Quantcast
Chat bubble font outline - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
01-04-18, 08:34 AM   #1
warcry16
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
Chat bubble font outline

Hey guys,

is it possible to have a outline in the font for the chat bubbles?
Right now it looks like this for me:


[/quote]


I removed the background from the chat bubble,
but it is very hard to see the chat in raids etc.

If someone could help me here I would be very thankful

Last edited by warcry16 : 01-04-18 at 08:36 AM.
  Reply With Quote
01-04-18, 06:01 PM   #2
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,292
Once you have the frame (bubbleframe here) you can use:
Lua Code:
  1. for i = 1, select("#", bubbleframe:GetRegions()) do
  2.     local region = select(i, bubbleframe:GetRegions())
  3.     if region:GetObjectType() == "FontString" then
  4.         region:SetShadowOffset(2, -2)
  5.     end
  6. end

Personally I can't figure out when/why the system will use protected chat bubble frames or not.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
01-04-18, 09:02 PM   #3
briskman3000
A Black Drake
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 80
Originally Posted by Fizzlemizz View Post
Personally I can't figure out when/why the system will use protected chat bubble frames or not.
From my understanding, the chat bubbles become protected at the same time the friendly nameplates do.
  Reply With Quote
01-04-18, 09:39 PM   #4
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,292
Originally Posted by briskman3000 View Post
From my understanding, the chat bubbles become protected at the same time the friendly nameplates do.
Too much time since WOD, the Garrison is an instance where Class Halls aren't /facepalm, thank you.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
01-05-18, 11:26 AM   #5
warcry16
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Fizzlemizz View Post
Once you have the frame (bubbleframe here) you can use:
Lua Code:
  1. for i = 1, select("#", bubbleframe:GetRegions()) do
  2.     local region = select(i, bubbleframe:GetRegions())
  3.     if region:GetObjectType() == "FontString" then
  4.         region:SetShadowOffset(2, -2)
  5.     end
  6. end

Personally I can't figure out when/why the system will use protected chat bubble frames or not.
How exactly do I insert this , do I make a new lua file and just make it an addon ? Or something else? Very new to these kind of things. Thanks for the help

edit: I don't really want to open another thread for little ui questions, but is it possible to move the dot icons on the nameplates further down? On my nameplates they are way to far above:

https://i.imgur.com/GzrYSKn.png

If there is another command for this , that would make my day !

Last edited by warcry16 : 01-05-18 at 11:36 AM.
  Reply With Quote
01-05-18, 11:43 AM   #6
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,292
You said "I removed the background from the chat bubble" so I assume you wrote the code to do it.

You would insert it just after the code where you removed the backdrop.

You would have something like
Code:
frame:SetBackdrop(nil)
The label "frame" might be different.

Insert the code just after that line changing "bubbleframe" to whatever the "frame" label is in your code.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
01-05-18, 11:47 AM   #7
warcry16
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Fizzlemizz View Post
You said "I removed the background from the chat bubble" so I assume you wrote the code to do it.

You would insert it just after the code where you removed the backdrop.

You would have something like
Code:
frame:SetBackdrop(nil)
The label "frame" might be different.

Insert the code just after that line changing "bubbleframe" to whatever the "frame" label is in your code.
I actually didn't ^^, I downloaded 3 files named:
ChatBubble-Tail.blp
ChatBubble-Background.blp
ChatBubble-Backdrop.blp

and put them inside interface/Tooltips

so should I edit one of these files?
  Reply With Quote
01-05-18, 01:24 PM   #8
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,292
As mentioned above, the chatbubbles used in instances are protected so this aproach won't work there, my bad.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
01-05-18, 02:50 PM   #9
Ammako
A Frostmaul Preserver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 256
Originally Posted by warcry16 View Post
edit: I don't really want to open another thread for little ui questions, but is it possible to move the dot icons on the nameplates further down? On my nameplates they are way to far above:

https://i.imgur.com/GzrYSKn.png

If there is another command for this , that would make my day !
Try

lua Code:
  1. hooksecurefunc(NameplateBuffContainerMixin, "UpdateAnchor", function(self)
  2.     self:SetPoint("BOTTOM", self:GetParent(), "TOP", 0, targetYOffset);
  3. end)
  Reply With Quote
01-05-18, 05:02 PM   #10
warcry16
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Ammako View Post
Try

lua Code:
  1. hooksecurefunc(NameplateBuffContainerMixin, "UpdateAnchor", function(self)
  2.     self:SetPoint("BOTTOM", self:GetParent(), "TOP", 0, targetYOffset);
  3. end)
edit:

ok found how to make a lua file and a toc file, this worked . Thank you very much for your help

Last edited by warcry16 : 01-05-18 at 05:14 PM.
  Reply With Quote
01-05-18, 06:44 PM   #11
warcry16
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Fizzlemizz View Post
As mentioned above, the chatbubbles used in instances are protected so this aproach won't work there, my bad.
Are you sure though?

Somone I watch has these in dungeon and raids:


https://i.imgur.com/riDKY6H.png

https://i.imgur.com/8AfaWZz.png

they are clearly outlined, he uses elvui . Is there a way to just copy the settings without using elvui?

Last edited by warcry16 : 01-05-18 at 06:55 PM.
  Reply With Quote
01-05-18, 07:34 PM   #12
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,292
I don't see anything that looks like chat bubble text, it appears to be combat text although the second image is a bit hard to see much.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
01-05-18, 08:03 PM   #13
warcry16
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Fizzlemizz View Post
I don't see anything that looks like chat bubble text, it appears to be combat text although the second image is a bit hard to see much.
I actually just downloaded Elvui and literally disabled everything except the chat^^ and it works

https://i.imgur.com/FtjzTbS.png

I guess ill just play like this :P
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Chat bubble font outline

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off