Quantcast
Empty ToolBox Window Despite All Troubleshooting! - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
04-05-06, 11:30 PM   #1
jdreinstein
A Murloc Raider
 
jdreinstein's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Question Empty ToolBox Window Despite All Troubleshooting!

Gentlemen,

I have installed all of the required components in the order listed, including the optional ones. I have extracted all art and such with WinMPQ as instructed. I have changed C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\ to exclude the trailing slash in both work and data directories, and i have copied the new structure (WoW)\Interface Art [Data] to the WoW folder itself, but still to no avail.

My toolbox still remains empty! From the fact that others are discussing ways to go about using the designer, I deduce that others can use it. What am I doing wrong? How can I go about filling my toolbox?

Please reply soon!

Highest Regards,
Justin Reinstein
  Reply With Quote
04-06-06, 01:12 AM   #2
Nulkris
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Nulkris's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 214
In the installation directory there is a log file created called wowuides.dbg. Zip that up and post it here as an attachment.
__________________
Nulkris - A80 Rogue - Proudmoore
(Also Drukris, Hamkris on Proudmoore; Hulkris on Jubei'Thos & Khaz Modan)
  Reply With Quote
04-06-06, 09:16 AM   #3
jdreinstein
A Murloc Raider
 
jdreinstein's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Post Debug Log

Originally Posted by Nulkris
In the installation directory there is a log file created called wowuides.dbg. Zip that up and post it here as an attachment.
Here is the asked-for log.

Thanks for your quick reply, Nulkris.
Attached Files
File Type: zip wowuides.zip (7.4 KB, 657 views)
  Reply With Quote
04-06-06, 05:13 PM   #4
Nulkris
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Nulkris's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 214
Thanks for the log. You are using the wrong version for WoW 1.10 support, you need to download and install http://wowuides.wowinterface.com/nb/...v1.0.300.2.msi and try again.

Thanks
Nulk
__________________
Nulkris - A80 Rogue - Proudmoore
(Also Drukris, Hamkris on Proudmoore; Hulkris on Jubei'Thos & Khaz Modan)
  Reply With Quote
04-06-06, 05:54 PM   #5
jdreinstein
A Murloc Raider
 
jdreinstein's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by Nulkris
Thanks for the log. You are using the wrong version for WoW 1.10 support, you need to download and install http://wowuides.wowinterface.com/nb/...v1.0.300.2.msi and try again.

Thanks
Nulk
Well, I downloaded the link you included, and after removing the original install with the original installer, I installed the above version. Unfortunately, now whenever I try to run the program, I get the standard "Has encountered an error" and would I like to send Microsoft a log.

No, I don't, incidentally.

I know that it's probably me, what am I doing wrong?
  Reply With Quote
04-06-06, 06:42 PM   #6
Nulkris
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Nulkris's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 214
Try deleting the file dockstate.xml in the installation directory.
__________________
Nulkris - A80 Rogue - Proudmoore
(Also Drukris, Hamkris on Proudmoore; Hulkris on Jubei'Thos & Khaz Modan)

Last edited by Nulkris : 04-11-06 at 06:50 PM. Reason: Cause I'm dumb
  Reply With Quote
04-11-06, 10:33 AM   #7
jdreinstein
A Murloc Raider
 
jdreinstein's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Unhappy Errors Continue

I still have not been able to open the WoW UI Designer and get tools. Now, after the recent deletion of dockstate.xml in the directory, the program simply crashes on startup. I have uninstalled and reinstalled. Any other suggestions? I'd really like to write an addon.

Last edited by jdreinstein : 04-12-06 at 10:52 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04-12-06, 10:52 AM   #8
jdreinstein
A Murloc Raider
 
jdreinstein's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Unhappy deleting dockstate.xml doesn't help.

still crashes on exec. here is the "error data" that i can garner after i receive the "has encountered an error and would like to close" box.

"missingmethodexception in wowuides"

Sorry, won't let me cut and paste.

Help?
  Reply With Quote
04-12-06, 05:26 PM   #9
Nulkris
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Nulkris's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 214
That error has been fixed so far by reinstalling all versions of the .NET framework (1.0, 1.1 & 2.0), and applying all service packs to them.

Also, before running, delete the wowuides.dbg file, then see if anything is being written to it, if so, attach it to a reply.
__________________
Nulkris - A80 Rogue - Proudmoore
(Also Drukris, Hamkris on Proudmoore; Hulkris on Jubei'Thos & Khaz Modan)
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » Empty ToolBox Window Despite All Troubleshooting!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off