Quantcast Config wtf file is beating me - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
09-22-09, 07:15 PM   #1
WaldoJeffers
A Molten Giant
 
WaldoJeffers's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 564
Config wtf file is beating me

Hey people,

My new 1980x1020 screen does not seem to like the config file (.../wow/WTF/config) compiled in other users custom interfaces. Whenever I launch WoW with their (I've only tried 1 custom interface so far with this screen) config file I see the WoW screen for 1/2 a second and then my pc shutsdown. Something in this config doesn't play nice with my new screen - maybe someone might know?

Code:
SET readTOS "1"
SET readEULA "1"
SET readScanning "-1"
SET readContest "-1"
SET locale "enGB"
SET hwDetect "0"
SET gxResolution "1680x1050"
SET gxRefresh "60"
SET gxMultisampleQuality "0.000000"
SET fullAlpha "1"
SET SmallCull "0.040000"
SET DistCull "500.000000"
SET trilinear "1"
SET frillDensity "24"
SET farclip "397"
SET pixelShaders "1"
SET unitDrawDist "300.000000"
SET movie "0"
SET realmList "eu.logon.worldofwarcraft.com"
SET readTerminationWithoutNotice "1"
SET installType "Retail"
SET showToolsUI "0"
SET portal "eu"
SET patchlist "eu.version.worldofwarcraft.com"
SET coresDetected "1"
SET videoOptionsVersion "2"
SET Gamma "1.000000"
SET Sound_OutputDriverName "System Default"
SET Sound_MusicVolume "0.20000000298023"
SET Sound_AmbienceVolume "0.60000002384186"
SET groundEffectDensity "32"
SET groundEffectDist "90"
SET mouseSpeed "1.1499999761581"
SET Sound_VoiceChatInputDriverName "System Default"
SET Sound_VoiceChatOutputDriverName "System Default"
SET ChatMusicVolume "0.29999998211861"
SET ChatSoundVolume "0.39999997615814"
SET ChatAmbienceVolume "0.29999998211861"
SET realmName "Draenor"
SET gameTip "104"
SET VoiceActivationSensitivity "0.39999997615814"
SET uiScale "0.63999998569489"
SET useUiScale "1"
SET spellEffectLevel "7"
SET environmentDetail "0.75"
SET weatherDensity "0"
SET Sound_EnableDSPEffects "1"
SET Sound_OutputQuality "2"
SET Sound_NumChannels "64"
SET Sound_EnableHardware "1"
SET Sound_MasterVolume "0.80000001192093"
SET Sound_SFXVolume "0.5"
SET movieSubtitle "1"
SET showGameTips "0"
SET screenshotFormat "jpg"
SET screenshotQuality "6"
SET Sound_EnableErrorSpeech "0"
SET checkAddonVersion "0"
SET accounttype "LK"
SET gxVSync "0"
SET particleDensity "0.20000000298023"
SET ffxGlow "0"
SET projectedTextures "1"
SET textureFilteringMode "2"
SET componentTextureLevel "9"
SET gxFixLag "0"
SET ffxDeath "0"
SET lastCharacterIndex "2"
__________________
I said lady, step inside my Hyundai
  Reply With Quote
09-22-09, 07:27 PM   #2
WaldoJeffers
A Molten Giant
 
WaldoJeffers's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 564
I've tried 2 custom interfaces now. As opposed to the above, this file worked no dramas

Code:
SET locale "enGB"
SET coresDetected "2"
SET hwDetect "0"
SET gxResolution "1680x1050"
SET gxMultisampleQuality "0.000000"
SET gxFixLag "0"
SET videoOptionsVersion "2"
SET textureFilteringMode "5"
SET pixelShaders "1"
SET movie "0"
SET Gamma "1.000000"
SET readTOS "1"
SET readEULA "1"
SET readTerminationWithoutNotice "1"
SET showToolsUI "1"
SET Sound_VoiceChatInputDriverName "System Default"
SET Sound_VoiceChatOutputDriverName "System Default"
SET Sound_OutputDriverName "System Default"
SET realmList "eu.logon.worldofwarcraft.com"
SET patchlist "eu.version.worldofwarcraft.com"
SET SmallCull "0"
SET DistCull "500.000000"
SET shadowLevel "0"
SET farclip "1277"
SET groundEffectDensity "56"
SET groundEffectDist "140"
SET gameTip "34"
SET uiScale "0.63999998569489"
SET useUiScale "1"
SET ChatMusicVolume "0.50999999046326"
SET ChatSoundVolume "0.50999999046326"
SET ChatAmbienceVolume "0.50999999046326"
SET Sound_MasterVolume "0.10000000149012"
SET Sound_SFXVolume "0.20000000298023"
SET Sound_MusicVolume "0.20000000298023"
SET Sound_AmbienceVolume "0.20000000298023"
SET OutboundChatVolume "1"
SET InboundChatVolume "1"
SET VoiceActivationSensitivity "0.39999997615814"
SET Sound_EnableReverb "1"
SET Sound_EnableErrorSpeech "0"
SET Sound_ZoneMusicNoDelay "1"
SET Sound_EnableSoundWhenGameIsInBG "1"
SET scriptProfile "1"
SET readScanning "-1"
SET readContest "-1"
SET showPartyDebuffs "0"
SET mouseSpeed "1"
SET installType "Retail"
SET portal "eu"
SET extShadowQuality "2"
SET specular "1"
SET environmentDetail "1.25"
SET accountName "HELLO GUSY DIS IS KAMIIUI"
SET maxFPS "70"
SET gxRefresh "60"
SET timingTestError "0"
SET EnableMicrophone "0"
SET screenshotQuality "6"
SET accounttype "LK"
SET componentTextureLevel "9"
SET Sound_EnableSoftwareHRTF "1"
SET projectedTextures "1"
SET ffxDeath "0"
SET realmName "Stormscale"
SET checkAddonVersion "0"
SET weatherDensity "1"
SET Sound_EnableMusic "0"
SET particleDensity "0.80000001192093"
__________________
I said lady, step inside my Hyundai
  Reply With Quote
09-22-09, 07:30 PM   #3
Wimpface
A Molten Giant
 
Wimpface's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 648
This is odd, and welcome back.

I'm going to see if I can find my old TextCompare program and run it through there to see all differences. What was the first UI you downloaded containing the above-est (yes, I'm tired and my English is **** right now.) .WTF file?
__________________
All I see is strobe lights blinding me in my hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
09-22-09, 07:33 PM   #4
WaldoJeffers
A Molten Giant
 
WaldoJeffers's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 564
Hey wimps!

I was just about to pop in and say hello
The most abovest of above config file was from Led ui and the latter was from kami ui (no dramas with this one)
__________________
I said lady, step inside my Hyundai
  Reply With Quote
09-22-09, 07:46 PM   #5
WaldoJeffers
A Molten Giant
 
WaldoJeffers's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 564
The two files above do differentiate quite a bit, too. Not sure what's up there.
__________________
I said lady, step inside my Hyundai
  Reply With Quote
09-22-09, 08:04 PM   #6
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,661
Really, the only things you need from the config.wtf file for a ui compilation are whether to enable uiScale, what the scale is, and the resolution (yours is totally different from the one in the topmost config file, btw).

All the rest is sound and graphics settings, whether you read/accepted the EULA, the last server selected, the locale/region you're playing from, etc. All that stuff will be recreated by the game if not present in the file when logging in.

Try removing every line but those three, or removing the config.wtf file completely (since it doesn't fit your monitor's ratio anyway).
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
09-22-09, 08:13 PM   #7
WaldoJeffers
A Molten Giant
 
WaldoJeffers's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 564
Ok thanks, Serrah. I'll try that Umm so this is isn't a software or driver problem of mine it's just a matter of a few wow variables and anyone can get this problem? I've never had it before until this new screen.
__________________
I said lady, step inside my Hyundai
  Reply With Quote
09-22-09, 08:18 PM   #8
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,661
It may be a way that they are configured that your monitor's driver doesn't support, but... I would call that a variables issue, not a hardware one. (Just make sure that your drivers are up to date.)
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
09-22-09, 08:20 PM   #9
WaldoJeffers
A Molten Giant
 
WaldoJeffers's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 564
Happy days Thanks for that!
__________________
I said lady, step inside my Hyundai
  Reply With Quote
09-22-09, 10:10 PM   #10
zero-kill
A Firelord
 
zero-kill's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 497
Have you tried specifically deleting this one file when loading?
  Reply With Quote
09-22-09, 11:00 PM   #11
WaldoJeffers
A Molten Giant
 
WaldoJeffers's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 564
Yep, that file is certainly the culprit. Good thing it's a trivial file and I can go with out it.
__________________
I said lady, step inside my Hyundai
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » General Discussion » Tech Chat » Config wtf file is beating me

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off