Quantcast wow on RAMdrive - Page 2 - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
03-10-11, 09:30 PM   #21
jbashara
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
jbashara's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 17
Okay, most of you -- since you're even talking about running WoW on solid memory -- probably already know this, but just in case; no matter what the medium, heavy file fragmentation can also degrade performance. It's a lot more important on conventional hard drives; defragging your WoW folder/installation (and even placing it closer to the beginning of the disk) can improve I/O performance.

Some "game booster" apps will let you defrag single install folders, although a better solution (with more options and better methods) is the popular freeware program "MyDefrag." I'm not too familiar with defragging when it comes to SSD though; I hear there are right and wrong ways to do it.
__________________

"People with real courage and character always seem sinister to the rest."
- Herman Hesse, Damian
  Reply With Quote
03-11-11, 12:06 AM   #22
Coote
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Coote's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 440
Originally Posted by jbashara View Post
I'm not too familiar with defragging when it comes to SSD though; I hear there are right and wrong ways to do it.
OT: Defragging is bad with an SSD, you don't do it at all. You use the TRIM command, which is a special garbage collection meant for SSDs.
__________________

"This is the fifteen-thousandth four hundredth and ninety-eighth occurence".
  Reply With Quote
03-11-11, 06:06 PM   #23
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,988
Originally Posted by TMcMahon51 View Post
OT: Defragging is bad with an SSD, you don't do it at all. You use the TRIM command, which is a special garbage collection meant for SSDs.
Thank you for this bit of info!! I have an SSD, but have not installed it yet. Do you by chance have more info about this TRIM command?
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
AddOn Authors: If your addon spams the chat box with "Addon v8.3.4.5.3 now loaded!", please add an option to disable it!
  Reply With Quote
03-11-11, 07:24 PM   #24
Nobgul
A Molten Giant
 
Nobgul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
Originally Posted by Petrah View Post
Thank you for this bit of info!! I have an SSD, but have not installed it yet. Do you by chance have more info about this TRIM command?
http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/sto...nce-and-trim/1
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
05-03-11, 11:54 AM   #25
markhr
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 23
Running 4 SSDs.

2 as a system, firewall, utilities, programs main/boot raid0
2 as a WoW raid0 and some storage (only things I won't need when using WoW)

While they don't achieve the same amazing (unbelievable more like) performance of *that* samsung viral video they do drastically improve load times in crowded areas and stability when you run into a bunch of new textures.

Therefore, I'd strongly recommend a SSD for running WoW but you'll need at least double the size WoW is (SSD should be more than 55Gb I think) to avoid the "insufficient disk space" patch day problem.

I'd recommend a second SSD for your system and boot files too for better general performance but check how much your WoW experience improves with a dedicated SSD first before adding any more expensive items. I also don't know if you need at least double the space for Windows to run properly.

Someone with more knowledge than me could also/has probably either link(ed) an internet guide/resource or describe(d) whether further seperation via different drives for system/boot and program/firewall improves pc performance but that's beyond the scope of my post.
  Reply With Quote
05-04-11, 11:12 AM   #26
Xinhuan
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Xinhuan's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 174
Originally Posted by markhr View Post
I also don't know if you need at least double the space for Windows to run properly.
You don't. I know this because I just ran out of harddisk space on C: last week when I let iTunes automatically download podcasts and keep them forever. iTunes started complaining about lack of disk space, I looked and saw less than 800 MB space, and I never saw any performance issues in Windows 7.
__________________
Author of Postal, Omen3, GemHelper, BankItems, WoWEquip, GatherMate, GatherMate2, Routes and Cartographer_Routes
  Reply With Quote
05-04-11, 12:33 PM   #27
markhr
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 23
thanks
...
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » General Discussion » Tech Chat » wow on RAMdrive

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off