Thread Tools Display Modes
09-23-22, 08:07 AM   #1
Zax
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
How to close the settings panel?

Yet another question about wow 10.x...

Any idea about how to correctly close the settings panel - previously opened by Settings.OpenToCategory(addonName)?

I tried SettingsPanel:Hide() but it's not the correct way!
__________________
Zax - Addons List, not all maintained.
  Reply With Quote
09-23-22, 04:50 PM   #2
SDPhantom
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,313
There's SettingsPanel:Close(). Be aware of taint issues.
__________________
WoWInterface AddOns
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
  Reply With Quote
09-24-22, 02:52 AM   #3
Zax
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Originally Posted by SDPhantom View Post
There's SettingsPanel:Close(). Be aware of taint issues.
Indeed, I have an alert about an unauthorized action
__________________
Zax - Addons List, not all maintained.
  Reply With Quote
09-24-22, 01:00 PM   #4
SDPhantom
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,313
Originally Posted by Zax View Post
Indeed, I have an alert about an unauthorized action
Originally Posted by SDPhantom View Post
Be aware of taint issues.
This is why and there's no way around it. You can't hide protected frames in combat, though it may be trying to do something else like finalize settings that are more strictly protected.
__________________
WoWInterface AddOns
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
  Reply With Quote
09-24-22, 11:34 PM   #5
Zax
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
It also happens when not in combat.

In fact, it sometimes also happens when I manually close the Binding panel. There is something wrong with the bindings. I don't know if the binding rules/processes have been modified or if the PTR doesn't handle correctly some settings panel at his point.
__________________
Zax - Addons List, not all maintained.
  Reply With Quote
09-25-22, 05:55 AM   #6
SDPhantom
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,313
I reiterate...
Originally Posted by SDPhantom View Post
it may be trying to do something else like finalize settings that are more strictly protected.
The taint system has been known to be horribly bugged, especially around the Dropdown and Options systems.
__________________
WoWInterface AddOns
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
  Reply With Quote
09-25-22, 06:29 AM   #7
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
Originally Posted by Zax View Post
It also happens when not in combat.

In fact, it sometimes also happens when I manually close the Binding panel. There is something wrong with the bindings. I don't know if the binding rules/processes have been modified or if the PTR doesn't handle correctly some settings panel at his point.

The settings panel errors out even manually accessing it. I thought the problem I had with it the other day was because I was trying to use it and it went wrong. But it seems any loaded addon, so far, seems to trigger an error when you save .. every time .. but not if you unload all the addons, even bugsack/buggrabber.

I am wondering if its because of what that part of the game does and if the addons in question does the same thing it interferes..

For example:
nUI causes wow to have a hissy fit on both the settings panel and the edit mode system. nUI utilises saved variables and reparents blizzards frames.
My action bar test addon doesn't have an issue with either of them as it doesn't do either of those
My portal addon doesn't have problem with the edit mode system but does with the settings, because it uses the saved variables system.

I'll have to do some more specific tests of this like just to see if my theory is correct with the same simple test addon and just see what happens.

But that said, when I looked at my saved variables on a test addon I recently made that had the same settings error appear, the settings were written to the file. Something somewhere is just not liking it in Blizzards code somewhere.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
09-25-22, 06:45 AM   #8
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
First test:

Simple addon of 3 lines

Lua Code:
  1. TestAddOnSV = TestAddOnSV or {}
  2. TestAddOnSV["test"] = "test"
  3. print("Test")

On its own, I can go into the settings and adjust anything and close it with no errors.

Added Bugsack and Buggrabber to add a custom options frame and it then has problems. Now seeing most of us use these 2 addons I wouldn't be surprised if we will have to wait until they have updated their addons to fully work in 10.0 before those errors go away.

Unfortunately it doesn't solve my nUI and editmode issues. But I suspect I know why but need to test that theory another time.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
09-25-22, 10:02 AM   #9
Zax
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Actually, it's a real mess in my addons and it's raining errors like a stormy day in Darkshore, but now I've rewrited accesses to Settings panel, the weird error came when opening Bindings panel.
Furthermore, HEADER tags in the Bindings.xml file don't seem to be interpreted.

Maybe all we have to do is to wait and see (and cross our fingers).
__________________
Zax - Addons List, not all maintained.
  Reply With Quote
09-25-22, 12:28 PM   #10
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
Ah cool the framexml stuff is back on Gethe's github for Dragonflight API
https://github.com/Gethe/wow-ui-sour...beta/Interface
__________________
  Reply With Quote
11-05-22, 09:03 AM   #11
Kharthus
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
This worked without any errors or taint that I could see.

HideUIPanel(SettingsPanel)
  Reply With Quote
11-06-22, 06:54 AM   #12
Zax
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Originally Posted by Kharthus View Post
This worked without any errors or taint that I could see.

HideUIPanel(SettingsPanel)
Well, after using this command, I encountered strange behavior with the "Game menu" panel - the one where you have standard red buttons like "Disconnect", "Quit",... All buttons seemed disabled (though there were still red and not grey).


Khartus, my main character is a hunter and I *love* your Hunters' Timer addon. I use it since many years but the version I have - 4.4.7 - causes errors with Dragonflight.
__________________
Zax - Addons List, not all maintained.
  Reply With Quote
11-22-22, 06:26 PM   #13
Kharthus
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
I closed that frame right after so I didn't notice if anything was amiss.

HideUIPanel(SettingsPanel)
HideUIPanel(GameMenuFrame)
  Reply With Quote
11-23-22, 12:21 PM   #14
Zax
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Originally Posted by Kharthus View Post
HideUIPanel(SettingsPanel)
HideUIPanel(GameMenuFrame)
It seems to work fine, thank you Kharthus.
__________________
Zax - Addons List, not all maintained.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » PTR » PTR General Discussion » How to close the settings panel?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off