Quantcast whats wrong with a taint? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
05-23-10, 06:14 PM   #1
alimjocox
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 96
whats wrong with a taint?

"Interface action failed because of an AddOn"

why is it frowned upon? any negative effects other than being annoying and looking ugly?
  Reply With Quote
05-23-10, 06:33 PM   #2
Waverian
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 188
In most cases this doesn't really matter, however the message is there because it's entirely possible for the taint to break functionality in either the addon or the default UI itself.
  Reply With Quote
05-23-10, 07:46 PM   #3
Arrowmaster
An Aku'mai Servant
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
If you see that message then either functionality of the default UI has been broken or an addon is trying to do something that Blizzard doesn't allow addons to do.
  Reply With Quote
05-23-10, 08:58 PM   #4
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,671
Regular taint is (usually) fine. Whenever an addon touches a secure part of Blizzard's code (even just a variable), it "taints" it - meaning it's no longer pure. But the "Interface action blocked" messages mean that the taint is severe enough to actually prevent the default UI from doing something or, like Arrowmaster said, the addon is trying to do something that it is not allowed to do. These messages usually pop up in combat, when the default UI locks down and is more restrictive.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
05-24-10, 02:21 AM   #5
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
Yeah, it doesn't always have a real effect. For example, if you try to resize/scale the world map while in combat and still have the 'blob' frame (the blue highlight for quest objectives) showing, you get one of those taints. But nothing actually breaks.
  Reply With Quote
05-25-10, 07:55 AM   #6
IBLJerry
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Taint is dangerous because it spreads through execution path, so even something that is seen as a innocent taint might have adverse and weird effect on the overall UI at a later time, or when something specific occurs. This leads to confusion about why and how some weird bug or unresponsive UI occurs when it's in fact a taint.

So overall, I would suggest being very careful and conscious about taint. For instance, a lot of people use the UIFrameFade/UIFrameFlash API as if tainting them had no consequence, where in fact it breaks the default UI when someone uses the internal voice chat.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » whats wrong with a taint?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off