Quantcast How do you use townlong yak and similar resources? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
08-01-19, 02:35 AM   #1
oddnecessity
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
How do you use townlong yak and similar resources?

Hello, I've been lurking the addon development forums and I always see people mentioning these websites:

https://www.townlong-yak.com/globe/
and Github links to FrameXML like this one
https://github.com/Gethe/wow-ui-source/tree/classic

but I can't figure out how to use this stuff. Let's tackle this with an example:

I've been playing with frame:RegisterAllEvents() lately and I've noticed the event
PLAYER_STARTED_MOVING
How can I see if this event existed in the Classic Beta? What parameters go with it? Copy-pasting the event name into townlong-yak does not find anything. I've found websites like gamepedia and fandom to be outdated and unreliable.

give a man a fish and you feed him for a day; teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime
  Reply With Quote
08-01-19, 04:10 AM   #2
Ketho
A Molten Giant
 
Ketho's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 879
Originally Posted by oddnecessity View Post
I've been playing with frame:RegisterAllEvents() lately and I've noticed the event
PLAYER_STARTED_MOVING
How can I see if this event existed in the Classic Beta? What parameters go with it? Copy-pasting the event name into townlong-yak does not find anything.
PLAYER_STARTED_MOVING is an event without a payload https://www.townlong-yak.com/framexm...STARTED_MOVING

It exists on classic beta, see
  Reply With Quote
08-01-19, 07:42 PM   #3
Kanegasi
An Onyxian Warder
 
Kanegasi's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 374
Townlong-Yak is great for sharing lines of code from nearly every build of WoW, but not great for raw searches of code.

The classic client is now able to be installed again, if you didn't before, in preparation for next week's test. However you won't be able to start the client from bnet since the play button is currently disabled. You can, however, start the client itself, which is all you need to extract the interface files.
  1. Make sure the bnet client is not running
  2. In the install folder for classic, right click on Wow.exe and create a shortcut
  3. Right click this shortcut and select "Properties"
  4. In the "Target" box, you'll see the full path of Wow.exe in quotes, after those quotes add -console, like these examples:
    • "P:\World of Warcraft\_classic_\Wow.exe" -console
    • "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\_classic_\Wow.exe" -console
    • "C:\Users\Foobar\AppData\Roaming\Games\World of Warcraft\_classic_\Wow.exe" -console
  5. Click OK, then double click the shortcut
  6. When the login screen loads in, do not login, just press the Grave/Tilde key (`~), usually top left of your keyboard
  7. In the console box that drops down from the top, type or paste: ExportInterfaceFiles code
  8. Hit enter, the client will freeze for a few seconds, once it runs again, exit the client

In the classic install folder, there is now a new folder named "BlizzardInterfaceCode" which contains all the Lua and XML files that run the UI. Using any program that can search inside files, including Windows itself if you have indexing enabled, you can search the entire UI for anything you want in order to figure out what Blizzard does with it. I personally use, and highly suggest, installing Notepad++ for this and any other code-related tasks.

If you're curious, this feature has been part of every WoW build since patch 4.0.6 (February 2011). Prior to that patch, Blizzard manually offered a downloadable toolkit, which is still available here, but hasn't been updated since October 2010. Also, using "art" instead of "code" in that console command will give you all the UI textures and art assets, such as loading screens. The client will freeze for a much longer time while this happens, long enough to log you out if you used this command while at the character selection screen.
  Reply With Quote
08-02-19, 09:27 AM   #4
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,254
Originally Posted by Kanegasi View Post
  1. In the console box that drops down from the top, type or paste: ExportInterfaceFiles code
When did this stop extracting GlobalStrings.lua, is that known?

Edit: Bit of searching later, looks like Legion.
Do you need to use something like CASCExplorer to get those now?

Last edited by Dridzt : 08-02-19 at 09:31 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08-02-19, 10:02 AM   #5
Ketho
A Molten Giant
 
Ketho's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 879
Originally Posted by Dridzt View Post
Do you need to use something like CASCExplorer to get those now?

They are in the DBCs now, that's where foxlit generates them from I think

https://wow.tools/dbc/?dbc=globalstrings
https://www.townlong-yak.com/framexm...balStrings.lua

Last edited by Ketho : 08-02-19 at 03:24 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » How do you use townlong yak and similar resources?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off