Thread Tools Display Modes
06-09-24, 11:28 AM   #21
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,365
They have seriously lost the plot over there, I've no clue why they would even do this.

The problem is that even a simple macro extender (assuming they didn't up default macros to the 1024 chars supported by RunMacro but kept them at the 255 UI restriction) will now need to be made as a series of buttons + chaining /click.

So if their goal was to kill macro extenders, expect further gutting of the system because this will not do it.

If their goal was to kill addons like GSE or M6 or oPie for who knows what reason (they were fully within the constraints of the secure system) they should state that along side an explanation.

They had no problem doing that for VRE.
  Reply With Quote
06-09-24, 11:58 AM   #22
Gello
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 523
Originally Posted by Archarodim View Post
It appears that support for macrotext attributes was dropped in wow 11:
...

This one really hurts. A lot of functionality is going to break for some of my addons in TWW. Ability to equip slots of sets in Select, ability to toggle Safari Hat and other buffs in Rematch, the whole addon Grounded, etc.

What's our best way to get this reverted?
  Reply With Quote
06-09-24, 12:07 PM   #23
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,932
Originally Posted by Gello View Post
What's our best way to get this reverted?
Player revolt probably (if that). It seems like once again, they are making changes but only trying to come up with something (anything) to justify it after the fact.

Removing padding and numbering from SavedVariables to "save a micro-second on megabyte plus tables when loggin in" is also a stretch but at least we can build a remedy for that sort of nonsense.

Blizz. haven't said anything but there is this report
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 06-09-24 at 12:23 PM.
  Reply With Quote
06-22-24, 03:24 AM   #24
Zax
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 157
I'm worried about my NPCsMarkers addon which uses a lot of macrotext to place and remove ground markers
Will I have to create 8 macros to place ground markers and also 8 macros to remove placed markers, or is there a workaround?
__________________
Zax - Addons List, not all maintained.

Last edited by Zax : 06-22-24 at 05:16 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06-24-24, 01:49 AM   #25
Zax
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 157
I just realized that the worldmarker action existed for SecureActionButton, so I was able to make my addon work without macrotext like this:
Code:
	-- Set world marker on left-click:
    button:SetAttribute("type1", "worldmarker")
    button:SetAttribute("marker1", markerIndex)
    button:SetAttribute("action1", "set")
	-- Clear world marker on right-click:
    button:SetAttribute("type2", "worldmarker")
    button:SetAttribute("marker2", markerIndex)
    button:SetAttribute("action2", "clear")
Thank you Archarodim for pointing out this change. Without that, I would probably have spent a lot of time looking into why my addon no longer worked with WoW 11.
__________________
Zax - Addons List, not all maintained.
  Reply With Quote
06-26-24, 11:13 AM   #26
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,932
More news on MacroText:
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 06-26-24 at 11:25 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06-26-24, 03:20 PM   #27
Gello
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 523
Originally Posted by Fizzlemizz View Post
This is great news. Thanks for posting that.
  Reply With Quote
06-26-24, 03:40 PM   #28
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,932
Doesn't mean they wont have another go at it in future depending on how it "all works out" for them.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » PTR » PTR General Discussion » SecureActionButtonTemplate with macrotext attribute not working

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off