Quantcast
nUI -- A full feature standalone UI replacement - Page 130 - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
02-02-09, 10:27 AM   #2581
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by AsheruWolf View Post
Ok Scott you posted about what I saw will the cooldown command turn off the warning all together?
Yes it will.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
02-02-09, 05:38 PM   #2582
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Exclamation nUI Beta v4.16.00 has just been released...

The problem with telling anyone that any given release is the last planned release before you're going to do something else is that it inevitably means that there's something really really wrong with the release you just put out if only so the universe can ensure that you have to put out at least one more you didn't plan on... I'm pretty sure Murphy was involved in that policy decision.

In any event, this is an EBF (emergency bug fix) which addresses the problem users were having with the new cooldown bar showing an icon for every rank of a given spell that was known.

As before... '/nui hud cooldown' turns the cooldown bar on and off, '/nui hud cdsound' turns the audio alert on and off and '/nui hud cdalert' turns the alert message on and off. Neither the alert message nor the alert sound is active when the cooldown bar itself is diabled -- so '/nui hud cooldown' is sufficient to turn it all on or off with one command.

As always, please report any bugs you come across at the official support site at http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=16845 if at all possible. Otherwise, bugs can be reported on any of the nUI comment boards or via direct e-mail to me at [email protected]

The current release is (or will be) available for download at any of the following locations...My continued thanks to everyone for their support!

How you can help support nUI's continued development: I am currently trying to recover from 14 months of unemployment and with over $20,000 in debt (unpaid mortgage payments, loans, etc.), every penny makes a serious difference. Your contribution of $5, $10, $20 or more to support the ongoing development of nUI would be greatly appreciated. Please visit https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/websc...tton_id=681357 to make a donation now!

Lastly, please vote for nUI and add it to your favorites list... it helps nUI get more exposure. Thanks for your support!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Version 4.16.00 (Beta)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

* Fixed a bug in the new cooldown bar where spells with multiple ranks produces an
icon in the cooldown bar for every rank of the spell the player knew. For any given
spell in the player's spellbook, the cooldown bar will now only display the highest
rank of that spell that is on active cooldown in the bar.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
02-02-09, 05:51 PM   #2583
AsheruWolf
Premium Member
 
AsheruWolf's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
Ok the good news is it now just shows the 1 rank of each spell bad news is the timers that should be under the spell are way off. (Shaman shocks also show all shocks as on cooldown was this intended?)
__________________
The end is never really the end, its the start of something new...
 
02-02-09, 06:06 PM   #2584
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by AsheruWolf View Post
Ok the good news is it now just shows the 1 rank of each spell bad news is the timers that should be under the spell are way off. (Shaman shocks also show all shocks as on cooldown was this intended?)
Okay... let's start with the timers... I cannot reproduce this problem and am at a *complete* loss as to what might be the cause of it unless it is related to having too many icons displayed. Maybe? I'll work on sorting that out. Does it do it no matter how many icons you have? Which HUD mode are you using?

Shamman... yeah... umm... that's the one class I have that I can't test with as my shammy is only lvl 10. /sigh

The way the cooldown bar works is it scans your spellbook when you log, or learn a new spell, for all of the spells you know that are not passive spells. It then loops through those spells once per pulse (whatever your nUI framerate is -- 30fps for most people unless you modified it with the slash command) and checks to see if *any* of your spells are on cooldown.

Every spell that is on cooldown is placed in a list by name and rank with the amount of time remaining before it is ready to cast again. That list is then compressed by spell name to only display the highest rank you know for that spell. In the end, you end up with one icon at the highest rank for every spell in your spellbook which is on cooldown.

Now... with my lock, my hunter, my shadow priest and my pally, that's never more than four or five spells. I do not own a druid and my shammy is only 10, so I can't comment on those and, to be honest, I haven't tested with my mage or rogue because, frankly, I didn't think to.

How many icons are we talking about for a shammy?

I'm not sure how to fix this while still avoiding having to maintain predefined tables of spells (which means this tool would break every time Bliz changes the spellbook).
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
02-02-09, 06:31 PM   #2585
AsheruWolf
Premium Member
 
AsheruWolf's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
Its 4 icons as all the shaman SHOCK spells share the same cooldown that I don't mind but do you want a pic of the error on my screen?
__________________
The end is never really the end, its the start of something new...
 
02-02-09, 06:36 PM   #2586
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Yes... a screencap might be helpful.

You're getting no error messages, right? And the text is in the wrong place for every icon whether you have one or ten and is in the wrong place right from word one... yes?

Originally Posted by AsheruWolf View Post
Its 4 icons as all the shaman SHOCK spells share the same cooldown that I don't mind but do you want a pic of the error on my screen?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
02-02-09, 11:25 PM   #2587
Ratheri
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Ratheri's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 106
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
Yes... a screencap might be helpful.

You're getting no error messages, right? And the text is in the wrong place for every icon whether you have one or ten and is in the wrong place right from word one... yes?
Actually, I think I know exactly what his problem is... Shammy shocks are on the same cooldown like hunter's traps. so when you fire one, they all go off. So when he uses frost shock, the fire shock and earth shock icons go up as well, because they are also on cooldown. sounds like it's working exactly as intended.
__________________
 
02-03-09, 12:27 AM   #2588
neuralassassin
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
neuralassassin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 423
I believe i'm having the same problem with the timers in the wrong spot heres a screen shot. I only use the simple hud with the health race bar disabled if i can do anything else let me know
edit: also i noticed that the range is written on top of the cool down bar was that intended?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_020309_011742.jpg
Views:	532
Size:	382.3 KB
ID:	2250  Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_020309_013110.jpg
Views:	514
Size:	498.9 KB
ID:	2251  
__________________


Last edited by neuralassassin : 02-03-09 at 01:27 AM.
 
02-03-09, 05:33 AM   #2589
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by neuralassassin View Post
I believe i'm having the same problem with the timers in the wrong spot heres a screen shot. I only use the simple hud with the health race bar disabled if i can do anything else let me know
edit: also i noticed that the range is written on top of the cool down bar was that intended?
Hmm... it looks like your Range indicator is in the wrong place, as is the Cooldown bar itself (it's higher than it should be). I'm wondering if this isn't tied to all the people complaining about bars and such being in the middle of their toons... it seems like everything in your UI is closer to the center than it should be.

I'm curious... do you have the "Use UI Scale" option enabled in the video options section? If so, try this for me... turn the "Use UI Scale" option off and then do a '/nui rl' -- now retest... does the cooldown bar overlay the Range still? Are your text labels still in the wrong place? Let me know the outcome as this may be another thing that needs fixing with that video option enabled.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/

Last edited by spiel2001 : 02-03-09 at 05:42 AM.
 
02-03-09, 09:39 AM   #2590
AsheruWolf
Premium Member
 
AsheruWolf's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
Oh goody Im not the only one and I don't think I have the most cluttered UI anymore

PS. UI scale isn't on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ErrorUIminor.jpg
Views:	545
Size:	683.6 KB
ID:	2252  
__________________
The end is never really the end, its the start of something new...

Last edited by AsheruWolf : 02-03-09 at 10:02 AM.
 
02-03-09, 12:29 PM   #2591
neuralassassin
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
neuralassassin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 423
No I have never used UI scale but what you said about the bars being closer to the middle made me think and the end results is titan panel is causing the range indicator to be off. Everything else adjust's when i enable it except the hud i guess. Screen shot with titan disabled below, however the timer issue is still there
edit: after looking at asheruwolf's screen shot i noticed a big difference in the font for the range his seems much smaller i hadnt modified as far as i knew mine was the default font I disabled all mods and same scenario am I wrong about the fonts?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_020309_132002.jpg
Views:	506
Size:	478.2 KB
ID:	2253  
__________________


Last edited by neuralassassin : 02-03-09 at 01:54 PM.
 
02-03-09, 02:29 PM   #2592
gman265
Premium Member
 
gman265's Avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Hello,

I am having the same offset timers as the these other posters. I actually noticed the problem in your previous (final) - release. Everything else seems to be working fine for me. I have attached a screen shot. I don't know about the range indicator, I have covered mine up a long time ago.
I too am using the hud in simple mode.

Thanks for this wonderful thing I like to call. NUI the UI brought down by the gods.

-gman

Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot_020309_130032.jpeg
Views:	95
Size:	400.8 KB
ID:	2255 Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot_020309_130103.jpeg
Views:	94
Size:	416.3 KB
ID:	2256

Last edited by gman265 : 02-03-09 at 09:42 PM. Reason: Changed attachment location
 
02-03-09, 02:30 PM   #2593
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by neuralassassin View Post
No I have never used UI scale but what you said about the bars being closer to the middle made me think and the end results is titan panel is causing the range indicator to be off. Everything else adjust's when i enable it except the hud i guess. Screen shot with titan disabled below, however the timer issue is still there
edit: after looking at asheruwolf's screen shot i noticed a big difference in the font for the range his seems much smaller i hadnt modified as far as i knew mine was the default font I disabled all mods and same scenario am I wrong about the fonts?
I think we're dealing with two different things here... the location of the Range indicator and such and the location of the text for the cooldown... and then a third item is the size of your fonts. These are actually all independent things.

The location of the HUD and range text is based on a few things... where the center of the world frame is and the height of the dashboard. Something about using a bottom bar is tweaking that... so I'll have to figure out the right "math" to fix that when you have a bottom bar... that will address the issue of the range text, cooldown bar and aura bar all overlapping and likely will fix the problem people have been reporting about the HUD elements being in the "center" of the screen.

The location of the text on your cooldown bar is a bug. I have *no* clue what the source of that issue is, yet, but will look into it this evening. I just have to figure out how to reproduce it myself so I can track dounw the cause.

The last issue is the size of your fonts and that's something nUI dynamically calculates based on your display resolution. So, unless the two of you are using the same resolution, I wouldn't expect your text sizes to be the same.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
02-03-09, 02:37 PM   #2594
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by gman265 View Post
Hello,

I am having the same offset timers as the these other posters. I actually noticed the problem in your previous (final) - release. Everything else seems to be working fine for me. I have attached a screen shot. I don't know about the range indicator, I have covered mine up a long time ago.
I too am using the hud in simple mode.

Thanks for this wonderful thing I like to call. NUI the UI brought down by the gods.

-gman
Thanks for the kind word ~smile~

As with the prior posts, I'll have a look and see what I can sort out... obviously I need to get this all fixed before I move on to the 5.0

I might also suggest you consider removing the location indicator and the PvP timer from your bars... both are built into nUI and including them in your bars is adding extra load to your system. Just food for thought.

I also like the bar background to the range indicator -- I'll have to see about adding that to the 5.0 -- then you can lose that mod, too ~smile~
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
02-03-09, 02:52 PM   #2595
neuralassassin
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
neuralassassin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 423
Cool thanks let me know if you need anymore info
__________________

 
02-03-09, 03:07 PM   #2596
mscott998
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 152
Originally Posted by neuralassassin View Post
No I have never used UI scale but what you said about the bars being closer to the middle made me think and the end results is titan panel is causing the range indicator to be off. Everything else adjust's when i enable it except the hud i guess. Screen shot with titan disabled below, however the timer issue is still there
edit: after looking at asheruwolf's screen shot i noticed a big difference in the font for the range his seems much smaller i hadnt modified as far as i knew mine was the default font I disabled all mods and same scenario am I wrong about the fonts?
ok i have to ask, what is the map item that you have in the upper right hand of the screenshot you submitted, i like that
 
02-03-09, 05:29 PM   #2597
bakes82
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 21
hes using carbonite, its also his quest log on the left
 
02-03-09, 05:30 PM   #2598
Gremriel
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Originally Posted by mscott998 View Post
ok i have to ask, what is the map item that you have in the upper right hand of the screenshot you submitted, i like that
That is Carbonite
 
02-03-09, 05:59 PM   #2599
neuralassassin
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
neuralassassin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 423
Yea the map in the top left is carbonite beats the pants off quest helper everyday of the week
im in the process(very slow going) of trying to learn enough to integrate it into the info panel. I kno a buch of people talked about it but I hadnt heard anything for awhile so im trying myself IF i ever finish it
__________________

 
02-03-09, 06:20 PM   #2600
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Exclamation

Gman265, AsheruWolf and Neuralassassin --

EDIT -- attached is a working copy of nUI (this is *not* a release!) -- can you guys (or anyone else having issues with the cooldown bar timers being in the wrong place) please install this copy of nUI and let me know if it fixes your problem?

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nUI.zip (1.25 MB, 463 views)
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/

Last edited by spiel2001 : 02-03-09 at 08:57 PM.
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Technical Support » nUI -- A full feature standalone UI replacement

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off