Thread Tools Display Modes
08-19-11, 02:17 AM   #1
sigg
Featured Artist
 
sigg's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,251
Need your help to test the new Header feature

Hello

I updated the feature Header single (also rename it as Header) in the github.

Most of the current raidframes and petraidframes windows use the "Header Grid" feature (with a set datasource).

I need your help to test the new Header engine. Just remove "Datasource: Set" and "Header Grid" on your windows and replace them by the Header.

With the header, your windows should be able to update when someone enter or leave the raid and even if you are under combat.

When you are disconnected from the game, at the first logon, every thing should work fine now.

It also working for the pet raid frames that will prevent you to see some strange behaviours.



Thanks you very much

Cheers
Sigg
__________________
RDX manager
Sigg
  Reply With Quote
08-19-11, 03:33 AM   #2
Narinka
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
Cool, will try..
  Reply With Quote
08-19-11, 07:08 AM   #3
Brainn
A Frostmaul Preserver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 263
just did some quick tests inviting/removing people from a raidgroup while in combat, and it seems to work so far.

nice work as allways !
  Reply With Quote
08-19-11, 07:31 AM   #4
sigg
Featured Artist
 
sigg's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,251
Cool

but damn...

I have to modify all raidframes windows of all the themes

__________________
RDX manager
Sigg
  Reply With Quote
08-19-11, 01:04 PM   #5
Narinka
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
err.. what i do wrong..
It should be sigg-RDX-24b71ed? right?
Installed it and can't see "Header" feature, only "Header single"

Last edited by Narinka : 08-19-11 at 01:09 PM.
  Reply With Quote
08-19-11, 05:50 PM   #6
Brainn
A Frostmaul Preserver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 263
i was a bit confused about that too, but the "header single" should be the feature sigg talked about
the feature itself has been in there for a long time, but the updating for new/removed units while in combat never worked, with the new version it works
  Reply With Quote
08-20-11, 02:10 AM   #7
Narinka
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
Ah, I see.. thanks
Then..
- it doesn't work with my nominative set;
- you can't add nominative set icon with header single;
- when you leave raid during combat player unitframe is present as it seems (i can click it and select myself in "empty" space) but do not draw itself.

Last edited by Narinka : 08-20-11 at 05:51 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08-30-11, 03:41 AM   #8
sigg
Featured Artist
 
sigg's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,251
Red face

Hello

It definitively doesn't work well...

The problem is coming from the header.

When the header is created, it will create one child for each raid member.

When the number of raid member decrease, unused child are simply hidden.
When the number of raid member increase, unused child are used until there is no more left, and then the header will create new child if need.

It is not working fine, when the header need to create new child. You should have a error.

Even if you are disconnected from the game, it doesn't work well.

I added a try/catch statement in the code for this specific case.
This will prevent error to break all, and the window will be automatically rebuild at the end of the combat.

The only thing I can do for now, is to request Blizzard to add a argument option in the creation of the header, to ask the header to create by default 25 childs.

Request to Blizzard:
Add a new attribute in the header
header:SetAttribute("childnumber", "25");

In the file SecureGroupHeaders.lua, line 148

Code:
	local needButtons = max(1, numDisplayed);
	if not ( self:GetAttribute("child"..needButtons) ) then
		local buttonTemplate = self:GetAttribute("template");
		local templateType = self:GetAttribute("templateType") or "Button";
		local name = self:GetName();
		for i = 1, needButtons, 1 do
			local childAttr = "child" .. i;
			if not ( self:GetAttribute(childAttr) ) then
				local newButton = CreateFrame(templateType, name and (name.."UnitButton"..i), self, buttonTemplate);
				self[i] = newButton;
				SetupUnitButtonConfiguration(self, newButton);
				setAttributesWithoutResponse(self, childAttr, newButton, "frameref-"..childAttr, GetFrameHandle(newButton));
			end
		end
	end

Replace by

Code:
	local needButtons = max(1, numDisplayed);
	local defaultnumberButtons = self:GetAttribute("childnumber");
	if defaultnumberButtons and tonumber(defaultnumberButtons) then
		if needButtons < tonumber(defaultnumberButtons) then
			needButtons = tonumber(defaultnumberButtons);
		end
	end
	if not ( self:GetAttribute("child"..needButtons) ) then
		local buttonTemplate = self:GetAttribute("template");
		local templateType = self:GetAttribute("templateType") or "Button";
		local name = self:GetName();
		for i = 1, needButtons, 1 do
			local childAttr = "child" .. i;
			if not ( self:GetAttribute(childAttr) ) then
				local newButton = CreateFrame(templateType, name and (name.."UnitButton"..i), self, buttonTemplate);
				self[i] = newButton;
				SetupUnitButtonConfiguration(self, newButton);
				setAttributesWithoutResponse(self, childAttr, newButton, "frameref-"..childAttr, GetFrameHandle(newButton));
			end
		end
	end
This will help us a lot.
__________________
RDX manager
Sigg
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » OpenRDX » OpenRDX Community » OpenRDX: Community Chat » Need your help to test the new Header feature


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off