Quantcast addon incompatible - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
10-12-14, 09:16 PM   #1
programdat
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
addon incompatible

I am trying to write a simple hello world program just to get myself started writing addons. I have created the needed files and it is showing up in the addons menu in wow. However next to my addon in red writing it shows "incompatible". Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is the code in my TOC

##Interface:50400
##Title:Hello, World!
##Author:Me
##Version:v1.0.0
HelloWorld.lua
HelloWorld.xml
  Reply With Quote
10-12-14, 09:32 PM   #2
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 851
It's 54000. Not 50400.
  Reply With Quote
10-12-14, 09:37 PM   #3
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,702
No, it's 50400.

Try it like this:
Code:
## Interface: 50400
## Title: Hello, World!
## Author: Me
## Version: v1.0.0
HelloWorld.lua
HelloWorld.xml
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
10-12-14, 09:46 PM   #4
programdat
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
I have tried both solutions and neither have changed it.
  Reply With Quote
10-13-14, 12:48 AM   #5
karmamuscle
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
karmamuscle's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 205
Is the addon for Mists of Pandaria (50400) or Warlords of Draenor Beta (60000)?
__________________
55 89 144 233 377 610 987 1597 2584 4181 6765
  Reply With Quote
10-13-14, 03:20 AM   #6
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,696
Originally Posted by Duugu View Post
It's 54000. Not 50400.
In-game:
Code:
/dump GetBuildInfo()
  Reply With Quote
10-13-14, 04:08 AM   #7
Lombra
A Molten Giant
 
Lombra's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 554
For reference, it goes like this: (not sure about the actual terms)
Code:
       5.       04.       00
Game ver.Major ver.Minor ver
The minor version is usually not reflected in the interface version, except for the very first release, it seems. (first MoP version was 50002 or something iirc)

We haven't had major versions in the tens since vanilla (and probably never will again, I guess), but that made the formula more clear. Version 2.1.0 was 20100, while 1.10.0 was 11000.
__________________
Grab your sword and fight the Horde!
  Reply With Quote
10-13-14, 09:19 AM   #8
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,696
They are operating on three versions:
  • version - Something similar to Semantic Versioning, where major is the expansion, minor is the content patch, and patch is fixes (patches).
  • build - Internal version, we use it to differentiate interface versions
  • interface version - An integer version of version

All of these three, as well as the published date, is returned by GetBuildInfo.
  Reply With Quote
10-13-14, 10:09 AM   #9
programdat
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
When I used the GetBuildInfo() in game it returned the 50400. However it in not working. I am posting the toc, lua, and xml files, as well as the addon folder i am using. Thanks again for your help guys.HelloWorld.lua

HelloWorld.xml
  Reply With Quote
10-13-14, 10:23 AM   #10
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 851
Originally Posted by programdat View Post
When I used the GetBuildInfo() in game it returned the 50400.
Jaja. Sorry. I know, I know. My fault.
  Reply With Quote
10-13-14, 10:39 AM   #11
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 851
The addon does not show up as incompatible in the addons list. Even not if I test your code without any changes. *shrug*

It does not work because of the UI tag in the XML. Everything is case sensitive. It's UI and not Ui. (first and last line)

Lua Code:
  1. <UI xmlns="http://www.blizzard.com/wow/ui/" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.blizzard.com/wow/ui/
  2. ..\..\FrameXML\UI.xsd">
  3.   <Script File="HelloWorld.lua"/>
  4.   <Frame name="HelloWorldFrame">
  5.    <Scripts>
  6.     <OnLoad>
  7.      HelloWorld();
  8.     </OnLoad>
  9.    </Scripts>
  10.   </Frame>
  11. </UI>

There's no need to load the lua file via the toc if you're loading it in the XML. This would be enough.
Code:
##Interface:50400
##Title:Hello, World!
##Author:Me
##Version:v1.0.0
HelloWorld.xml
Or you're removing the
Code:
  <Script File="HelloWorld.lua"/>
tag from the XML and use
Code:
##Interface:50400
##Title:Hello, World!
##Author:Me
##Version:v1.0.0
HelloWorld.lua
HelloWorld.xml
instead. Just two ways to get the same thing done.

Btw: If I'm copy&paste your toc data from your first post there are leading blanks in front of some lines. Don't know where they are from ... but if this is the case in your toc too, then you'll have to remove them to have the addon loaded correctly.

It's
Code:
##Interface:50400
 ##Title:Hello, World!
 ##Author:Me
 ##Version:v1.0.0
 HelloWorld.lua
 HelloWorld.xml
right now, and it should be
Code:
##Interface:50400
##Title:Hello, World!
##Author:Me
##Version:v1.0.0
HelloWorld.lua
HelloWorld.xml

Last edited by Duugu : 10-13-14 at 10:50 AM.
  Reply With Quote
10-13-14, 11:12 AM   #12
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,696
Originally Posted by Duugu View Post
It does not work because of the UI tag in the XML. It's UI and not Ui. (first and last line)
Incorrect again.

https://github.com/tekkub/wow-ui-sou...ller.xml#L1-L2

Last edited by p3lim : 10-13-14 at 11:18 AM.
  Reply With Quote
10-13-14, 11:24 AM   #13
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 851
Originally Posted by p3lim View Post
Yay.

Ok. I'll shut up.
  Reply With Quote
10-13-14, 08:25 PM   #14
programdat
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Well duugu, I tried what you said anyways and still nothing. I may just try to start over entirely.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » addon incompatible

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off