Quantcast The folder structure IS changing in 8.1 - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
12-05-18, 08:55 PM   #1
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,003
The folder structure IS changing in 8.1

A heads up for those who haven't PTR'd or wondering why it changed.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
12-05-18, 09:32 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,571
Thanks, Blu! And Fizzlemizz for the link.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
12-05-18, 10:07 PM   #3
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,225
Thanks for the heads up.

So the path for addons will be \wow-folder\_retail_\Interface\AddOns\ ?
  Reply With Quote
12-05-18, 10:28 PM   #4
Kanegasi
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Kanegasi's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 316
Wow. This absolutely sucks. I have beta/PTR on a separate drive than WoW. I don’t have the SSD space to install more than just the live version. Looks like I won’t bother with beta/PTR for a long time, if ever. I’m hoping I misunderstood this file reorganization.
  Reply With Quote
12-05-18, 11:28 PM   #5
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,003
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
Thanks for the heads up.

So the path for addons will be \wow-folder\_retail_\Interface\AddOns\ ?
That's the way it is with the PTR with the exception of _ptr_ instead of _retail_.

Everything except DATA (Interface, Cache, WTF, Screenshots etc.) is under the _xxx_ folder for each version, otherwise the path structures are the same.

Internally for addons referencing the resources it's still "Interface\\..."
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 12-06-18 at 02:06 AM.
  Reply With Quote
12-05-18, 11:32 PM   #6
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,003
Originally Posted by Kanegasi View Post
Wow. This absolutely sucks. I have beta/PTR on a separate drive than WoW. I don’t have the SSD space to install more than just the live version. Looks like I won’t bother with beta/PTR for a long time, if ever. I’m hoping I misunderstood this file reorganization.
If there is a single DATA folder that holds the majority of the game for all three, then apart from some individual versions of files then it might not be that bad (version sharding). Just a guess on my part. I don't see anything that says seperate installs are "impossible".

I guess there will also be a _classic_ folder in the future.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 12-06-18 at 01:56 AM.
  Reply With Quote
12-06-18, 10:08 PM   #7
JDoubleU00
An Onyxian Warder
 
JDoubleU00's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 368
Originally Posted by Fizzlemizz View Post
If there is a single DATA folder that holds the majority of the game for all three, then apart from some individual versions of files then it might not be that bad (version sharding). Just a guess on my part. I don't see anything that says seperate installs are "impossible".

I guess there will also be a _classic_ folder in the future.
What about using sym links (I can't remember the proper name).
__________________
Author of JWExpBar and JWRepBar.
  Reply With Quote
12-06-18, 10:19 PM   #8
tonyis3l33t
A Cyclonian
 
tonyis3l33t's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
yup, symlink should work fine

PowerShell:
Code:
PS C:\> new-item -itemtype symboliclink -path <path to location> -name <the name> -value <path to target>
Example:
Code:
PS C:\> new-item -itemtype symboliclink -path "C:\program files\warcraft\_retail_" -name WoWRetail -value "f:\games\warcraft\_retail_"
fiddle with it if needed.
  Reply With Quote
12-12-18, 09:55 AM   #9
bsmorgan
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 151
I had separate folders (on different drives) for retail, ptr, and beta. Both retail and ptr folders have updated to the new folder structure.

_retail_ is 3.18GB, _ptr_ is 144MB, Data in the folder with _retail_ is 71.0GB, and Data in the folder with _ptr_ is 68.4GB.

Do you agree that all I'd have to do to consolidate is move the contents of _ptr_ to the same folder as _retail_ and both versions will work?

(_retail_ is bigger because I've done a ExportInterfaceFiles code (and art))

Last edited by bsmorgan : 12-12-18 at 09:58 AM.
  Reply With Quote
12-12-18, 11:32 AM   #10
LudiusMaximus
A Cyclonian
 
LudiusMaximus's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 41
Hey, I was really looking forward to saving disk space by having _ptr_ and _retail_ in the same “World of Warcraft” folder sharing the “Data” folder. However, even though I now have “Games\World of Warcraft\_retail_”, the PTR is still located at its own “Games\World of Warcraft Public Test\_ptr_”, and it won’t let me install it in a folder that is not called "World of Warcraft Public Test".
  Reply With Quote
12-12-18, 11:42 AM   #11
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,225
Originally Posted by LudiusMaximus View Post
Hey, I was really looking forward to saving disk space by having _ptr_ and _retail_ in the same “World of Warcraft” folder sharing the “Data” folder. However, even though I now have “Games\World of Warcraft\_retail_”, the PTR is still located at its own “Games\World of Warcraft Public Test\_ptr_”, and it won’t let me install it in a folder that is not called "World of Warcraft Public Test".
I think that is planned for 8.1.5 if I'm not mistaken. They wanted to do it in 2 steps.
  Reply With Quote
12-12-18, 11:46 AM   #12
LudiusMaximus
A Cyclonian
 
LudiusMaximus's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 41
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
I think that is planned for 8.1.5 if I'm not mistaken. They wanted to do it in 2 steps.
All right, thanks. That would explain it. Did you get this from somewhere "official"?
  Reply With Quote
12-13-18, 01:30 PM   #13
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,003
Go to the original link and scroll down to Blu's last post. "Not until they update the installers or the BDA..."

Probably as official as it will get.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
01-18-19, 05:53 PM   #14
LudiusMaximus
A Cyclonian
 
LudiusMaximus's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 41
Installing the PTR in the same directory as the RETAIL version works as of now!
Only ~3 GB of excess memory are required for the PTR. Nice!!
  Reply With Quote
01-19-19, 07:46 AM   #15
bsmorgan
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 151
Originally Posted by LudiusMaximus View Post
Installing the PTR in the same directory as the RETAIL version works as of now!
Only ~3 GB of excess memory are required for the PTR. Nice!!
Can you share the steps you took to get this done? Is it as easy as moving the _ptr_ directory and changing some shortcuts?
  Reply With Quote
01-19-19, 09:17 AM   #16
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,003
Uninstall PTR (from the options in the launcher), re-install PTR.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 01-19-19 at 09:21 AM.
  Reply With Quote
01-20-19, 09:16 AM   #17
Nimhfree
A Frostmaul Preserver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 250
By the way, the same technique does not seem to work with beta.
  Reply With Quote
01-20-19, 11:44 AM   #18
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,003
As far as I'm aware, beta didn't moved under the general game folder for the lead up to BfA (it's still at 8.0.1.xxx). It probably will for the next xpac., presumably classic as well when it arrives.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 01-20-19 at 11:46 AM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » The folder structure IS changing in 8.1

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off