10-29-22, 09:41 AM   #1
Pubert
A Defias Bandit
Question Making interactive Personal Resource Display

Hiya complete beginner with addons as well as posting on forums so bear with me on this one!
I'd made a weakaura to display more information about my character than plater allows and match the nameplates I have installed visually and messed around trying to add Togglemenu functionality to it so I could do away with unit frames entirely and conserve UI space.

I realize it's bad practice to add secure actions to a weakaura so I wrote a lil' addon for that process instead
Code:
local function MoveStuff()
    local healthButton = CreateFrame("BUTTON","healthButton", YOUR_FRAME, "SecureActionButtonTemplate");
    healthButton:SetPoint("CENTER", C_NamePlate.GetNamePlateForUnit("player"), "CENTER", 0, 0)
    healthButton:SetSize(130, 40)
    healthButton:RegisterForClicks('AnyUp')
    healthButton:SetAttribute('unit', 'player')
    healthButton:SetAttribute('*type1', 'target')
    healthButton:SetAttribute('*type2', 'togglemenu')
end

local f = CreateFrame('Frame')
f:RegisterEvent('UPDATE_MOUSEOVER_UNIT')
f:SetScript('OnEvent', MoveStuff)
It works fine but has a quirk, I tried setting the Event it registers to PLAYER_ENTERING_WORLD but that seemed to be too early for the code to register the location of NamePlateForUnit("player"), therefore slapping it on the center of my screen instead. So I then tried putting it on SPELLS_CHANGED and I got it to work, I could right click my personal resource display and get the toggle menu, but it kept making two frames, one placed squarely at the center of my screen and the other on the desired nameplate so eventually I landed on UPDATE_MOUSEOVER_UNIT, which works! No frame at the center of my screen.