Quantcast
AutoRespond - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
10-18-14, 01:38 AM   #1
Gfiti
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
AutoRespond

Hey there!

Long long ago I used this addon: http://www.wowinterface.com/download...toRespond.html

It allowed the user to automatically respond to given keywords. Sadly it was not updated for ages.

Does anyone know if there is a working plugin out there that does the same? Or would anyone be willing to pick up the long broken plugin and update it again?
  Reply With Quote
10-18-14, 03:05 AM   #2
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
What exactly is broken? I don't think anything has changed with the chat message API in many years...
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
10-18-14, 03:46 AM   #3
Gfiti
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
What exactly is broken? I don't think anything has changed with the chat message API in many years...
The entire addon? Sorry, not sure what exactly broke I am not an addon expert. I can only tell you that it isnt working anymore, and hasnt for years.
  Reply With Quote
10-18-14, 03:55 AM   #4
Choonstertwo
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Choonstertwo's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 194
Do you get any Lua errors? Make sure you have them enabled in the Interface menu. An error AddOn like Swatter (included with Auctioneer) or BugSack will show you more errors than the default UI.
  Reply With Quote
10-18-14, 07:03 AM   #5
Gfiti
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by Choonstertwo View Post
Do you get any Lua errors? Make sure you have them enabled in the Interface menu. An error AddOn like Swatter (included with Auctioneer) or BugSack will show you more errors than the default UI.
Here we go:

Date: 2014-10-18 14:58:18
ID: 1
Error occured in: Global
Count: 1
Message: [string "AutoRespondFrame_ResponseFrame_ButtonListKeywords:OnLoad"] line 1:
attempt to index global 'this' (a nil value)
Debug:
[string "*:OnLoad"]:1:
[string "*:OnLoad"]:1
Locals:
self = AutoRespondFrame_ResponseFrame_ButtonListKeywords {
0 = <userdata>
}
(*temporary) = <function> defined @Interface\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:3298
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = "attempt to index global 'this' (a nil value)"

AddOns:
Swatter, v5.21.5490 (SanctimoniousSwamprat)
AlternateButtonTemplate, v0.7.18
AucAdvanced, v5.21.5490 (SanctimoniousSwamprat)
AucFilterBasic, v5.21.5490 (SanctimoniousSwamprat)
AucFilterOutlier, v5.21.5490.5459(5.21a/embedded)
AucMatchUndercut, v5.21.5490.5364(5.21a/embedded)
AucStatHistogram, v5.21.5490 (SanctimoniousSwamprat)
AucStatiLevel, v5.21.5490 (SanctimoniousSwamprat)
AucStatPurchased, v5.21.5490 (SanctimoniousSwamprat)
AucStatSales, v5.21.5490.5476(5.21a/embedded)
AucStatSimple, v5.21.5490 (SanctimoniousSwamprat)
AucStatStdDev, v5.21.5490 (SanctimoniousSwamprat)
AucStatWOWEcon, v5.21.5490.5323(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilAHWindowControl, v5.21.5490.5347(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilAppraiser, v5.21.5490.5462(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilAskPrice, v5.21.5490.5447(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilAutoMagic, v5.21.5490.5443(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilCompactUI, v5.21.5490.5444(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilEasyBuyout, v5.21.5490.5458(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilFixAH, v5.21.5490 (SanctimoniousSwamprat)
AucUtilItemSuggest, v5.21.5490.5417(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilPriceLevel, v5.21.5490.5458(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilScanButton, v5.21.5490.5403(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilScanFinish, v5.21.5490.5347(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilScanProgress, v5.21.5490.4979(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilScanStart, v5.21.5490.5347(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilSearchUI, v5.21.5490.5481(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilSimpleAuction, v5.21.5490.5452(5.21a/embedded)
AucUtilVendMarkup, v5.21.5490.4828(5.21a/embedded)
AutoRespond, v
Babylonian, v5.1.DEV.332(/embedded)
Configator, v5.1.DEV.359(/embedded)
DebugLib, v5.1.DEV.337(/embedded)
LibExtraTip, v5.12.DEV.363(/embedded)
Stubby, v5.21.5490 (SanctimoniousSwamprat)
TipHelper, v5.12.DEV.351(/embedded)
BlizRuntimeLib_deDE v6.0.2.60000 <none>
(ck=703)




There is 23 more, do I need at add them all?

As far as I can remember the addon is broken since WotLK was released, back in BC I saw many people using it.
  Reply With Quote
10-18-14, 07:29 AM   #6
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by Gfiti View Post
As far as I can remember the addon is broken since WotLK was released, ....
Haha, well, that would have been good info to open with, since the set of possible causes for "broke when WotLK was released" is completely different than the set of possible causes for "broke when 6.0 went live".

This thread has some info on how to update addons for the removal of global "this" etc. arguments:
http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=34866

I have enough work to do with my own addons, though, so I really don't have time to fix up some random 5-year-old addon for you right now. Maybe someone else can help if you're not able to do the fixes yourself, or find a more up-to-date addon.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
10-18-14, 02:20 PM   #7
Gfiti
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
Haha, well, that would have been good info to open with, since the set of possible causes for "broke when WotLK was released" is completely different than the set of possible causes for "broke when 6.0 went live".

This thread has some info on how to update addons for the removal of global "this" etc. arguments:
http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=34866

I have enough work to do with my own addons, though, so I really don't have time to fix up some random 5-year-old addon for you right now. Maybe someone else can help if you're not able to do the fixes yourself, or find a more up-to-date addon.
Thanks for the link, but sadly that already goes beyond my abilities. As I said i am not an addon expert, I also thing it wouldnt be optimal if i just manage to fix it for myself every time.

I do understand that you don't have the time for that of course, lets hope someone who does have the time sees this thread.

I'd love to see this continued or remade by someone who knows what he is doing, so that it can be used by anyone again.
  Reply With Quote
10-20-14, 04:49 AM   #8
Ashkir
A Cyclonian
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 40
That addon seems cool! :O Wish I would've known it existed. I'd totally use it as a crafting barker addon. Whisper me <keyword> + name for price quotes.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » AutoRespond

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off