Quantcast
Frames rendering below higher frame levels? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
07-26-16, 01:32 AM   #1
Folji
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Folji's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 136
Frames rendering below higher frame levels?

Hiyo folks!

So with the 7.0 pre-patch, I've run into this one issue that I can't really seem to figure out here.



All the minimap buttons are showing with a frame level of 5 or 6, the artwork at frame level 3, and the minimap itself at frame level 2. And yet still, for whatever reason, they're all rendering below the artwork. Has anyone experienced similar things before, or have any suggestions?

Lua code pastebin

And, generally, comments about ways the code could be improved are always nice. It's just a single file's worth of restyling, repositioning, and overwriting a few functions.
  Reply With Quote
07-26-16, 04:35 AM   #2
Lombra
A Molten Giant
 
Lombra's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 554
I think you can't insert frames in between parent-children from an outside frame, but not sure. You should add your texture right onto the minimap instead. The default artwork seems to be on a frame called MinimapBackdrop.
__________________
Grab your sword and fight the Horde!
  Reply With Quote
07-26-16, 04:55 AM   #3
Folji
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Folji's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 136
Good point, just replacing the texture or adding a new texture layer onto MinimapBackdrop is probably just as well. I just find it rather curious, as this whole solution worked perfectly fine throughout the entirety of 6.0. So if this is a parent-children conflict, that must be something new as of Legion. Though I wouldn't really complain if such a thing is now the case. Because, honestly, that solves a lot of awkward moments where two UI elements wind up partially overlapping one another because they're using multiple frame levels, haha.
  Reply With Quote
07-26-16, 05:40 AM   #4
Lombra
A Molten Giant
 
Lombra's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 554
That is possible. I've had a very weird and annoying issue with one of my addons where certain elements were clickable (not drawn, though) through other frames. Although I didn't touch their frame strata or level separately from the main frame. I've not noticed whther that has changed since the patch.
__________________
Grab your sword and fight the Horde!
  Reply With Quote
07-26-16, 10:15 AM   #5
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,196
With WoW 7.x layers are "flattened" between a parent and its children, so there will be no more "slicing" if you move another frame with its own children - which are at different layers - over it.
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of NPCScan and many other AddOns.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Frames rendering below higher frame levels?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off