Quantcast
Chat boxes move when using different computers - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
11-03-20, 04:53 AM   #1
gridor
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 4
Chat boxes move when using different computers

Hi everyone im new here but this looks like the right place to come.

I have an annoying issue that may not be solvable but im hoping is.

I have 2 different set ups,

Home

2 screens, i use sun art to make the left screen blank for maps and bags and panels i dont want opening over my main game, the game is then "played" on the right screen. I use elvui and move anything to position all my frames. i have other addons but no chat ones.

i then go to work, i have a PC with just 1 screen, sun art is disabled and generally i can move pretty much any frame where i want without it affecting my home pc.

that is with the exception of the chat windows, every time i log on at work they are moved based on my home settings, and because im going from 2 screens to 1 they are not conveniently placed, so i have to move them, then when i get home i have to move them again.

whilst its not end of days drama it is quite annoying having to reposition everything all the time as i do have a few different chat windows open at once at home as the space allows it (general, whisper, guild, party tabs)

all or any advice or help would be much appreciated.

many thanks in advance

Grid
  Reply With Quote
11-03-20, 06:32 AM   #2
briskman3000
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
briskman3000's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 92
You are going to want to change the default value of the CVar synchronizeChatFrames from 1 to 0 on the PCs you play on.

For some reason blizzard decided that by default chat tab sizes and positions should be stored server side and not client side.
__________________
My Addons: Convert Ratings Honor Track
  Reply With Quote
11-03-20, 06:38 AM   #3
gridor
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 4
That is excellent news thankyou, where will i find this line to change please and does this mean it will now save the info locally to each machine?

many thanks

gridor
  Reply With Quote
11-03-20, 06:49 AM   #4
briskman3000
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
briskman3000's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 92
you would have to set that value in the config.wtf file manually
__________________
My Addons: Convert Ratings Honor Track
  Reply With Quote
11-03-20, 07:15 AM   #5
gridor
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 4
Hi sorry to be a fool at this but i cannot find that line anywhere in any wtf file.

are you saying i need to actually add a new line

SET CVar synchronizeChatFrames "1"

at the end of all the other lines in the config.wtf file?
  Reply With Quote
11-03-20, 11:49 AM   #6
briskman3000
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
briskman3000's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 92
yes, except use a 0 not a 1
__________________
My Addons: Convert Ratings Honor Track
  Reply With Quote
11-05-20, 02:07 PM   #7
gridor
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 4
Thanks for that, i can confirm that this has solved the problem as far as i can see.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Chat boxes move when using different computers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off