Thread Tools Display Modes
01-27-05, 02:47 AM   #1
Leandred
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Backdrop Texture Question.

I can't really figure out how it works in WoW.

I have this background .tga file i want to use. Its 256x256 pixels.

I've made 2 diffrent windows that us same code:
Code:
<Backdrop bgFile="Interface\AddOns\PetWindow\Images\PeWBg_dark_rock.tga"  edgeFile="Interface\Tooltips\UI-Tooltip-Border" tile="true">
	<BackgroundInsets>
      		<AbsInset left="4" right="4" top="4" bottom="4" /> 
	</BackgroundInsets>
	<TileSize>
        		<AbsValue val="16" /> 
	</TileSize>
	<EdgeSize>
        		<AbsValue val="16" /> 
	</EdgeSize>
</Backdrop>

But as you can see here the backdrop isnt the same. In Petwindow its more compact rastering.

Is there a way to make the windows use same scale? and not compress it depending on the window size in itself?

Ciao Leandred
  Reply With Quote
01-27-05, 11:46 PM   #2
mondinga
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
This the Leandred that played on the Nameless in EverQuest by chance?~

Afraid I can't offer much insight here, my backdrops always behave. All mine look about like this:

Code:
<Backdrop name="Gypsy_HotBarBackdrop" bgFile="Interface\Tooltips\UI-Tooltip-Background" edgeFile="Interface\Tooltips\UI-Tooltip-Border" tile="true">
 <EdgeSize>
  <AbsValue val="16" /> 
 </EdgeSize>
 <TileSize>
  <AbsValue val="16" /> 
 </TileSize>
 <BackgroundInsets>
  <AbsInset left="5" right="5" top="5" bottom="5" /> 
 </BackgroundInsets>
</Backdrop>
  Reply With Quote
01-28-05, 01:54 AM   #3
Leandred
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Hehe yeah it is. I'm on AB now since Remedy sadly dispanded last october on MS. Your name rings a bell... but hmm darn... can't remember atm

EDIT: Clicked your link. Hehe now i remember you. We gonna start up Dwarven Brigade again on EU WoW. Sadly i wont be a high elf paladin. Gonna have to be like Rinderwahn now ><

I changed it back to 5 now and got it working. Why i changed it to 4 was because the PlayerWindow got some lines transparent between Border and Background... and that fixed it.
__________________

Last edited by Leandred : 01-28-05 at 01:58 AM.
  Reply With Quote
01-29-05, 11:24 PM   #4
mondinga
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
Too bad about Remedy, old school >< Seems like people from the Nameless are everywhere now.

I think I know what you mean about the lines between the border and background - I've noticed tiny imperfections before.

I remember your MP3 player for EQ Leandred, included that in my personalized Vert/Solaria customization:P Pimp stuff.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Backdrop Texture Question.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off