Quantcast
nUI -- A full feature standalone UI replacement - Page 26 - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
08-15-08, 07:37 PM   #501
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
It looks to me like there was some kind of error during the load... it didn't complete the screen initialization which is why you see all of the blank space. Did you get any error messages at all during the load?

EDIT: I've got an e-mail from Kailef that there seems to be an issue with the newest recount and nUI -- he was getting the same error, disabled recount and got past it. I'll look into it.

Originally Posted by Archippus View Post
Thanks for the alpha copy of nUI beta 2!

I saved my nUI folder as nui.Saved, as suggested, and moved the new files into my AddOns folder. To be safe, I disabled all of my other AddOns, with the exception of Omen and Recount. I logged in, loaded up... and have some problems :-)
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/

Last edited by spiel2001 : 08-15-08 at 07:52 PM.
 
08-15-08, 07:48 PM   #502
Archippus
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 48
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
It looks to me like there was some kind of error during the load... it didn't complete the screen initialization which is why you see all of the blank space. Did you get any error messages at all during the load?
That's a negative, Ghostrider.

I tried a /rl, and a /nui rl as well.

See... this is why, after 2 years as a software engineer, I gave my 2 week notice yesterday. Gonna go be the assistant director of Christian education at my church. I don't have to do bug squishing anymore. 8 more work days, and counting, and I'm bug free!

:-)
 
08-15-08, 07:52 PM   #503
Kailef
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Kailef's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 27
Recount

Archippus,

I experienced the same thing earlier and identified Recount as the culprit. Even happens with a clean WTF and nothing but Recount and nUI loaded.
 
08-15-08, 08:16 PM   #504
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Kailef View Post
Archippus,

I experienced the same thing earlier and identified Recount as the culprit. Even happens with a clean WTF and nothing but Recount and nUI loaded.
I'm in Kara testing atm -- I'll get the latest version of Recount and sort it out when we're done.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-15-08, 08:19 PM   #505
Kailef
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Kailef's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 27
Integrating existing mods into another mod is always a bit of a hassle, although it's important in this case. Aggro meters are pretty much a forced requirement for any raid group. I'm sure you'll figure it out in the briefest of moments. I have faith. You are a master programmer.
 
08-15-08, 08:26 PM   #506
Archippus
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 48
Originally Posted by Kailef View Post
Archippus,

I experienced the same thing earlier and identified Recount as the culprit. Even happens with a clean WTF and nothing but Recount and nUI loaded.
Indeed. Good catch. I disabled Recount, and it loaded nicely. I slowly re-enabled all of the other AddOns that I use, and had no troubles with any of them. Carbonite, teksLoot, Clique, EasyURL, and some others. Nothing else seemed to cause a fuss.

I tinkered around with Player unit frames, Party and Raid. The functionality seemed to be spot on, and the layout is superb. The mouseover unit frame is genious, and the focus frame is very helpful and nicely placed. This is great work!

I hit my next snag, too. Just for prosperity, sake. When I click through the features of the right side information panel and I get to the minimap, it's ... well... wrong. The map itself is too big, and some of the buttons look mutated. The panel button to cycle through to other options is hidden under the map, so there's no way to click it to get rid of the map. I had to use Carbonite to disable the minimap in order to click back to the combat panel.

I went back and disabled everything except for nUI and tried to view the minimap again, and it behaved the same way.

Here it be:

 
08-15-08, 08:29 PM   #507
Archippus
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 48
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
I'm in Kara testing atm -- I'll get the latest version of Recount and sort it out when we're done.
I have Recount (Preserved) downloaded from www.curse.com. Latest version. If that helps.
 
08-15-08, 09:39 PM   #508
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Archippus View Post
I have Recount (Preserved) downloaded from www.curse.com. Latest version. If that helps.
No doubt something changed in Recount since I last updated it. I'm out of Kara now, so I'm going to download that and see how many of these bugs I can knock out and I'll send out a second round of pre-release files to everyone.

I enclosed some screencaps from our Kara run tonight so folks can get a first look of what it looks like in a raid... oh... and Woohoo! I finally got my Sunfury Bow /happydance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Kara0.jpg
Views:	644
Size:	587.4 KB
ID:	1845  Click image for larger version

Name:	Kara1.jpg
Views:	627
Size:	509.0 KB
ID:	1846  Click image for larger version

Name:	Kara2.jpg
Views:	627
Size:	606.6 KB
ID:	1847  Click image for larger version

Name:	Kara3.jpg
Views:	629
Size:	451.1 KB
ID:	1848  

__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-15-08, 09:58 PM   #509
gothicknight
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
gothicknight's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 131
I love the UI Speil, but i do have one little concern. I find that the raid health bars may be a little hard to notice, especially for us healers. Would u consider adding an option to make the health bars thicker at some stage.

Other than that the screens look amazing. Thank You
 
08-15-08, 10:03 PM   #510
Kailef
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Kailef's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 27
Originally Posted by gothicknight View Post
<snip> raid health bars may be a little hard to notice, especially for us healers. Would u consider adding an option to make the health bars thicker at some stage. <snip>
That's probably something that the healers in my guild will ask for, also. They want to see mana/energy, but just a few pixels of width would be fine for that. It's health that they want to see, making it thicker would probably be a good idea.

Great stuff, though, just ran it through a battery of tests and didn't have any problems. :-)
 
08-15-08, 10:06 PM   #511
Jungleanimal
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 104
Just got home from a night drinking a few. Gonna check my email and get the latest stuff. Woo Hoo! Can't wait.

Jungle
 
08-15-08, 10:14 PM   #512
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Archippus View Post
I have Recount (Preserved) downloaded from www.curse.com. Latest version. If that helps.

BTW: I have been able to reproduce the minimap scaling problem... as I told you in e-mail... I have downloaded and installed the latest Recount Preservation from Curse.com and it works like a champ. I event went so far as to blow away both my WTF and my Interface\AddOns and do a clean install of nUI and Recount with those being the only two mods, no problems.

I wonder if it may be a display resolution issue or an O/S issue... for you and Kailef... what display resolution are you using, what O/S?

EDIT: If I may make a suggestion... try installing the current full version of Auctioneer Advanced... it contains some advanced debugging tools that might give some kind of meaningful report on why you can't get a clean load. I can tell from looking at it that the load is crashing before it completes, I'm just not sure why.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/

Last edited by spiel2001 : 08-15-08 at 10:22 PM.
 
08-15-08, 10:35 PM   #513
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Strangeness... I'm wondering if I didn't have a bad zip... now that I did this clean install I cannot reproduce the pet feeder error or the Recount error.

I'm going to send everyone a second copy with the Minimap (Battlefield and Zone) scaling problem fixed and let's see if that fixes the other two key problems. Check your mailboxes for a second copy of the pre-release.

I might add, too, this is pre-release... so there's no version number control, etc., as yet.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-15-08, 10:42 PM   #514
Jungleanimal
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 104
Issue confirmed. With recount enabled I got very wierd results. After disabling recount I got a normal looking UI (what I would expect with no HUD).

The minimap buttons are the only thing that is funky so far but I haven't gone into combat. I'm going to blast some mobs with my new 4 set T5 bonus. :-)

 
08-15-08, 10:51 PM   #515
Jungleanimal
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 104
Also, there seems to be a duplicate bar. If you look at the bottom left of my screen the buttons seem to be the same as when I scroll the top bar. With Beta 1 I had a bar with my mounts on them but it is now gone. Did you mean to duplicate the scrolling "second bar" with the bottom left bar on the screen. I haven't changed any key bindings. I figured they would just move to new locations with the new version. All in all, not bad though for a alpha release. It didn't crash or anything.



Jungle
 
08-15-08, 11:11 PM   #516
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Jungleanimal View Post
Issue confirmed. With recount enabled I got very wierd results. After disabling recount I got a normal looking UI (what I would expect with no HUD).

The minimap buttons are the only thing that is funky so far but I haven't gone into combat. I'm going to blast some mobs with my new 4 set T5 bonus. :-)
The minimap button bag is not enabled in this pre-release... that's why you're seeing all of your buttons around the minimap. That'll go away tomorrow when I update you all with the HUD and the buttonbag enabled. I'm just trying to limit how many different areas of the program I'm trying to fix at one time ~smile~

The recount thing is a confirmed bug and I think Kailef might have gotten me enough info to corner it, but my eyes a closing involuntarily, so I'm gonna grab a few hours sleep before I get back to it.

Happy hunting! Anisa finally got her bow from Kara tonight, that was the last piece of blue she was still carrying... the Crossbow from Orgi'la.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-15-08, 11:13 PM   #517
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Jungleanimal View Post
Also, there seems to be a duplicate bar. If you look at the bottom left of my screen the buttons seem to be the same as when I scroll the top bar. With Beta 1 I had a bar with my mounts on them but it is now gone. Did you mean to duplicate the scrolling "second bar" with the bottom left bar on the screen. I haven't changed any key bindings. I figured they would just move to new locations with the new version. All in all, not bad though for a alpha release. It didn't crash or anything.



Jungle
Yes... that was unfortunately intentional. Bliz made some changes that cost me a bar. I'm hoping we'll get some love in WotLK, but I haven't been able to test over there yet. The bottom line is that I only have room for one set of spare buttons instead of two, which is why when you were possessed the bottom right 2x5 bar would blow up in the original version of nUI. This fixes that problem by giving you one bar of your own you can use as you please and access to the page2 bar without scrolling. Not a perfect solution, but it will do until I can get to making truly customizable bars.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-16-08, 12:20 AM   #518
MeqTrader
An Aku'mai Servant
 
MeqTrader's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 39
Scott,

just a (little) thing I noticed, there is no 25-man raid layout yet (or at least I can not cycle through that). Am I correct, and what will happen when I am in a 25-man or more raid ?
 
08-16-08, 03:40 AM   #519
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by MeqTrader View Post
Scott,

just a (little) thing I noticed, there is no 25-man raid layout yet (or at least I can not cycle through that). Am I correct, and what will happen when I am in a 25-man or more raid ?
You are correct... the pre-release that you have contains the single player, party and 10 man raid screens only. The rest will be added as soon as possible.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-16-08, 03:46 AM   #520
Nordi
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Ok good i am glad those features are going to be in for sure (its really a life saver)

I personally HATE having over 9000 mods for wow so really nUI cuts them to almost 3-4 mods

i have a question though, in the HUD you have a casting bar with latency and sum such, is there a way to turn it off (just the casting bar)

the latency is to small for my eyes...well...ok... its to small from where i sit >_>

so instead i use quartz just for the latency part...atm i just lay it on top of your casting bar but if i can turn it off it would be nice

(i play on a 32 inch wide screen tv and use a cordless mouse and keyboard +headset while i play on my couch in my room. I know im lame but i like to sit next to my woman while raiding)

looking forward to the beta 2 and i would love to test for ya but i got no moneys to speak of (buying a new car to replace my 24 year old one...can't figure out y its broke honest)

*Edit* if i can turn it off in current nUI plz tell me because i still can not figure it out lol *cheers*

Last edited by Nordi : 08-16-08 at 03:54 AM. Reason: because i can thats y! @[email protected]
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Technical Support » nUI -- A full feature standalone UI replacement

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off