   #4
Starinnia
Ninja Code Monkey
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 84
Code:
local function dummy() end

PetActionBar_UpdatePositionValues = dummy
That should kill that function for you. Although if unregistering the events works, you should do that since it won't mess with the global environment and possibly cause side effects.
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 02:13 PM   #5
Grimsin
A Molten Giant
 
Grimsin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 990
well both methods seem to cause adverse side effects.

right now the issue im having is with the frame management... killing the petupdate was no good.

Ultimately what im trying to do is reposition the bliz action bars and prevent taint and stop the relocating. Doing a dummy on the setpoint for the MainMenuBar works for the most part except when entering/exiting vehicles. the vehicle bar causes things to freak out, also where all my taint happens.
__________________
"Are we there yet?"

GrimUI
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 03:28 PM   #6
Slakah
A Molten Giant
 
Slakah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 863
Does blizz specify a relative anchor frame in their :SetPoint()
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 03:40 PM   #7
Grimsin
A Molten Giant
 
Grimsin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 990
Does not look like it at lest not for the MainMenuBar.

also note the problem is fixed If i set the setpoint and clearallpoints to dummy for the MainMenuBar but then the vehicle bar does not appear at all...

Also none of this begins to address the combat taint that happens when dismounting a vehicle while in combat.
__________________
"Are we there yet?"

GrimUI
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 04:14 PM   #8
Grimsin
A Molten Giant
 
Grimsin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 990
Originally Posted by Haleth View Post
If you want to disable them, tried UnregisterAllEvents()?
Doing this causes problems with other elements of the bliz code. Not to mention these are functions erroring out so technically its not an event based problem as i would have to unregister every frame whos event script calls that function thus disabling half the interface.

somehow i need to stop all the functions involved with the position management nonsense. But still leave the animation system intact for the 3d model frames? because im pretty sure if i nuke the animation system for the action bars itll nuke the animation scripts needed for 3d models when i get to those again later... the animation system is linked into the frame management.... if you look at the code i posted i found those UIPARENT_MANAGED_FRAME_POSITIONS["CastingBarFrame"] = nil lines in other addons but they appear to do nothing. tried all sorts of methods of using it to.
__________________
"Are we there yet?"

GrimUI
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Last edited by Grimsin : 05-19-10 at 04:18 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 04:18 PM   #9
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
Now... Are you getting "Interface Action Blocked" messages? Or are you only looking at the taint log?

http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/th...1710&sid=1#137
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 04:18 PM   #10
Grimsin
A Molten Giant
 
Grimsin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 990
im getting the interface action blocked msg as well as taint log entry's.

this is what my in game error says about the action blocked...


1x <event>ADDON_ACTION_BLOCKED:AddOn '!GrimUI' tried to call the protected function 'updateFunc()'.
<in C code>: in function `updateFunc'
Interface\FrameXML\AnimationSystem.lua:61: in function `SetUpAnimation':
Interface\FrameXML\PlayerFrame.lua:279: in function `PlayerFrame_AnimateOut':
Interface\FrameXML\PlayerFrame.lua:226: in function `OnEvent':
Interface\FrameXML\UnitFrame.lua:417: in function <Interface\FrameXML\UnitFrame.lua:415>:
__________________
"Are we there yet?"

GrimUI
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Last edited by Grimsin : 05-19-10 at 04:26 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 05:07 PM   #11
Grimsin
A Molten Giant
 
Grimsin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 990
Okay so the only refrence i have found to updateFunc says its just SetPoint so could i maybe disable updateFunc and stop the tainting?
__________________
"Are we there yet?"

GrimUI
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » How to nuke bliz function


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off