08-17-11, 12:20 AM   #1
Hulikner
A Murloc Raider
Mac problems

Hey guys.
I have been playing wow for a month and I have an issue I cant fix.
I have a MacBook pro and when I play by my self I have no problems at all.
When my brother gets on and we are playing together, I lag so bad in combat it's unplayable. But the thing is, he never ever gets lag. I know I'm new to wow so I figured that I may be missing something.

I've tried what WoW GMs suggest of deleting certain folders and running repair. No luck. Also, I have 0 addons.

Please help.

Btw my brother has a new windows computer and I have the new MacBook pro. We have recently bought a new router also. I don't know the computer specs off the top of my head but I don't think that will matter anyways. Seems to be a Mac issue.

Thanks

Last edited by Hulikner : 08-17-11 at 12:23 AM.
08-17-11, 02:41 AM   #2
Haleth
This Space For Rent

Featured
That's most likely not a Mac problem, but you simply have too low bandwidth to accommodate two people using high-volume internet at the same time. Have you tried it with, for example, YouTube HD? You could also go to www.speedtest.net and compare the results of times when you're alone and when your brother is also on the internet.

You might also want to try simply resetting your router.

Last edited by Haleth : 08-17-11 at 03:34 AM.
08-17-11, 03:19 AM   #3
Nibelheim
local roygbi-

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Hmm, seems a difference between the two probably exists, but yeah, may not be a Mac issue. Could be hardware, software, router, network settings, conflict issue, etc.

Bandwidth may be a part of the problem, but you'd have to have pretty bad internet (56k modem quality) to get affected that heavily by just another person playing WoW. Speedtest as mentioned will be a good test.