07-24-16, 04:53 AM   #1
Thon
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Question World Map Icon Addon Request!

Hello guys

I was here a couple of years ago requesting an addon to hide certain icons from the world map. In particular, the flight path icon, because it would show up on a map before I've discovered the area. Too spoileriffic to how I want to explore, and I'm kind of a map purist anyway. :P I like the hand-drawn style of the fantasy maps and I want to keep them uncluttered!

You guys were a huge help; I have no experience with addon coding at all and you made one that solved my exact problem! I even got a macro to find the IDs for future icons I want to hide. (Thanks again, Phanx!) All was well.

I'll refer you to the previous thread for reference: http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=44204

Unfortunately now with 7.0 the addon doesn't seem to work any longer. All the original icons I hid are back (Horde/Alliance/Neutral flight paths, city icon, town icon, honor/conquest vendors etc), and they seem to have added giant buttons for bosses too, which used to be toggleable in the default UI. They must have outright changed the functionality of the icons, because the macro to reveal POIs now turns up a list of nil.

Is it still possible to do the same thing it used to? And if so, can any of you help me out with a new code and macro?
07-24-16, 04:18 PM   #2
Nimhfree
A Frostmaul Preserver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Originally Posted by Thon View Post
Hello guys

I was here a couple of years ago requesting an addon to hide certain icons from the world map. In particular, the flight path icon, because it would show up on a map before I've discovered the area. Too spoileriffic to how I want to explore, and I'm kind of a map purist anyway. :P I like the hand-drawn style of the fantasy maps and I want to keep them uncluttered!