Thread Tools Display Modes
08-16-19, 12:09 PM   #1
glaaod
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Moving default BuffFrame

Hi,

I'm in the process of making a simple addon to change the placement of the default UI frames.

Most frames can be moved just fine with just a few lines of basic code. Example:

Code:
PlayerFrame:ClearAllPoints()
PlayerFrame:SetPoint("CENTER", UIParent, "CENTER", -117, -309)
PlayerFrame.SetPoint = function() end
PlayerFrame:SetUserPlaced(true)
(The PlayerFrame and TargetFrame need the additional line at the end to work, otherwise everything seems to only need the first 3 lines.)

The only thing I'm having trouble with is the BuffFrame. You can move it just fine with the approach above, however, it seems to break target of target functionality, and I can not figure out why.
I have tried to add the "SetUserPlaced(true)" and a few other things but nothing seems to work.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
08-16-19, 01:40 PM   #2
LudiusMaximus
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
LudiusMaximus's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 320
Lua Code:
  1. BuffFrame:ClearAllPoints()
  2. BuffFrame:SetPoint("CENTER", UIParent, "CENTER", 0, 0)

works for me without any errors.

Just SetUserPlaced(true) is not possible for BuffFrame. But also not necessary (?).
  Reply With Quote
08-16-19, 03:18 PM   #3
glaaod
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Checked again and apparently it's only happening when I pull a mob. If the mob is already aggroed it seems to be working just fine.

Code:
BuffFrame:ClearAllPoints()
BuffFrame:SetPoint("CENTER", UIParent, "CENTER", 0, 0)
BuffFrame.SetPoint = function() end
This is the entire LUA file in my test addon, so not really sure where the issue can be, especially since it works fine with other frames.
  Reply With Quote
08-16-19, 03:34 PM   #4
LudiusMaximus
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
LudiusMaximus's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 320
I tried to reproduce this but I can pull mobs without any problems while the buff frame remains in the center of the screen.
  Reply With Quote
08-16-19, 04:40 PM   #5
glaaod
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
I made a quick video to hopefully illustrate the issue. Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AubkeNHYulY

I guess if you can't replicate the issue then it pretty much has to be my client or something, even though it's pretty much a fresh install and I have no other addons running. But I guess you can't really do much in that case.

In any case thank you for your time.

Last edited by glaaod : 08-16-19 at 04:42 PM.
  Reply With Quote
08-16-19, 04:56 PM   #6
LudiusMaximus
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
LudiusMaximus's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 320
Maybe this is something specific to the class you are using?
Have you tried it with other classes?
  Reply With Quote
08-16-19, 05:22 PM   #7
glaaod
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
I've tried several. They all had the same issue.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Moving default BuffFrame

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off