Quantcast Black screen?!? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
10-22-11, 09:31 AM   #1
Chesireh
A Murloc Raider
 
Chesireh's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Black screen?!?

Hey everyone,
I have been experiencing a problem with WoW.
Like, I start the game, i login, i choose character and then when ur in the game, it goes black and i only have sound. My monitor then goes on a No input screen while my computer is still on D:
yet when i make a new character and enter that one it will work.
I rllly need some help for this. So please help me
  Reply With Quote
10-22-11, 10:12 AM   #2
Lily.Petal
A Molten Giant
 
Lily.Petal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 540
Might be a problem with an addon, try turning them all off and see if that fixes the problem; then try:

If it DOES fix it:
Turn off half your addons, if the problem is not there: it's in the other half
And just keep turning on and off half your addons until your find the problem,
so if you had, 100 addons, try 50, 25, 12 6 3 1. ;D BAM. Then just go to the config for that addon and change the config of that character on an alts (or reset it) and/or delete the wtf file for that addon.

If it DOESN'T fix it:
Try repairing your game via C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\Repair.exe
If the problem still persists, try calling their support line: Link.

But to me it sounds like an addon function JUST on that character that is messing up your screen.
__________________

Aggro Color to KG Panels Borders - Nibelheim
Lua Based UI Hider - Nibelheim
Custom LUA PowerText - Stuf - Nibelheim, Seerah

Last edited by Lily.Petal : 10-22-11 at 10:41 AM.
  Reply With Quote
10-22-11, 11:31 AM   #3
Rilgamon
Premium Member
 
Rilgamon's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 750
Go into the launcher and setting another resolution might help.
__________________
The cataclysm broke the world ... and the pandas could not fix it!
  Reply With Quote
10-23-11, 12:29 AM   #4
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
You can also reset your video/sound settings by deleting the following file:

World of Warcraft > WTF > Config.wtf

You can also clear your game's cached files, which may be corrupted, by deleting the following folder:

World of Warcraft > Cache > WDB

I'd suggest doing both of these things before running the repair tool (since it takes forever) or contacting Blizzard tech support.
  Reply With Quote
10-23-11, 09:15 AM   #5
Chesireh
A Murloc Raider
 
Chesireh's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Exclamation

Ohh im really sorry, I dont know what add ons are and where i can find them. pls explain :$ and for the rest ill try doing those points but i made a new character now, and shes lvl 12 <-- Im a newb and my other one was lvl 12 too. and she has the same problems with screen... Also, Does it maybe have anything to do with ram? cuz it said in the beginning i dont have enough RAM
  Reply With Quote
10-23-11, 09:24 AM   #6
Lily.Petal
A Molten Giant
 
Lily.Petal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 540
Hm if you are new then you probably won't have any addons. WoWInterface is an addon site btw ;D this site is full of addons (top left corner button!).

Since it's probably not an addon conflict, one of the other options people gave might help you more then.

Originally Posted by Chesireh View Post
Ohh im really sorry, I dont know what add ons are and where i can find them. pls explain :$ and for the rest ill try doing those points but i made a new character now, and shes lvl 12 <-- Im a newb and my other one was lvl 12 too. and she has the same problems with screen... Also, Does it maybe have anything to do with ram? cuz it said in the beginning i dont have enough RAM
__________________

Aggro Color to KG Panels Borders - Nibelheim
Lua Based UI Hider - Nibelheim
Custom LUA PowerText - Stuf - Nibelheim, Seerah
  Reply With Quote
10-23-11, 09:34 AM   #7
Chesireh
A Murloc Raider
 
Chesireh's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Nothing worked !!
This reallllly sucks so i tried to got it on screenrecorder for you all so you can see my computer lagg, and the screen go black...

I will put the link down when its done
Originally Posted by Lily.Petal View Post
Hm if you are new then you probably won't have any addons. WoWInterface is an addon site btw ;D this site is full of addons (top left corner button!).

Since it's probably not an addon conflict, one of the other options people gave might help you more then.
  Reply With Quote
10-23-11, 09:58 AM   #8
Chesireh
A Murloc Raider
 
Chesireh's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
BTW when i make a new account i have NO problems with the game until im lvl 12 and in stormwind, then the trouble starts
  Reply With Quote
10-23-11, 11:10 AM   #9
Lily.Petal
A Molten Giant
 
Lily.Petal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 540
Absolutely no Idea, you might have to run repair or contant support.
Try this: When you log into your account, at the bottom left there is a button that says Addons. Press it and see if there is anything. If there is, turn them all off.

Originally Posted by Chesireh View Post
BTW when i make a new account i have NO problems with the game until im lvl 12 and in stormwind, then the trouble starts
__________________

Aggro Color to KG Panels Borders - Nibelheim
Lua Based UI Hider - Nibelheim
Custom LUA PowerText - Stuf - Nibelheim, Seerah
  Reply With Quote
10-23-11, 12:39 PM   #10
SDPhantom
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,838
This is well beyond the scope of what addons have control over. The problem is somewhere between the core rendering engine, the DirectX rendering API, the video drivers, and the video card itself.

The first thing I would check is to see if your monitor cable is loose. Press the connecters firmly into their sockets and make sure the thumbscrews on the connecters are tight. Check both ends, at the back of your computer and they're sometimes at the base of the monitor too.

As far as WoW itself, you can try using the repair tool as mentioned earlier. This is a likely cause as files in the MPQ archives do become corrupted all the time. Usually, WoW handles this by downloading new copies of the specific file from the server. These problems have been known to cause game crashes at times.

I would also suggest checking your video driver. You'll need to find out what kind of video card you have, go to the manufacturer's site, and download updated ones. If you know anyone that can help you in doing this, I would suggest to let them handle it.

If all else fails, try hooking up a different monitor. Sometimes random video interruptions can be a symptom of the display itself starting to fail.
__________________
ESOUI AddOns | WoWInterface AddOns
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)

Last edited by SDPhantom : 10-23-11 at 12:54 PM.
  Reply With Quote
10-25-11, 12:35 PM   #11
Chesireh
A Murloc Raider
 
Chesireh's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Well, Nothing worked. literally NOTHING. So ive decided that im gonna set the cause on ''Not enough RAM'' since you need 2G and i only have 1G so i will buy some more Gig and see if that works out. thanks for all your help <3
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » General Discussion » Tech Chat » Black screen?!?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off