Thread Tools Display Modes
04-19-08, 01:41 AM   #1
bcsbcs
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Possible to change chat channel from a lua script?

Greetings,

I have looked all over and either I'm just not seeing it or its not their but I am trying to find a way of changing the current chat channel from a lua addon.

To simplify I am wanting to do a /p to change my default channel to party from within a lua script as I have a addon that automatically sets the loot mode for FFA but cant get it to put me into group chat automatically too.

If anyone can tell me how this can be done it'd really be nice as I have looked all over before posting this.


Kind regards,

BS
  Reply With Quote
04-19-08, 02:45 PM   #2
ganders
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 131
Try something like
Code:
SendChatMessage("", "PARTY")
and see if that switches it for you.
  Reply With Quote
04-19-08, 03:22 PM   #3
bcsbcs
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks for the suggestion but unfortunately although it puts a message in the party channel it doesnt actually change it for the next time you press enter.

Regards

BS
  Reply With Quote
04-19-08, 06:40 PM   #4
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
Do you use a chat mod that has a sticky chat feature already? If not, then that would probably be the way for you to go.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
04-19-08, 06:42 PM   #5
ganders
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 131
Oh if you're trying to make party chat sticky then:
Code:
ChatTypeInfo['PARTY'].sticky = 1
  Reply With Quote
04-20-08, 03:48 AM   #6
bcsbcs
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks for the further suggestions which work fine if you set the channel manually using /p for party but I cant get my script to set me to party chat automatically when forming a group.

Regards

BS
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Possible to change chat channel from a lua script?


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off