Quantcast Minion Install Problems - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
06-09-09, 10:27 AM   #1
dystrophy
A Cyclonian
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 42
Minion Install Problems

I have been trying since Minion came out to install it but am having the same issue over and over and I have been unsuccessful trying to solve it. Maybe some of you can help me. It downloads fine and gets to the end of installation and errors out on Finalizing Installation every time with the following error.

An error occured while trying to perform the install: java.io.IOException: Cannot run program "C:\DOCUME~1\Michael\LOCALS~\Temp\download-2194803747584666350.exe": Create process error=14001, This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.


If anyone has any ideas whats going wrong and can offer suggestions that would be great. Same error whether I install from Firefox or Explorer. In case you need it I'm running WinXP Pro 32bit edition and have Java 6 Standard Edition Version 6 Update 13 (build 1.6.0_13-b03)
  Reply With Quote
06-09-09, 05:34 PM   #2
thorpeonar
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Same thing happens to me.
  Reply With Quote
06-10-09, 01:59 PM   #3
saanlem
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 126
Same error.
__________________
Saanlem
US Nazgrel - Bikutanda
EU Lightbringer - Saanlem
  Reply With Quote
06-10-09, 04:38 PM   #4
GrueserWow
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Same error....
  Reply With Quote
06-10-09, 04:51 PM   #5
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,728
To those of you just replying with "same thing", you need to give the same kind of information that the OP gave. Operating system, Java version, etc.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
06-11-09, 10:22 AM   #6
Slakah
A Molten Giant
 
Slakah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 863
This http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...27&postcount=8
  Reply With Quote
06-11-09, 10:44 AM   #7
Benzo
A Kobold Labourer
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
if this is the solution, thx! Minion works
  Reply With Quote
06-12-09, 11:34 AM   #8
dystrophy
A Cyclonian
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 42
This solution worked for me. I didn't have the old version of C++ still in my add/remove programs but something leftover was interfering, possible I didn't uninstall properly. But reinstalling the redistributable let Minion install. Thanks!!
  Reply With Quote
06-12-09, 01:28 PM   #9
Teek5449
A Murloc Raider
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
See my other post for an alternative workaround HERE
  Reply With Quote
06-12-09, 05:30 PM   #10
thorpeonar
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Worked for me.
  Reply With Quote
06-13-09, 10:48 PM   #11
sconley
An Aku'mai Servant
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Unable to install

I removed and reinstalled the C++ runtime.
Still have the error.

I'm using Windows Vista 64 Ultimate.
IE8

I get the following error:
An error has occurred while trying to perform the install......The application failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect.....
  Reply With Quote
06-13-09, 11:28 PM   #12
dystrophy
A Cyclonian
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 42
I believe you are having a different issue Sconley. I saw another thread about the side-by-side configuration issue, you can probably find it searching this forum.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Archive » Minion Install Problems

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off