Quantcast
some idea about battle rez addon - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
02-25-15, 02:11 AM   #1
EKE
An Aku'mai Servant
 
EKE's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 33
some idea about battle rez addon

i use infCombatRess now, a good, simple,lightweight addon.
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...Ress.html#info

and i get some idea from Allez's alraidcd and bitbyte's saymassrez

send message to /ra or /p or /i when click the icon:
just like " available battle rez: 0 , next battle rez: 1:35" etc.

also, when someone use battle rez in group, addon will send massage to group channel: "battle rez: OOO to XXX"

is this possible? or some other lightweight addon can do this?
  Reply With Quote
02-25-15, 08:10 PM   #2
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by EKE View Post
send message to /ra or /p or /i when click the icon:
just like " available battle rez: 0 , next battle rez: 1:35" etc.

also, when someone use battle rez in group, addon will send massage to group channel: "battle rez: OOO to XXX"
Certainly possible, but I wouldn't write such a thing, on principle. Consider boss mods. Today's boss mods just show timer bars and warning messages to you. You can turn off things that aren't relevant to your class or role. The original boss mods, back in vanilla, weren't like that that. They sent that information to the whole raid in the form of an endless stream of chat messages -- X in 30 seconds, X in 20 seconds, X in 15 seconds, X in 10 seconds, A on B, X in 5 seconds, X in 4 seconds, A on C, X in 3 seconds, X in 2 seconds, X in 1 second, X now!

What you're proposing is no different. When I'm playing a shaman, for example, I don't have a battle rez. Why do I want my chat box filled up with messages about battle rezzes? Those have nothing to do with me, and those messages are 100% spam to me.

People who do have a battle rez can use an addon that shows them -- just them -- that information if the default UI's display isn't enough. The rest of us don't need to know and don't care.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
02-25-15, 09:50 PM   #3
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,702
If I'm not mistaken, every class' combat res shows the cooldown for the entire raid group, and you could even show this cooldown for classes that don't have combat resses with a macro.
  Reply With Quote
02-25-15, 10:12 PM   #4
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Yes, anyone who wants to see it can see it, locally, without the need to spam the whole raid with chat messages. But, players who don't have a battle rez probably don't care, unless they are a micromanaging raid leader.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
02-25-15, 11:54 PM   #5
EKE
An Aku'mai Servant
 
EKE's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 33
i mean report only when i click icon, when other people asking for rez.

yeah other people dont care this, so the second thing we dont need it.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » some idea about battle rez addon

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off